We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village to your Saves list
Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village
Route 340, Intercourse, PA 17534   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
"Sweet" Suite Rates
Ranked #1 of 4 Intercourse B&B and Inns
Bucks County, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I escape our hectic schedules every once and a while by visiting Lancaster. We love the calming effect that takes over us once we arrive. We have stayed at numerous hotels and resorts in the area. For our 6th anniversary we recently stayed overnight at the Inn at Kitchen Kettle. We lucked out by getting room 902 after a cancellation. We loved it! Don was absolutely a delight when checking us in,making us feel like we were special customers and old friends. As you enter the spacious living /dining area you are engulfed with sunshine from several windows. Of course the travel mugs and treats left on the dining room table for us brightened our stay as well! Up the stairs to a romantic bedroom and spacious bathroom with lots of comforts of home. Some traffic noise from the street but nothing was better than waking up to the clip clop of many horse and buggies as they filled the street on Sunday morning. By all means do yourself a favor and book YOUR PERFECT GETAWAY SOON!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
81
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

From the first impression of checking in with Don at the front desk, the customer service here is nothing but excellent. We were able to check in an hour or so early, which was a real help since my 90-yr-old mom and I had just driven in from Baltimore so we needed the extra time to rest up for a little exploring before supper. The KKV's own buggy ride company was wonderful and the attendants were great, too, they helped Mom up into the buggy and got her all set with some blankets for stabilization. (There was even the unexpected bonus of a bit of a 2-for-1 there, since we found out folks in wheelchairs ride free!) Loved the buggy ride, and Miriam, our driver gave lots of interesting bits of info about the surrounding countryside, the farms, the Amish, in general. Then, the weather started to turn in earnest, so we headed back to the room.

Overall, our room 601 was quaint and felt quite separate from the rest of the village, which was nice. When it was sunny and not too cool, we even got to make use of the porch furniture out front to play some Scrabble and watch the frequent buggies go by. Even a few boys on the manually-propelled scooters "zipped" on by. The amenities were appreciated, the pillows were among the most comfortable I've had in any hotel, and once Don showed me how to use the one-cup-at-a-time coffee maker, we really enjoyed the coffee provided, too. But I must say, the odd arrangement of the "hallway" leading to the toilet and shower was narrow and very awkward for Mom to maneuver with her walker. In fact, she had to back in every time. I thought asking for a 1st floor room was enough, so just be more careful than I was if you require any manner of accessible room for anyone in your party.

Last but not least, I loved the free in-room wifi, but it was a bit sluggish at times. And the cellphone reception was maddening, calls to a location less than a half mile down the street kept dropping off. I know we were out in the country, but...:-)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if anyone in your party requires handicap accessibility. The bathroom here in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamZed, Manager at Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi Christine C.,
Good to hear Don and the folks at AAA Buggy Rides took such good care of you. Sounds like you took full advantage of our cottage guest room. It's helpful for us to hear feedback on your experience, so thank you! I will have to join you on the cell phone frustration, the town of Intercourse is a bit of a dead zone. We have phones in the rooms that can place local calls for free but we may have to explain that a little better to our guests.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience and hopefully we'll see you again!

Scott Ladley and the Lodging Staff at Kitchen Kettle Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Love the rooms at the village!!! Always clean and so quiet once the village closes. You can still walk the grounds, visit the zoo and just enjoy life. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a great big room, actually two rooms with a kitchenette which was a nice break from the smaller rooms we have been in with our family of 4 on this trip. The kids loved it. It was nice and quite at night and bustling with tourists during the day. We had two TVs so we could watch the game and a documentary about the Amish that they provided.
The village is an odd touristy place (bus loads of retired folk) with a ton of shops that sell all sorts of things like jam and posters and framed bugs (our favorite shop). Even though our room was in the middle of this craziness it was still quite, clean and nice. Breakfast was good too. We also did the Amish buggy ride that is in the “village” with Ailsa as our tour guide. It was surprisingly entertaining and enlightening. The laundry matt was close and clean too which is nice to know when on the road.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with beds in seperate rooms which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamZed, General Manager at Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Shack S.
Thank you so much for showing some online love to our Inn! "Insect Creations" is definitely a unique part of our village, I'll pass on your comments. We're always happy when first-time guests from so far away stumble into our world for a couple days, so thanks for giving us a shot! It's helpful for us to hear what our guests' needs may be, so thanks for sharing all this.
We put your polar bear in the mail yesterday so you should receive it sometime this week. Maybe next time you all can come for a festival weekend and really get some bustling excitement during the day.
Thanks again for staying here and spread the word!

Scott Ladley and the Lodging Staff at Kitchen Kettle Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was one of my favorite B&B experiences. We stayed in 601 The Cottage and it is the perfect location is sit on the front porch and watch the Amish buggies.

As others have mentioned, the room was spotless, check-in was quick and flawless and the extra touches they provide add to the experience. The breakfast at the Kling House is delicious and if you are staying over on Saturday night, there is no breakfast on Sunday but you are given a coupon for a dozen cookies in the village bakery which are yummy! Jelly from the village was in the room and was also delicious along with free coffee travel mugs which you can get free coffee at two of the shops in the village.

This B&B makes a great home base for sightseeing in Philadelphia & Gettysburg also. I would highly recommend this B&B. The only thing I will mention regarding this room is it has two double beds and although both my husband and I are smaller than average, it was still cramped. However, the beds were extremely comfortable. I would probably try a different room with a larger bed next time-the Hershey Suite also had a great Amish-watching location from their front porch.

Definitely will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I would have rated the experience 3 stars but will higher it a little if you compare to available hotels in the area.
Our rooms were super clean, large and confortable. However, the location is very close to the main road and the trucks are really noisy, early in the morning.
A good place to stay in the amish country, that allows you to drive around in the countryside and take your time.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamZed, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for writing and sharing your experience with the rooms. As our 17 rooms are tucked away in different spots throughout the village, some rooms may have different sounds than others.
The town of Intercourse is pretty quiet but it does sometimes wake up a little early. Maybe next time when you stay, mention the room you had before so we can suggest a different experience. Each room is unique that's for sure! Thanks again, hearing feedback like this helps us to always improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here, the first part of May for 2 nights. We stayed in the cottage room 601. This is a separation two unit, front or back room from the rest of the village. We faced the side road and sat out on the front chairs and watch the horse and buggies going up and down the street. It was not noisy from auto traffic and was very peaceful. The breakfast was at the restaurant and the french toast and oatmeal was great. Hope to stay here soon when we visit area again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village

Address: Route 340, Intercourse, PA 17534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Intercourse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Kitchen Kettle Village Hotel Intercourse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.