We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Blucher

The Prince Blucher
124 The Green, Twickenham TW2 5AG, England
+44 20 8894 1824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 164 Restaurants in Twickenham
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are a great all round place to relax, eat, drink and play! That pretty much sums it up, however there is so much more The Prince Blucher can offer. Our bar area has 3 large screens for all sporting events. We encourage our friends to book tables to get the best viewing experience, and with this we offer table service during the games. On big occasions we add 3 more 40+ inch screens to the venue to create a truly unique experience in Twickenham. Our three dining areas offer versatile spaces for cosy tables of small groups, to larger parties for both families and corporate bookings. The design and decor mix's contemporary fixtures and fittings with traditional undertones. On the walls you will find genuine memorabilia from Twickenham film studios and rugby stadium. Our beautiful garden is somewhat of a selling point, especially in the warmer months. We have a heated and covered decking area, suitable for private parties of up to 100 guests. This can come with your own outdoor bar, full hog roast and BBQ! We have further seating for 150 people and a fantastic kids play area nestled in the back of the property, the safest place for them to be! Our menus changes from lunch to dinner, offering specials that are in keeping with the seasons, whilst listening to requests from customers too! We offer brunch on the weekends, a fresh salad and sandwich offer at lunchtimes to supplement our mains, and a full and hearty Sunday roast each week until 8pm. Drinks range from fantastic Fullers ales, both familiar and new seasonal varieties to craft beers from around the globe. We have Twickenham's largest gin range! 22 To be exact. Also a wine list that offers a decent spectrum to either quench your thirst or compliment a variety of meals. So, that's us!!! Come in and meet our friendly bunch, tell us your story and we will share ours!
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The refurb has made this a very good family, group or couples pub. Plenty of seating outside on well made decking and furniture is a nice place to eat in the warm sunshine. Other out door seating is plentiful. The tasteful decor inside compliments the large interior with different areas for small and large groups alike. We had two starters off the specials board, fish cakes and rabbit/ black pudding terrine. The food was very nice and home made. The real ale selection was reasonable, a two glass Prosecco bottle £6. The lady who served us was very helpful, friendly and deserved her tip. Great reboot, go visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear "Glen M"

Thanks for the lovely review, it highlighted a number of things we have worked hard on and we are pleased we are starting to see the results. I am glad you liked your food and opted for a number of the specials we had on the day. We hope to see you again soon with the hope that the 4 star visit will turn into a 5 star! Regards, Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent interior shame the food doesn't match!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Always been a lovely pub and now it looks the business with the refurbishment!

We were really looking forward to trying the new menu here is our experience from a table of 4:

- No specials mentioned that were on the chalkboard (I guess this was just a staff training issue)
- London porter smoked salmon starter did not resemble image in their very own brochure (pictured with bread which it did not come with) and description of garlic king prawns was false as it came with a few measly shrimps! Also no green tea but oily water very bizarre...
- Steak was OK but average at best, vine tomatoes and colcannon a nice touch but then lettace on the side which in my view should have been served with something else (mushroom, vegetables etc)
- sweet potato fritters were again average and served with a chickpea and lentil dhal plus flatbread but no dip (chutney, raita) which would have finished it off nicely.
- bread served with no butter or balsamic / oil etc (on menu it says it comes with that).

Overall expensive food (£75 4 x main, 2 starters) for something that's relatively average.

A lovely drinkers pub with a beautifully decked out area but the food & service need to seriously up their game if they want to compete with the rest of the delights the pubs in Richmond Borough have to offer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear "Jawbones"

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you like the new design and feel of the pub. You mentioned the decking area, this will be a real highlight once summer takes hold.

I think you pose a few good observations with the food spec and quality and a couple of these items i have already addressed. Table service training with new staff has been positive and challenging in equal measure. We are always on the look out for team members who have a passion for service and food so things like specials and food provinence don't get missed. I feel now most of the team are evolving at a good rate and service is becoming more slick.

You mention food quality and although we have had fantastic reviews recently, I am always open to listen and learn on the the times we don't get it quite right. As we are still in the development stage of evolving the menu and trialing certain dishes to see what takes hold after such a hige change, ccasionally, pictures online will not match the menu until things calm down however the description on the menu should always be accurate so I will investigate that.

Be rest assured we all sincearly care about the quality of the food and although you thought everything was OK, we agree when you mention the competition in the area is high so we will continue to improve our offer, recruit and train the best chefs available and reach our goals regarding food service.

Please do make yourself known the next time you are in and I will get you a drink on me. Regards, Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Re-furbished pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Decades ago when we lived by Twickenham Green this used to be our local pub. In those days in addition to excellent beer being served in a good neighbourhood pub, a distinctive feature as its shoveha 'penny Well the pub has been refurbished several times since then. I try to return to it whenever I come to Twickenham for a rugby match and it does not disappoint.
The latest make-over is very grand, and the match-day catering arrangemnents have been updated. The staff are still very affable, the beer is still kept well and itstill smashing rendez-vous. My only quibble is the match-day plastic glasses from which the beer does not taste the same (understandble as it is with the crowd).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
To "David A"

Thanks for continuing to return to us again over the years! I am glad you like the refurbishment and most importantly, you mention the friendly staff and good beer! I would say, the plastics for match days are a condition that the council licencing and local police have now advised us to have however we think it is sensible to allow glasses to those who are inside at a table and seem a little less excited than the hoards outside! Next time, come find me and I shall serve you a fresh pint of Pride in your very own solid glass! Matt E - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n east
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Off chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Called in Sunday about 7pm they were busy and looks they had been all day.we ordered three skillets the food was gorgeous and the service was excellent to,they made you feel very welcome the menu looked very good but won't be down this area much,but if I am will be there like a shot,thanks to all from the three Mackenzie.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
To "macemnortheast"
Thanks for the really positive review. Having recently re-opened and hired plenty of new, willing staff, it is nIce to see the effort and training is paying off. Next time you're down this way and you drop in I will get you a drink on us! Matt - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited the pub for brunch on Sunday, a week after the big refurbishment.
I have to say the place looks great, everything is new, from furnishings to staff, and most of all, the have a brand new menu.
We had the maple syrup and bacon pancakes, and the soup of the day. Both delicious.
We were lucky to go a bit early, because the place got very busy very quickly around lunch time, as they were doing a brilliant Sunday roast as well.
Would highly recommend,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince B, General Manager at The Prince Blucher, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
To "Bianca G"
Wow what a great review, I am thrilled you had such a good experience. Yes the maple syrup pancakes are a hit in my household too. It is good to see new faces like the style and new direction of the post refurbished pub. Until next time! Matt - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince Blucher also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to The Prince Blucher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Blucher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.