We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great staff, breakfast much improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander Pope

Save Saved
You added The Alexander Pope to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alexander Pope
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Twickenham B&B and Inns
Crook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great stay, great staff, breakfast much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed here several times for various rugby matches - we were in room 107 which was the first ground floor room after Reception and I must say I had reservations about the noise factor from the main entrance and bar area - but we were not disturbed at all. Although the room and bathroom need a little decoration they were clean and tidy, and the bath towels were huge! Breakfast was much improved, prior stays offered a buffet breakfast but the hot dishes tended not to be replenished quickly, now you can help yourself to cereals, juices, etc., and order your hot breakfast - quality of the breakfast was excellent, as were all the staff - thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    29
    23
    4
See reviews for
26
56
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good room, well appointed , but the heating was poor and unreliable so it ruined the experience.
Food was excellent as were the waiting staff both at dinner and breakfast. Rooms are slightly noisy being next to a busy road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in room 209 at this hotel for one night to attend an iternational rugby match. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was large & airey with clean bedding & towels, tea/coffe making facilities & a flat screen TV. We ate dinner & breakfast there which was slightly spoilt by the fact that the complete menu was unavailable because it was an international rugby weekend.(I couldn't quite understand that excuse as the fixture had been arranged & advertised 9 months before!)
On the minus side the underground car parking was full, there was a blocked/unclean drain smell in the en suite bath/shower room, the view from the room was an enclosed court yard & there was unpainted filler on the walls where repairs had been carried out.Room 209 is on the first floor nearest the lift which kept me awake until the early hours.

Overall we had a pleasant stay & would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first stay. We booked only a couple of weeks before and the booking clerk was lovely. We asked for a family room to suit a family of four; me, hubby, teenage daughter and daughter of 11 years. My two girls hate sharing a bed so, aside from the two large doubles, the hotel put in an extra single for my 11 year old. The room was spacious, had two tv's and everyone was happy in their respective beds. If you want a family room for four of you, ask for room 204 on the first floor (yes the first floor). Thanks to all the friendly breakfast staff and bar staff too for making our stay so comfortable - we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Room 204 is large enough for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay . We all hope to see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mixed feeling about this hotel.
All over it was pleasant. (For us the location was primary: close to friends in Twickenham and a few bus-stops to Richmond).
Our room was nice, clean and big. Well stocked tea-tray. Clean bathroom.
Bed not very comfy.
The entrance hall of the hotel looked rather shabby with crumbs all over the carpet. Also the reception desk could do with an improvement. (management: please replace this worn-out desk-chair the receptionist have to sit on!). We did not have dinner in the hotel, but the restaurant and conservatory looked inviting and cosy. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: We had a nice corner room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience following you recent stay. I'm pleased that overall you had a nice time and I will most certainly look into those aspects that you mention including the receptionists chair... I do hope that we can welcome you to hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed here loads of times over the years. It's primary plus for me is the location, just a mile or so from where I need to visit from time to time.

Over this time, I have noticed an improvement in the decor of some of the rooms, but I understand some of the standard (Classic) rooms are still in need of the makeover. The Superior rooms are OK to be fair, but my observations from my two recent stays are not too clever. The beds are not comfortable and unless you have a balcony / window to open, you'll be slow cooked to within an inch of your life overnight. Bizarrely, the basins all have an unpleasant smell coming from them, which, when brushing your teeth can make the experience on you won't be looking forward to repeat!

On a positive note, the bar area is large and comfortable. The staff are great, especially the ones who stay up late and interact with the guests - you know who you are! The food's good too, and judging by the numbers that frequent the dining room, I'm not alone in this thought.

I'll be happy to return, as I have done many times before, but I just adapt my expectations so I'm not too unhappy. WiFi is free and very good - first class!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us but naturally I was sorry to learn of the areas that you found to be lacking. Our bedrooms have undergone some upgrading over the last three years and a programme of regular and planned maintenance is in place to ensure that they are cared for. I was very sorry then to hear that you had issues with the air conditioning and that you experienced some unpleasent odour from the wash basin. I would very much like to deal with this so perhaps you could let me know the details of your recent stay .I'd also then take a look at the beds so as to establish the cause any possible discomfort. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to let me know of your experience and I hope that I can look forward to meeting you upon your next visit.
with kind regards,
Richard Cross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for one night .before going to a christening next day. We could not of wished for better service .the staff at reception were very pleasant We had a meal in the evening and it was first class as we're the staff. The morning breakfast was just as good we would recommend it to anyone. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment following your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you had a great time. Come back soon!
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander Pope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander Pope

Address: Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander Pope 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Alexander Pope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Pope Hotel Twickenham
The Alexander Pope Twickenham, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander Pope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.