We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander Pope

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Alexander Pope to your Saves list
The Alexander Pope
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Twickenham B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in room 209 at this hotel for one night to attend an iternational rugby match. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was large & airey with clean bedding & towels, tea/coffe making facilities & a flat screen TV. We ate dinner & breakfast there which was slightly spoilt by the fact that the complete menu was unavailable because it was an international rugby weekend.(I couldn't quite understand that excuse as the fixture had been arranged & advertised 9 months before!)
On the minus side the underground car parking was full, there was a blocked/unclean drain smell in the en suite bath/shower room, the view from the room was an enclosed court yard & there was unpainted filler on the walls where repairs had been carried out.Room 209 is on the first floor nearest the lift which kept me awake until the early hours.

Overall we had a pleasant stay & would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    74
    30
    24
    4
See reviews for
27
62
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first stay. We booked only a couple of weeks before and the booking clerk was lovely. We asked for a family room to suit a family of four; me, hubby, teenage daughter and daughter of 11 years. My two girls hate sharing a bed so, aside from the two large doubles, the hotel put in an extra single for my 11 year old. The room was spacious, had two tv's and everyone was happy in their respective beds. If you want a family room for four of you, ask for room 204 on the first floor (yes the first floor). Thanks to all the friendly breakfast staff and bar staff too for making our stay so comfortable - we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Room 204 is large enough for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay . We all hope to see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mixed feeling about this hotel.
All over it was pleasant. (For us the location was primary: close to friends in Twickenham and a few bus-stops to Richmond).
Our room was nice, clean and big. Well stocked tea-tray. Clean bathroom.
Bed not very comfy.
The entrance hall of the hotel looked rather shabby with crumbs all over the carpet. Also the reception desk could do with an improvement. (management: please replace this worn-out desk-chair the receptionist have to sit on!). We did not have dinner in the hotel, but the restaurant and conservatory looked inviting and cosy. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: We had a nice corner room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience following you recent stay. I'm pleased that overall you had a nice time and I will most certainly look into those aspects that you mention including the receptionists chair... I do hope that we can welcome you to hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed here loads of times over the years. It's primary plus for me is the location, just a mile or so from where I need to visit from time to time.

Over this time, I have noticed an improvement in the decor of some of the rooms, but I understand some of the standard (Classic) rooms are still in need of the makeover. The Superior rooms are OK to be fair, but my observations from my two recent stays are not too clever. The beds are not comfortable and unless you have a balcony / window to open, you'll be slow cooked to within an inch of your life overnight. Bizarrely, the basins all have an unpleasant smell coming from them, which, when brushing your teeth can make the experience on you won't be looking forward to repeat!

On a positive note, the bar area is large and comfortable. The staff are great, especially the ones who stay up late and interact with the guests - you know who you are! The food's good too, and judging by the numbers that frequent the dining room, I'm not alone in this thought.

I'll be happy to return, as I have done many times before, but I just adapt my expectations so I'm not too unhappy. WiFi is free and very good - first class!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us but naturally I was sorry to learn of the areas that you found to be lacking. Our bedrooms have undergone some upgrading over the last three years and a programme of regular and planned maintenance is in place to ensure that they are cared for. I was very sorry then to hear that you had issues with the air conditioning and that you experienced some unpleasent odour from the wash basin. I would very much like to deal with this so perhaps you could let me know the details of your recent stay .I'd also then take a look at the beds so as to establish the cause any possible discomfort. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to let me know of your experience and I hope that I can look forward to meeting you upon your next visit.
with kind regards,
Richard Cross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for one night .before going to a christening next day. We could not of wished for better service .the staff at reception were very pleasant We had a meal in the evening and it was first class as we're the staff. The morning breakfast was just as good we would recommend it to anyone. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanderpope H, Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment following your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you had a great time. Come back soon!
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is very nice, the bar, restaurant and staff were all good. The breakfast on the other hand was a let down. There were six of us staying and not one of us ate all our breakfast, which was such a shame. I would recommend the hotel as it is very nice. I spend 50% of my time in and out of hotel rooms and this was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had room 205 which had a balcony and our friends had 204 which is great if you have kids :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stay at the Alexander Pope every time I am in Twickenham for business which is often. My colleagues and I have tried many hotels in the area including Richmond and others further in to the city but I can honestly say that this hotel offers by far the best accommodation, room sizes, facilities at a decent price.

The staff are friendly and helpful. I'd agree with other reviews that breakfast is a bit changeable and it is quite a bit of self service, this wouldn't be a problem if it was better laid out. I don't like the fact that most tables are for four, this week I had to sit at a table where one of the places had already been used but not cleared and cleaned, some of the tables are also quite large so I feel a bit silly sitting alone!

That said the rooms are a good size, the superior ones with a balcony are worth the extra. Love the fact that you can request feather pillows. They are nicely decorated and the mattresses are really comfortable. Bathrooms are modern but need a but could do with a little touching up on the grouting sometimes.

Room service food is quick and tasty. Check out can be lengthy as said by someone else or it is done in 2 mins depending on the day so don't let that put you off. Twice my door has been knocked by house keeping trying to clean my room at about 8.30am - not an issue as I am up and about to leave but would be irritating if I was on holiday!

Bus stop outside the hotel takes you into Twickenham, in about 5 mins depending on the time of day. 10 minute walk to Strawberry Hill train station or about 15 mins to Twickenham train station.

I highly recommend this hotel as the best all round value and comfort in the area.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms have a balcony and are at the front of the hotel overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander Pope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander Pope

Address: Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander Pope 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alexander Pope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Pope Hotel Twickenham
The Alexander Pope Twickenham, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander Pope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.