We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really do know how to cook a steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of William Webb Ellis

William Webb Ellis
24 London Road, Twickenham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 142 Restaurants in Twickenham
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“They really do know how to cook a steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Expected what we normally class as a standard Wetherspoons, but hey this place has got great chefs. They certainly know how to cook a steak! Was a very busy place as rugby was on all weekend, but we didnt suffer with long waits and cold standard food, quite the opposite. Staff were brilliant and they went the extra mile for you. Can not fault, hot and plenty just right on a cold day just wished our local Wetherspoons would have the William Webb high standards.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The selection of beers is brilliant, good helpful staff, great prices and a big open fire make this place a pleasure to visit.
Try the Twickenham Breweries Naked Ladies....it's wonderful

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

First time at this branch. The food was as usual at Wetherspoons. How do they keep the same excellent standard throughout the country?
My wife and I both had the Roast Pork. Not the best cut of pork but good, tasty, tender and lean. The Yorkshire Pudding, potatoes, broccoli, peas and carrots were all perfectly cooked. (In fact the carrots were the best cooked I have had for a long time,) My wife had a glass of white wine and I had a pint of beer. All for £7.75 each!
If you have never been to a Wetherspoon's don't be put off by their cheapness. All the ones we have visited in various parts of the country have been well decorated with very pleasant staff and a respectable clientele. Excellent toilets, too.
Not only is the Sunday lunch £7.75 with a drink. Tuesday is Steak Club day with excellent an 8oz steak at £7.75 and Thursday is Curry Club day with a good curry for £6.75. Both with wine or beer included. Everything is very reasonably priced on other days too.
These ar not gastro pubs (thank goodness) but everything is done well and is FANTASTIC VALUE!.
The ratings I have given relate to this type of establishment and not restaurant "fine dining".
You order at the bar and the food is brought to your table, indentified by a number. How can one rate this type of service?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I dined here before we went to watch the Rugby, the food was good just as you would expect from a weatherspoons pub. Great selection of drinks. The pub on a Saturday is pre Rugby drink pub and was packed. All in all we enjoyed our meal and would dine there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Big Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Visited for a pre-rugby breakfast - good was great and lots of it! Food wasn't greasy and filled a plate bigger than the width of the table! Bargain price too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Webb Ellis also viewed

Twickenham, Middlesex
Twickenham, Middlesex
 
Twickenham, Middlesex
London, England
 

Been to William Webb Ellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage William Webb Ellis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.