We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Italian resto everyone should have close by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Del Mare

Caffe Del Mare
55 York Street, Twickenham tw1 3lp, England
02088925545
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 164 Restaurants in Twickenham
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Italian resto everyone should have close by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

It's probably over stating the food a smidge to rate it 5. But it's as much about value and consistency as quality.

I live 100m away and we go there a lot. And every visit is a great combo of atmosphere service and good unpretentious Italian cooking.

Can you get better food around here ? Sure. But value and fun make this the place we go back to most often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked lunch well in advance being a Twickenham International Match day, so glad we did, what a find! Great friendly, slick service in comfortable surroundings, (nothing like picture on trip advisor). Fixed price menu 'Rugby Day' menu with four choices of each starters & main, coffee, tiramisu & limoncello shot included, excellent home made, well presented delicious food, couldn't fault it. Will definitely return & recommend to friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I walked past the chain restaurants and thought I would give this place a go. Wasn't disappointed!

Service was great from the off, with a welcoming waitress who was helpful and gave some excellent guidance on the menu. Had some prawns to start which were great, but the Pizza stole the show. Really good pizza, one of the best I have had for a long time. Service and food was great and I was tempted in to a Brandy, which was excellent too! All in all, well worth walking past the chain restaurants!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

NIce owners, great pizzas and other food, went out of their way on my daughter's birthday (heart shaped pizzas).

I'll been here regularly for several years, always been well looked after.

Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Living in the area, there are many restaurants that I’ve tried but don’t regularly visit. Café Del Mare is one of those that you can’t help but return to time and again. It is a very authentic, family run Italian restaurant. The staff are all welcoming and friendly, making you feel right at home and recognising you after your first visit. The ambience is lovely and it’s always a surprise to me it’s not busier than it is. Maybe, because it’s a tad away from the main high street it remains a bit of a hidden gem. That changes on rugby days though so you will need to book…

The food is great, especially the pizza’s – I recommend the Piggy! There are constantly changing specials, with a small but wide ranging menu and whilst I rarely deviate from the pizza the rest of the food is always great when I do get to sample it. The house red is very drinkable and reasonably priced and the coffees are always very good. All in all a great restaurant and I recommend you try it out next time you are looking for a pizza in Twickenham.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Del Mare also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Twickenham, Greater London
 

Been to Caffe Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.