We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Del Mare

Caffe Del Mare
55 York Street, Twickenham tw1 3lp, England
02088925545
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 142 Restaurants in Twickenham
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

NIce owners, great pizzas and other food, went out of their way on my daughter's birthday (heart shaped pizzas).

I'll been here regularly for several years, always been well looked after.

Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Living in the area, there are many restaurants that I’ve tried but don’t regularly visit. Café Del Mare is one of those that you can’t help but return to time and again. It is a very authentic, family run Italian restaurant. The staff are all welcoming and friendly, making you feel right at home and recognising you after your first visit. The ambience is lovely and it’s always a surprise to me it’s not busier than it is. Maybe, because it’s a tad away from the main high street it remains a bit of a hidden gem. That changes on rugby days though so you will need to book…

The food is great, especially the pizza’s – I recommend the Piggy! There are constantly changing specials, with a small but wide ranging menu and whilst I rarely deviate from the pizza the rest of the food is always great when I do get to sample it. The house red is very drinkable and reasonably priced and the coffees are always very good. All in all a great restaurant and I recommend you try it out next time you are looking for a pizza in Twickenham.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pizza perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As others have said, this place serves the best pizza in Twickenham (and probably for quite a bit further afield.)

It can be an experience both satisfying and bemusing in equal measure to have a truly excellent pizza in this cosy family run restaurant, and on the way home to pass a certain well known chain pizza restaurant on the same road and see it packed to the rafters (albeit that half of the ‘customers’ appear to be under five years of age).

I can’t comment on the rest of the food, as I’ve never been able to resist the pizzas, but the service and the friendly atmosphere merit a mention.

Bottom line - if you like a really good authentic pizza in an environment that has thus far escaped the attention of the baby and toddler brigade, this place comes highly recommended.

PS Ignore the picture on Trip Advisor – that’s somewhere completely different!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely THE best pizza in Twickenham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you walk a little bit further down the road from the usual pizza chains (which double as noisy creches in this part of the world) you will find this wonderful Italian restaurant. We visit about once a week when we can't be bothered to cook and always find it the perfect place to wind down after a hard day at work. We have been coming here for several years and the welcome has been super friendly from the start. In fact we are always recognised and greeted by the chef whenever we bump into him around Twickenham ( he knows me as 'Fiorentina no bacon'!). The pizzas are definitley THE best in the area - and we have tried them all. Cosy and candle-lit with eclectic decor, super fresh pizzas with lovely crisp bases, cold glass of wine - Perfection!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My second visit to this small family run restaurant, and it did not dissapoint. Good honest and simple food freshly prepared and served. The feel of the restaurant is homely, welcoming and relaxing. Great food from a fairly small menu, in my opinion a real plus! Lovely staff, you are made to feel almost like a family member - very few establishments have that today! The reason for my visit was rugby at Twickenham. It is just far enough away (walking) to escape the crowds. I would like to be able to visit more often, but will hopefully go again next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Del Mare also viewed

Twickenham, Middlesex
Twickenham, Middlesex
 
Twickenham, Middlesex
Twickenham, Middlesex
 

Been to Caffe Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.