We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twickenham Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Twickenham Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Twickenham Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Whitton Road, Twickenham TW2 7BA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Twickenham
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with friends as we were spending news years in London. The room itself was of good standard and the beds were very comfortable. The downside was that the hotel is attached to the rugby stadium which meant our windows looked out onto a wall making it feel very dark and claustrophobic. You also can't open the windows.

Wi-Fi is not included with your stay and you have to pay GBP6.00 for one hour and car parking is GBP34.00 for 24hours. For a Marriott hotel it would have been nice if you had something included in the price that you pay.

The plus side of staying in this hotel is the use of gym and pool which were fantastic.

The staff upon check in were polite and helpful.

If you’re looking for central London this is not that close but takes 20mins on the train if you’re happy to travel in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    145
    60
    19
    10
See reviews for
99
109
19
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed at many other Marriotts where the leisure facilities are far better geared to a family so if that is importatnt, use another hotel. Here, there are just 2 one-hour slots per day when children under 16 can use the pool, one had already finished for the day when we checked in at 4pm so we couldn't go straight into the pool as planned and the other was next morning 11-12 when check-out is 12 pm so was rushed and not everyone was able to make it.

We booked 2 rooms and they were very clean and comfortable, the beds and pillows were especially good. It would be nice to be able to park nearer the hotel entrance but you cannot blame Marriot for the design of the otherwise impressive Twickenham stadium. Concierge Helen was kind enough to show us the 6th flor suites with a pitch view.

Room Tip: If you want to take your kids to the pool, stay in nearby Heathrow at the Marriott, Novotel or Crown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here one night on business. I would say it is only an average hotel, especially for the price you are paying. Admittedly it would be very handy for the rugby stadium.
The service was not great. Poor English at reception, surly bar staff ithe upstairs bar and it took 30 minutes to get a cup of tea!
The room was clean, large and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom shower good and plenty of toiletteries.
However, there was a function on in the stadium and it was very noisy in my room until late. Unfortunately they were full, so I had to pit up with it, although they did deliver me 1/2 bottle of wine as an apologise, which was a nice gesture
Breakfast was above average buffet
This hotel was ok but I am sure there are friendlier hotels in the area with a lower price tag

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very similar to GuyJersey's experience. This is the fourth year we have stayed at the Marriott for the Harlequins big game over Christmas and the experience has varied. The rooms are clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable but they let themselves down big in the restaurant. As there was a rugby match on, we were restricted to a buffet in the evening and the choice was terrible - fatty chicken and stringy beef casserole amongst other unappetising treats. They didn't replenish the cold meats until you asked them too and when they did it took them about ten minutes and the meat was tasteless. It was if someone had just nipped down to the local convenience store and picked up a packet of 'value' salami. The restaurant wasn't busy (now I know why) but the staff ignored us and didn't take our drinks order or clear away our dishes and were focussed on setting up for breakfast so we had the constant clink of coffee cups and cutlery being placed on tables. When a trolley was wheeled through the middle of the restaurant which made enough noise to wake the dead, I finally complained (and I am not one to complain). Took a while for the duty manager to appear but when she did, she listened to our complaints and apologised. To be fair, I don't think it was the staff's fault, I just don't think they had been trained properly. At breakfast the next day, the restaurant was packed but I could have been staying in a different hotel! The breakfast buffet was superb with everything perfectly cooked and it was arguably one of the best breakfast's I've had in a hotel. The staff were very attentive - what a difference 12 hours makes and, no doubt, a polite complaint. I know it's difficult to cater on a match day but they've done it better in previous years. We'll stay here again next year but will eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We ate in the restaurant the night before an international rugby match. We didn’t stay at the hotel. This review is about the restaurant.

THE GOOD
Great location in Twickenham Stadium.

THE BAD
There were only 3 tables occupied so they weren’t exactly busy. But the service was really painfully slow and the staff were unfriendly to the point of rudeness. The standard of English was very poor and we had difficulty making ourselves understood. The choice on the menu was very limited and not very impressive. The portions were small and the food was lacklustre and nothing at all special.

THE UGLY
Starters were around £10 and main courses over £20-30. It was very overpriced for what it was. At least 30-50% more than I would normally expect to pay for that standard of food.

THE VERDICT
Service slow and surly, food unimpressive and overpriced. We wouldn’t eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Let me start by saying the staff is top notch! Numerous staff members went out of their way to help us make the best of our stay. Giving personal recommendations for good eats, shopping, and good conversation. The rooms are clean and highly modern, which made me feel like a jet-setter! The morning breakfast buffet had a traditional English breakfast, which the eggs & sausage were divine! The buffet had everything from oatmeal with all the fixings to thickly sliced bacon and creamy scrambled eggs. There is a bus stop right out front the hotel, which we caught every morning to take us to the train station and then on to the subway. This hotel was about 15-20 mins. away from some great sights in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed there with my son for the England v South Africa game. Location is of course perfect for matches or concerts at Twickenham, as it's generally a nightmare getting away from matches with long queues at the station and 80,000 odd people all looking to get home. I thought the hotel managed the balance between residents and supporters coming into the bar to drink and meet up well and the residents only areas were good. Starting with the good points, the room (a standard double/ twin) was modern and spacious enough and the bathroom pretty good. The bed however was one of the best I've slept in anywhere. Really, really good quality linen, under mattress, quality pillows and a decent size. Excellent.

Now for the not so great points; they charge for Internet which is unacceptable in my view in such a hotel £240 for the night exclusive of breakfast. No mini bar - there was a fridge but it wasn't stocked. On match days they restrict the bar /room service menu but then hike up all the prices!! We had room service for lunch (quick response time) . Asked at reception at 2pm on way out for plates etc to be cleared, 4 hours later on our return they were still there. No turn down service so the teas and coffee we had in our room at lunch time were not replenished in the evening. Food (room service and the first floor bar) was ok, nothing exceptional and a fairly basic offering. If weather dry, you're probably better off walking into Twickenham (10 - 15 minutes) to a restaurant.

There's a decent fitness centre next door with a pool which I understand is free for guests.

It was surprisingly unrefined around the edges but the room and location probably made up for that if you are simply there for a match or concert and I would stay there again but with expectations adjusted.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in the 40's (ie 240) can be quite a corridor hike from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twickenham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twickenham Marriott Hotel

Address: 198 Whitton Road, Twickenham TW2 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twickenham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Twickenham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twickenham Marriott Hotel United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twickenham Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.