We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Brasserie

The White Brasserie
123 High Street, Teddington TW11 8HG, England
020 3166 2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 54 Restaurants in Teddington
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Teddington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ate here on Christmas Eve evening in a group of 4 adults.

We had a drink at the bar first and there was a good selection including Cornish brew Doonbar.

3 ate the set menu combination which is very reasonable but the main portions are on the small side and side dishes recommended. 1 ate a steak from the grill which was excellent. It is a restaurant rather than simple 'pub grub'.

The service was very good without being too much.

The decor is upmarket pub with a warm atmosphere.

My, husband also took a group of 10 friends here in November for lunch before the England v South Africa rugby international - it was very busy but again the service was excellent and they got them out in plenty of time to make it to the match.

We would not use this restaurant for a romantic meal but would certainly return with friends and family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    60
    24
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“WARM WELCOME, GREAT SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

On a dark and chill Sunday night my daughter and I slip into the warmth and Christmassy glow of the King's Head in Teddington for dinner in the White Brasserie. Immediately received by a smiling waiter and presented with the day's irresistible specials; so naturally I plump for warm mackerel on a bed of fennel and peppers - beautifully cooked, a substantial piece of fish - and confit of guinea fowl with winter vegetables - just the thing for a winter's evening. A bottle of Cote du Rhone is reasonably priced and the right kind of Shiraz-spicey partner. We are cosseted by our waiter and succumb to a pistachio soufflé with chocolate ice cream. The cooking, welcome and the cosy atmosphere exceed expectations. And what a nice waiter! We shall return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fabulous food, ambience and staff were brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Six of us went here last Friday night for my sisters birthday and it was fantastic. I had received severel recomendations and it certainly exceeded our expectations. The food was exceptional, it isn't cheap but you get a wonderful meal for your money. Best of all was our waiter Michael, he was absolutely fabulous and so funny. His attention to detail and knowledge of the menu was great...he made our night!! Will definitely be returning..5star!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“lovely venue but a bit pricey for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

i liked the food but didn't think it was worth the money - not when there are so many other nice options nearby.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

In the High Street of Teddington, this place looks like any other pub from outside but inside it has a superb restaurant brimming with atmosphere. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful, the food is first rate and the choice of menu as varied as one could wish.

Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Brasserie also viewed

Teddington, Middlesex
Teddington, Middlesex
 
Teddington, Middlesex
 

Been to The White Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.