We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Railway

The Railway
3 Victoria Road, Teddington TW11 0BB, England
+44 20 8943 0480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 58 Restaurants in Teddington
Cuisines: Gastropub
Description: We are a recently refurbished Gastropub in Teddington located right next to Teddington train station. We have a large pub area on the ground floor with plenty of room whether your dining or drinking. We offer a wide range of food from steak to vegetarian food, we also make our own pizzas fresh every day and offer an ever changing lunch menu. We have an extensive and varied wine list and change our ales every week. We also have 3 function rooms on the first floor which are perfect for any event with our largest room able to hold 50 guests. Our other function rooms are used primarily for meetings and more intimate dining
Restaurant details
Description: We are a recently refurbished Gastropub in Teddington located right next to Teddington train station. We have a large pub area on the ground floor with plenty of room whether your dining or drinking. We offer a wide range of food from steak to vegetarian food, we also make our own pizzas fresh every day and offer an ever changing lunch menu. We have an extensive and varied wine list and change our ales every week. We also have 3 function rooms on the first floor which are perfect for any event with our largest room able to hold 50 guests. Our other function rooms are used primarily for meetings and more intimate dining
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have just eaten in the Railway. We had initially just planned to call in for a drink, so the meal here wasn't planned, however I'm so glad we did.

Excellent menu, great fresh seafood options, great desserts.... My meal was cooked and presented to perfection with fresh ingredients and everything was very well priced.

The staff were very pleasant also, which is always a bonus! Thanks for a lovely night and I hope to be back again soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had a lovely meal, steak and chips were well cooked. Although pricey food was worth it! Nice atmosphere. Service wasn't top notch to match price though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aitchpm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went for lunch on a winter's Saturday, and were very glad we did - the food is fantastic and all homemade, the staff were really friendly and helpful, without being too intrusive. They have an excellent winelist and good selection of beers. Will be going back soon with friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like it, but not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had food there a couple of times and it was delicious. The service is great and the pub has been recently refurbished. They even make great coffee! A lovely place, really.

As far as pubs go, it is - unfortunately - on the pricey side. This is the only down side.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

As a Teddington resident who dines out regularly in the local restaurants, this place is clearly trying to profit from it's location in this wealthy suburb of London. However it has over priced itself on drinks and food in terms of general value for money. There are no glasses of wine under £6 and that's for a 125ml and the food although tasty is not worth the A La Carte prices.

Seem to have everything else right in terms of ambiance, service and offering but guys just lower your prices a bit, you may fill that beautiful dining area more regularly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Railway also viewed

Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 

Been to The Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.