We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clockhouse

The Clockhouse
High Street, Teddington, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 54 Restaurants in Teddington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had organised a walk for about a dozen people and the pub selected has to cater for all tastes. On our trial walk we had a couple of very nice baguettes complete with salad and chips so booked for the whole group.

Last Sunday we had the separate dining room at the back to ourselves and everyone had good things to say about the food. I had one of the roasts on offer and enjoyed it. There are some real ales and the Doom Bar went down very well.

The service was efficient but a bit lacking in personal contact.

The men's toilets are clean but a strong disinfectant smell lingers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We live locally and have many options to choose from in Teddington when it comes to drinks and food in pubs. We chose to take the parents for a Sunday roast but it was ok however when I chose the fish special, monkfish with langoustines I was so very disappointed. I had the worst part of the fish they could find and barely any meat from the shellfish in a very anaemic looking soup with three large cold boiled potatoes that were grey. Sorry to say this place has gone downhill and it's a real shame as was once, not that long ago, very inviting indeed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice - but PLEASE clean the toilets!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice Teddington pub for a few jars if you want to avoid the noisier Teddy Arms which is usually bouncing. Slightly older crowd - but good atmosphere. Food menu needs changing a bit. Pretty boring. Avoid the men's bogs. Went in there last night - the smell would make your eyes water!! Pub attracts a good loyal crowd - but not sure they are being looked after, hope I'm wrong but seems like the place is slowly going downhill.

Will be the first back on here if I am wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The Most Astonishing Pub on the Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've travelled all over the world, and I'm relatively new to the area, but I can honestly say that the Clockhouse is, without doubt, the most astonishing pub on the planet! They say that a good pub is a 'great leveller', a place where people from all backgrounds can meet and mix freely. And that is exactly what happens here almost ever night. High court judges mix with bricklayers, broadcasters, journalists, educators, policemen, bus drivers, local gangsters, professional gamblers, faded movie stars, even the owners of other pubs! The debate of the day, which usually ends up involving everyone, is always lively and good natured. And the draught beers are exceptional: probably because the building was originally built as a proper 'pub' with a proper cellar, but also because the staff really know what they are doing. A good old proper English pub: if only there were more like this in the world.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very nice place and excellant food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

stayed in Teddington for a 40th birthday and needed a nice lunch beforehand. came accross this place. Very friendly place and really great food at very good prices. I would go again
thanks

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clockhouse also viewed

 
Teddington, Middlesex
Teddington, Middlesex
 

Been to The Clockhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clockhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.