We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms too hot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lensbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lensbury to your Saves list
The Lensbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broom Road, Teddington TW11 9NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“rooms too hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

late booking via booking.com and late check in at 2300 and out for 0830 so difficult to give it a complete review.
check in very smooth. Standard room on the small side. with floor boards creaking. felt guilty going to the bathroom. Room also very warm. window only opens about 2 inch so no chance of a breeze. needless to say didn't sleep well. Breakfast good. Served in conservatory. hot and cold buffet type with usual choice of fare. Coffee actually tastes like coffee so a definite plus.
Checkout very smooth. Unfortunately didn't have time tibsample the leisure facilities. overall OK would book again but possibly only at a lower rate.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. Although it was only a brief visit, we appreciate you taking the time to forward your comments. It is nice to know you found the check in and check out procedure easy and efficient and that you enjoyed the breakfast in particular. I am sorry if you found the bedroom to be uncomfortably hot. The windows cannot be opened wide for health and safety reasons, however we do provide an electric fan which you could have used. Alternatively, our superior bedrooms do have air conditioning so another time it might be worth paying a little extra and upgrading to a room with air conditioning. We do hope you will come back to the Lensbury again and perhaps next time you will have the chance to try our leisure facilities. Many thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    82
    46
    20
    7
See reviews for
38
62
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel has everything that would be required for a relaxing stay ie spa, restaurants and idyllic setting, unfortunately it also has rooms that are hotter than the sun !! We couldn't open our window much more than an inch and spent an evening gasping for breath whilst lip reading over the noise of a fan louder than a aeroplane turbine ! Avoid room 229 unless your on a crash diet or can't make the weight for a boxing bout !

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. I am sorry you found your room unbearably hot. The standard rooms are not equipped with air conditioning which is not usually too much of an issue for us in the UK, but when the weather is warm, admittedly the rooms can get hot. We do provide an electric fan, which you did make use of, but another time if you stay at The Lensbury you could pay a little extra and upgrade to one of our superior or executive bedrooms which do have air conditioning.

Apart from the temperature of your room I hope you did enjoy your stay and perhaps had the opportunity to cool off in the swimming pool or with a motor boat trip perhaps from our watersports centre. We do hope you will be back to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I'd not heard of this place before but met some friends that are members on a Friday night. This therefore is a review of the bar and restaurant area both of which had been refurbed recently.

I quite like the decor to be honest although I see others don't. Nice relaxed tables and chairs in the bar area on a fairly busy might with people spread over the bar, inside and outside restaurants.

For eats I had the crab starter which had a deep fried coating, it was quite fiddly to eat but ok all the same. After this a sirloin with Lensbury sauce which consisted of red wine, shallots and had a spicy taste - I liked it.

Anyway, good night, nothing to moan about and service was good.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent visit. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the experience especially the bar, restaurant, food and staff. We are very pleased with our newly refurbished bar and lounge areas and new Dunbar table service restaurant. We have gone to considerable lengths to incorporate the requirements and wishes of our members and guests so thank you for appreciating it. I do hope you will be back to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had the absolute pleasure in staying at The Lensbury last night. Oozing character and caliber, Lensbury is set in the most incredible setting.. Grounds are extensive and bar, conservatory and outdoor patio (massive), all overlook the most fantastic tree lined expanse.. Customer service was brilliant and consistent across all areas ie fitness, restaurant, bar and reception. Leisure facilities are far beyond those you would expect at a hotel.
Food was excellent at either bar or main restaurant, the 3 x ice cream tasting dish was staggeringly brilliant.. I have read some comments on room size, but you know what, for the rate I got, I had absolutely no complaints on this front. Yes the room was warm, no air conditioning but you know what? Just not sure air conditioning is right for this historic building? Fans were provided in the room which was good.

I have stayed in many hotels on business, but this one left me wanting to re-visit as soon as possible..

Highly highly recommended..

Well done to everyone

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. We are proud of our beautiful venue and its charming location on the banks of the Thames. We are well appointed with excellent leisure facilities as you observed and have recently invested £14 million in refurbishing the ground floor bar, lounge and restaurant areas. We are very pleased with the results which we feel enhance the character and atmosphere.

We do hope you will be back to visit us again soon, and please tell others about us too.

Many thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here while attending a conference. The grounds are very pleasant and relaxing after a work day - the proximity of the Thames (50m from the building) is lovely with canal side walks. The rooms are small and don't have air conditioning, not great especially as London was experiencing a heatwave! Breakfast was good as were the conference lunches and dinner

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. We are fortunate in our location on the banks of the river Thames and we have beautiful grounds and gardens which I was pleased to hear you enjoyed. I accept that some of our rooms are a little smaller than some you will find in other 4 star hotels. The Lensbury was originally built as a private members club and not a hotel, however we believe all the rooms are comfortable and have been recently updated. If you prefer a room with air conditioning, it might be worth paying a little extra next time and upgrading to a superior room.

We hope you visit us again soon and thank you for giving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last week , we booked the hampton court flower show break .
We have never stayed here before and were so pleased that we did ,as we feel feel this is a loverly hotel . There were a lot of people staying here but we didn't feel over crowded. There were a lot of children but most of them seemed to be outside in the large gardens, children under sixteen were not allowed in the bar area ,so this is were we sat and had our evening meal , thank you Holly for keeping us supplied with G and T.
Our bedroom was beautiful , very large and spacious, with a large king size bed ,a couple of settees ,large TV and a kettle and a nespresso coffee machine (my favourite ) .it was also extremely clean .
Nice large bathroom with shower unit (not a bath) once again very clean .
Breakfast was a bit busy ,but if you waited you soon got a table ,good choice on 1st day ,Saturday was a bit hit and miss ,(don't know who made the scramble eggs ).
We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here and would certainly return .

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities here and that you found the location convenient for visiting the Hampton Court Flower Show. As we are just down river we hope you were also able to make use of the boat service from Teddington Lock to the show. I hope you will be back to stay with us again especially if you are visiting the Flower Show next year. Many thanks again for taking the time to give your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A lovely position on the river and in the smart town of Teddington, handy for buses or walks to Hampton Court, and walks along the river to Ham House, Kew Gardens etc. We had a comfortable stay in a Mews room - now renamed Ascot Building - which has aircon. It was a small room but adequate, and very nicely refurbished - just slightly let down by the housekeeping (someone else's make up on a bath robe and the coffee hadn't been replenished on arrival). The building is a long way from the main areas and the hotel is large with several receptions for its different functions and my mother in law got lost. It was handy for a short-cut to the road, and the leisure centre though, which had a large pool and segregated sauna and steam room. Reception staff were friendly and efficient and paid heed to my booking requests regarding room requirements. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and good service. We ate in once in the evening - the food was nice but the dining areas are soul-less so I regretted that after discovering the nice pubs and cafes at the Lock - and Teddington High Street isn't too far with a lot of lovely looking restaurants. There was a notice at the Conference Centre reception about a shuttle bus to the train station on weekdays - it would be great if it ran at the weekend too and it was better advertised (presuming it is available to all guests). Train travel from Teddington was slightly confusing as the final destination in both directions is London Waterloo so don't rush onto any old train if you want a particular stop on the way as we did! I'd happily stay here again (but eat out).

Room Tip: In summer, sounds like you need the aircon in the Mews/Ascot building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. It is always nice to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay and appreciated all The Lensbury has to offer. We are in an ideal location for visiting local attractions as you found and have excellent leisure facilities which can be enjoyed by any residents at the hotel. We are proud of our staff who are almost always friendly and helpful so thank you for noticing. I have made a note of the housekeeping issues you commented on and we will make sure they are addressed.

Thank you again for taking the time to give your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lensbury again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lensbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensbury

Address: Broom Road, Teddington TW11 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Teddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lensbury 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lensbury is a 4 star hotel and conference centre located on the banks of the River Thames at Teddington in South West London. Conveniently close to major attractions such as Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Rugby Stadium, The Lensbury offers a good standard of accommodation, extensive leisure facilities and quality dining. The Lensbury is just 20 minutes by train from central London and 25 minutes by car from London Heathrow Airport and close to links for the M3 and M4 motorways.The property has its own car parking for 200 cars, complimentary WiFi throughout and 25 acres of grounds and gardens for you to enjoy.It truely is London's hidden gem on the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lensbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lensbury Hotel Teddington
The Lensbury Teddington, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lensbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.