We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrisons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harrisons Hotel to your Saves list
Harrisons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Russell Road, Shepperton TW17 9HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Shepperton
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Looks good but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Upon arrival the receptionist was not overly pleased to see us. Our room large but the bathroom was very small. The room was also very hot and stuffy despite having the window open, which we had to close due to the road noise. The road was busy all night so we didn't sleep well. The small bathroom cleanish, the showerhead needed descaling and the sealant around the bath was very mouldy.
Breakfast was okay but the tables were dirty and the waitress was nowhere to be seen.
A disappointing hotel which looks good but has too many flaws for the price. Glad I didn't pay full price!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    32
    9
    21
See reviews for
19
45
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

i have just returned from this hotel, stayed one night, the customer service is the best i have had,
lovely friendly staff, and receptionist is exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

very clean, comfy bed, fluffy towels, dead-friendly staff, lashings of hot water in a shower that worked perfectly, electrci saving devices everywhere, overall excellent hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Starting with the only positive, the shower was quite good and was a cubicle and not a shower over a bath.
the first room given overlooked an inner roof and all you could see was two other windows, ripped curtains, stains, mildew and the TV did not work, it was also a small double room so 2 people could not pass each other. After requesting a move to another room we were placed in the middle of the M1......the traffic was non stop and with squeaking floorboards all along the corridor and slamming doors at either end i thought i was at Heathrow! And to top things off our next room overlooked the staff smoking yard and we were privvy to their conversations all nght. I am still trying to work out which rooms were lucky enough to get the views they boast about on their web site.
the bed was awful and the pillows like witches t"ts. No other pillows were available, therefore one can only assume the hotel was on its last legs that they could not stretch to another pillow.
Evening meal was actually above average for the price, but the chef will be waiting a long time for a call from Gordon Ramsey. Standard fare but the price made it more appealing than it actually was. Everything from the serving staff was an effort and you could see you felt as though you were putting them out by asking for the basics and obviously work was not their preferred option. Breakfast was a joke, sub standard food poorly presented and only replenished when requested, we actually managed to finish our cooked food and juices and cereals before we lost the battle of wills and had to ask for a hot drink.
Upon leaving we pointed out our disappointments and asked that the Manager call us, that was 3 days ago.
this bears out my opinion that how can the staff care when the constantly absent management have no pride in their work, staff or hotel and cannot respond to customer requests
AVOID AT ALL COSTS unless you have nowehere else to go. this really is the pits, i normally make light of bad experiences but this was beyond humour nd for the first time i sincerely wish they go oout of business.

Room Tip: easy, find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Difficult to fault the room, fittings are of good quality, and nice complimentary items. Take care of the over hot towel rail though!
A good standard of cleanliness.
I stayed on a Sunday when the restaurant is not open, however the pub next door is excellent.
Breakfast was very average, but it was available on time at 7.AM.
A large off road parking area is available.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

As my review title suggests, Harrisons Hotel is distinctly average in everyway; from the standard room decor to the obligatory staff member eating takeaway behind reception.

As usual, I arrived quite late which means that I had missed dinner so I had to go hunting for some takeaway. Decided to get my luggage in first and this is when I encountered the first problem, the Carpark is a good way down the road, across a section with no pavement, over a bridge and in to what looks like a boat dealers yard. Having not been offered any help with my luggage, I decided just to park on the pavement directly in front of the hotel to unload. To be fair there is a very small carpark directly in front of the hotel but this holds a maximum of five cars.
Luggage safely stowed in my room, I headed to reception to ask if they could recommend a decent takeaway; the young lady behind reception was very pleasant, this is more than could be said for the obstinate looking boy watching Youtube and about to get stuck in to a big bag of what smelled like Chinese food.

Managed to find a very good pizza shop around the corner on Shepperton high street, which provided me with one of the best pizza's I have had in years, truly fantastic.

Being well-fed and relaxed, I decided to check out my room. The one word that comes to mind is SMALL! There was a single bed, a small writing desk, a wardrobe with safe and a small bathroom. Having said that though, I was thoroughly comfortable and didn't once feel claustrophobic. The bed whilst small was comfortable, I am 6'4" tall and had a very pleasant nights rest. There is a modern TV mounted to the wall which was great to watch from bed, although I was annoying that freeview either wasnt conneted or didnt work. The bathroom was clean and decorated to high standard, making the most of the available space; although the WC was too close to the heated towel rail, infact, I managed to burn my face whilst using the facilities. Large spacious shower with the standard low pressure shower; why is it when hotels are refurbished, nothing is ever done with the water pressure? Having travelled extensively, I always feel a good rule of thumb for judging hotels is the shower water pressure!

The area is very nice, our head office is in Sunbury around the corner and this part of the World always appeals to me. The hotel is in walking distance of Shepperton High Street and is across the road from a bend in the Thames.
Would I recommend this hotel? If you are on a budget and don't expect great service, then yes. It is considerably better than the Holiday Inn around the corner and is warm and semi-comfortable. It appears to have been refurbished recently to an average standard and although I thought it quite fun to sleep in a single bed; something I havent done for over 20 years, it is no longer acceptable to be charging £75 per night to curl up in a childs bed!

had to skip breakfast but the dining room looked clean and large, I believe it doubles as a restaurant. Check out was quick and the staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a double and pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel was nice enough, but we were charged twice for one night's stay. When I attempted to resolve this, there was NO response to my email.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrisons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisons Hotel

Address: Russell Road, Shepperton TW17 9HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Shepperton
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrisons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harrisons Hotel, Bistro and Bar, the perfect Surrey getaway on the banks of the River Thames.Our superb location near popular visitor attractions and major transport links means we are the ideal spot for both business and pleasure.And years of experience in providing mouth-watering food – coupled with our organisational skill – also makes us the first choice for wedding receptions, private functions and corporate gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harrisons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrisons Hotel Shepperton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrisons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.