We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London-Shepperton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London-Shepperton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Felix Lane, Shepperton TW17 8NP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Shepperton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great pool, some lovely staff, reasonable breakfasts. Let down by the air conditioning, bath and some of the evening meals. Fish and chips were just right, steak and risotto poor. The room had an interconnecting door which, although locked, made the soundproofing between rooms inadequate. It was a very relaxing stay, and I'd stay again, but not dine there. No free wifi also disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would return to us despite a few minor issues. I have taken on board your points regarding food quality with our chef and I have asked him to investigate and ensure that we remain consistent with our food standards. Your other comments have been noted for further consideration and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    150
    87
    37
    15
See reviews for
68
86
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Well cannot believe I am writing this within a few hours of being in the hotel. Well on arrival, checked in, asked about the complimentary upgrade for platinum ambassador status. Receptionist said that executive room could not fit the extra beds in easily. When I asked about a suite, she said "that will cost £50 more". Sook, I booked for four, however took the original room. Room is very tired, bath has been re-done and looks really awful, toilet seat needs replacing and it wobbles. Hairs found around bath and sink area. Yet again, only two cups for four people. No water, I. The room. Priority club ambassador normally means something, but it appears here that there are no extra benefits. When a hotel, is by no means full, an upgrade should not need to cost. Tidy, clean rooms would be nice. More to follow no doubt, swimming pool and gym tommorow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay.

I’m sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and found your room unsatisfactory. We are currently addressing the issues you have mentioned and we have completed an upgrade in several of the bathrooms in the Hotel. Your comments about the cleanliness I have discussed at length with our Housekeeping Manager and she wishes to be associated with my apologies. I am sorry to read that you found your platinum status to mean nothing – we take great pride in our Priority Club and this situation will be looked into further.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been few times on this hotel and this is the first time that I have to do a negative comment : in so cold period the air conditionated only makes notice. I was frozen in the bar and then rooms. It's not acceptable today. And the wifi system should be free.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Pepe P,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you like your hotel rooms warm, modern and clean, then dont stop here. The room was so cold, at 11pm I could not sleep because of it. The manual heater in the room sounds like a hairdryer and was making no difference to the temperature,
the hotel rooms are dated, the bathromm was a little grubby, and of couse was as cold as ice in the morning, which made the shower turn into a sauna.
I wish I had looked at the previous reviews before I stayed, heating is a recurring problem which never gets addressed apart from a standard response reply from the manager.
As a regular guest at Holiday Inn, this has been the worse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Holiday Inn Shepperton.

I’m extremely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us for a number of reasons. Your comments concerning the bathroom will be addressed immediately as this is not acceptable in the slightest. I have shared your comments with our housekeeper and she would like to be associated with my apology. We have had our engineers in to investigate the problem and they have not rectified the fault and we believe they have solved the issue.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxulyan, Cornwall
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked an executive room and were quite disappointed. the room was small and looked a bit tired. The bed was uncomfortable and dipped in the middle, it gave me a backache.
There was only one bathrobe in the room and although I reported it, another one was not forthcoming. there was no sign of the promise mineral water. No free wi-fi either.
The good point was that the staff were charming and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with your executive room and your experience with Holiday Inn Shepperton. Your comments concerning the bathrobes and mineral water have been noted for further consideration as these items should have been provided to accommodate the number of people per room. I have shared your comments with our housekeeper and she would like to be associated with my apology. I hope this stay hasn’t marred your opinion of our hotel entirely and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend like to visit thorpe park a couple times a year and in doing so we like to make it last and stay the night in a hotel so we dont have a long drive back home after our day at the park.
We chose this hotel through the play and stay website as it looked like the best choice and best value for money and it most certainly was!
Even though the hotel is slightly out of the way being down a county road its a positive as its a very peaceful and quiet location. The rooms were fairly spacious with good facilities in them, they were very clean and well decorated. The facilities at the hotel were very good with staff being friendly and helpful towards us. Even though we didn't get to use the pool facilities they did look very good. When we head to thorpe park again next year we will definately be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be comfortable with good rooms. I’m glad you found us to be great value for money and I have shared your feedback with the management and team of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

When in this area I usually stay at the excellent HI Kingston, but tried this place as it was just about walking distance from where I needed to be in Lower Sunbury on Boxing Day night.

It is at the end of an unlit poorly maintained track, not a problem in a car, but not at all nice (or safe) on foot in the dark and wet.

First impressions are good, the reception is spacious and nice, the nearby bar is also spacious and looked really rather good, though I didn't use it, nor the restaurant.

The hotel was almost empty, I saw only 3 other guests during my one-night stay. Despite having booked through priorityclub.com (an IHG site) my details were incorrect on the hotel's computer (right name, but everything else wrong) but this was dealt with competently by the pleasant young man on the desk.

I was given an 'executive room' and walked up one floor to find it. General impressions along the way are that the property is well looked after, but showing some signs of wear.

The room was clean, nicely furnished but a bit out of date. Bathroom clean, nothing to complain about there.

The TV was an adequately sized flatscreen with Freeview channels, the guide wasn't working, but there was a printed note saying they were having teething troubles with a new TV system. Couldnt see if they had any PPV movies though I didn't try that hard, so can't comment on the selection.

They had a Denon micro-hifi on a shelf under the TV. It's something that might have had a wow factor 10 years ago, but really, not now guys! Nobody carts CDs around with them, where was the i-dock? The remote had its battery cover and one battery missing so wouldn't work anyway. I suggest they should get rid of them, they just enhance the slightly out of date feel.

The bed was a fair size and comfortable.

Now I come to 3 negatives:

1) I couldn't get a cell signal for my phone or 3G for my ipad in the room (I'm with O2). This is not directly the fault of the hotel but it was a major inconvenience. I thoroughly object to paying ludicrous charges for hotel wifi, but if I wanted internet access in my room I would have had no choice.

2) At 9.30am there was a knock at the door whilst I was getting dressed. I called out 'hello' loudly a couple of times, but they still started to unlock the door. I had the safety chain on, went to the door and opened it to find two members of the housekeeping staff, one male one female. They could barely speak English, the man said 'Departure?' To which I said yes, but it's 9.30 in the morning and I haven't checked out yet as you can clearly see. 'Will come back later' he said. No apology, no embarrassment. In my opinion coming into a guest's bedroom at that time is barely forgivable.

3) The checkout. They had very few other guests in the hotel and I was the only one at the desk at the time, yet I was hurriedly dealt with by a young lady like I was rudely interrupting whatever other important work she was doing in the side office. I wasn't asked anything about whether my room or stay was OK. It sounds trivial but it really left a poor parting impression.

All in all this is not quite a 4-star hotel in my opinion. Some areas of staff training clearly need attention and the rooms and corridors are starting to feel a bit worn and dated. The poor cell signal is a big drawback.

Will I stay again? Yes, but will continue to favour HI Kingston with my custom most of the time if staying in that area and I suggest the management team of HI Shepperton send someone to spend a night there, they might learn what a true 4-star Holiday Inn is like!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a few issues during your time with us. I have shared your concerns with the management team here at the hotel and we are reviewing how we can learn from them and ensure we enhance the guest experience here at the Holiday Inn London Shepperton. I am particularly sorry for the intrusion into your room; the situation should have been handled with courtesy and your comments have been noted and we have carried out re-training for our housekeeping team members. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London-Shepperton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Shepperton

Address: Felix Lane, Shepperton TW17 8NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Shepperton 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London Shepperton is ideally suited for both business and leisure. An AA approved 4 star hotel close to Heathrow Airport and set in 11 acres of grounds with ample free parking. Local attractions include Twickenham Rugby, Hampton Court Palace and Windsor with special family theme park Legoland, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park packages for children. With the M3 and M25 motorways only minutes away, Holiday Inn London Shepperton is easily accessible for London, Richmond and Kingston. Family rooms are available and kids eat free when sharing.For a place to chill over a glass of wine or bite to eat, the Regatta Restaurant & Bar offers an impressive choice of dishes, themed midweek dinners and traditional Sunday roast.The Conference & Meeting Centre features 10 meeting rooms accommodating up to 100 delegates, with natural daylight, high-speed WiFi internet access, blackout, 8 hour comfort chairs and air-conditioning. This conference hotel also provides the informal Conference Cafe for unlimited drinks for delegates. For a place to unwind and recuperate, the leisure club at Holiday Inn Shepperton offers a range of facilities including an indoor pool, spa, sauna and fully equipped gym to ensure you feel relaxed and at your best. In compliance with UK Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Shepperton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton Hotel Shepperton
Holiday Inn Shepperton
Shepperton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.