We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stop over only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London-Shepperton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London-Shepperton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Felix Lane, Shepperton TW17 8NP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good for stop over only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel in general is very nice. I was surprised that this hotel is so good but outside London. I liked the quitness and the nature around but dont have much time to relax. I had a small suite which is big enough for my little family. The room was clean and the staff was so helpful with us. Outside my window was a small lake with nice view of trees.

The only thing i didn't like about is far away from city center and in the middle of no where. It took me about 40 min driving to go back to London. No small shops to buy stuff around or anything to visit around.

Room Tip: Take a suite. Regular rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our team to be helpful.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to the Holiday Inn London Shepperton perhaps if you have the occasion to visit some of the attraction parks local to us.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    163
    100
    46
    16
See reviews for
80
95
22
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not a terrible hotel, but what was wrong was terrible.

Went there on a last minute decision to go to our daughter’s soccer tournament in Cobham. All the hotels near the event were full, so we went here...hard to go wrong with a Holiday Inn I thought. Well, was I wrong.

On the positive side, we asked for a quiet room on the upper floor and we were given that. Beds were adequate and size of room adequate also. The room had its “choke” points where it was one-way traffic, but other hotels have that also. New flat screen TV with 30-some channels. No fridge and no safe. Closed closet with internal light. Two small drawers for clothes. Trouser press. Minimum toiletries. Small bathroom. No exhaust fan in bathroom – a shower created a sauna.

Hotel bar was rather roomy and a good selection of beer. We didn’t eat there, but there wasn’t much on the bar menu that looked good to us. Can’t speak about the restaurant. Both the bar and restaurant seemed lively, but could be due to no nearby alternative.

Exercise facility that had pool and machines. Also looked like the locals used it as a club. We didn’t use it, but it looked nice.

Now the sins.

HEATING: The only thing worse that the referees in the soccer tournament was the heating. The hotel policy on heating is outrageous. I read several reviews about inadequate heating, but attributed it to something faulty in the room. I mentioned this when I arrived and was assured all was well and to call if there was a problem. The room was as cold as it was outside. And damp (its near ponds and the river). I tried the thermostat without success. Cold air blew for a few minutes and then shut down. I called reception and was told that they would “turn on the system”. Waited 20 minutes and no change, so went to speak with the manager. On the way noticed that the hallway was usually cold also. Power outage? Broken heating boiler? Wrong. I didn’t find the manager very accommodating and he looked nervous. He asked how long I would be staying. Maybe the duration of your stay determined the temperature of your room. He offered to change rooms if the problem couldn’t be fixed. But the problem was actually the manager himself. He sent a maintenance person to the room to “fix” the problem who informed that the heating is turned on at 16:00 and off at 21:00. Also turned on at 6:00 and off at 9:00. That’s what was meant by “turn on the system”. So if you are cold at one in the morning, you are on your own. After an exchange of words, the maintenance person indicated that he would take me off the system and let me control my own temperature for our stay. So we kept that room and the temperature problem was fixed except for about 30 minutes then they shut off the system at 21:00 and the manual arrangement kicked in 30 minutes later. I have never seen anything like this at a major chain. All the staff that I spoke with knew what the problem was, kept it a secret (except the last guy) and waited to see if I would tolerate it. If this was my first Holiday Inn, I would never go to another one. So if you use this place, make sure that you tell them that you want a warm room (or cool in the summer) and get off the “system”.

BATHROOM was not clean when we arrived. Unfortunately some of the waste from the previous guest didn’t quite have the distance to make it to the Thames and rested in the toilet bowl. Over time it disintegrated and the water turned to the color of dark tea. A flush cleared the "tea", revealing a yellowish plaque or coating in the bowl below the water. Reminiscent of the color of Uncle Billy’s dentures before he found out he could wash them. It was gone the next day. Nice welcome to Holiday Inn: cold room and soiled toilet.

LOCATION. Not near anything except a marina. Too far to walk anywhere – you definitely need a car. Great if you are at a seminar or training course and your boss wants you focused, but other than that, terrible location. Heavy traffic in the afternoon (16:00-19:00) leaving the hotel area (especially getting across the bridge to Walton on Thames and in the morning 7:00-9:00) made it worse. Plan extra time.

LIGHTING is inadequate. Even with all the lights on it seemed dark. As a bonus for us, one of the lights over one of the beds had been removed. Not the bulb, the whole lamp. So that made a very dark corner. And unfortunately that was the corner of the room that had the desk and the only mirror other than in the bathroom. So once the sun was down, you really couldn’t use the desk or mirror.

PARKING: Big parking lot in the rear. However, when we checked in they didn’t tell us that there was a rear door to the hotel (tucked away a bit and not really obvious). So for the first day we would use the parking road to access the building. No sidewalks and sometime bustling with cars. Also had to stroll by the collection of garbage cans. Strange they didn’t mention the rear door – especially since I asked about parking and how to get inside the hotel when we arrived. (This was before I made a stick about the heating, so they weren’t mad at me yet.) Exiting the parking needed a token from reception. Don’t know why since it’s hard to imagine that people would use the hotel as a drop off place for their cars. There’s nothing around there. So remember to get your token. It’s not a short walk between reception and the parking lot.

TOILETRIES: As stated above, minimal, so no real complaint. However, I noticed that the partially used bottles of shampoo were not replaced with new ones. Instead, the open used bottles were returned to the toiletries tray. Normally the open bottles are left in the shower/tub and new ones placed in the toiletries tray. Looked rather cheap to me. Never seen that before in a large chain hotel.

WI-FI available, but for a price. 5 pounds an hour or 10 pounds for 24 hours. Connection was good. But this should be free. Again, makes the place look cheap.

With the exception of the attempted deception of the manager and reception about the hotel heating policy, other staff hired to interface with guests were chatty and nice. There was another group of staff all dressed in black that never really said much or tried to connect. There appeared to be many of them – I would greet them, they would look surprised and return the greeting. Odd.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely not. Location isn’t great – especially with the rush hour traffic. And I don’t want to be hassled about room temperature. Especially since it was a decision by management to have limited hours of heat.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a manual controlled thermostat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed several aspects of your stay and you found our team to be nice, although I am naturally disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations on all aspects of your stay and would like to apologise for this.

I have investigated fully the issues that you have highlighted and would like to make the following comments.

Regarding the heating timer system:

This system was installed by our contractors to enable us to ensure the maximum performance from our room heating/air conditioning system. I understand our Maintenance Manager explained to you that the system is fully controllable from the room by the guests at all times. Another benefit of this system is that it helps us to reduce our carbon footprint, as we found our guests were leaving the heating/cooling system on for longer than required i.e. still switched on after they have checked out. Our research shows that our customers appreciate our commitment to reducing our co2 emissions. You state that you felt that the Manager tried to deceive you in the way in which our heating system operates. You spoke to one of our duty Managers who passed your issue to the Maintenance team as they were better placed to deal with it, I am confident that he was not trying to deceive you in any way. He has asked to be associated with my apologies if he has offended you in any way.

You mention you found the hotel rear entrance difficult to find, this has not been highlighted before, however we will endeavour to be cleared on check in to explain fully how to access the hotel and will review existing signage. In terms of the bedroom lighting we are about to undergo a comprehensive refurbishment of our bedrooms and we are confident that lighting levels will be enhanced significantly. I am very concerned with the poor levels of cleanliness you experienced in your bathroom and have shared your comments with our Head Housekeeper who has taken steps to ensure these will not be repeated in future.

I would like to re-iterate my apologies for the problems you encountered and would really appreciate the chance to restore your faith in the Holiday Inn Shepperton. Please email your name, room number and date of stay to ops.hishepperton@qmh-hotels.com.

Yours sincerely

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I've used this hotel most weeks for over 3 years now. It's a bit off the beaten track down a private road past Shepperton Marina. Great if you've got a car. Trains are a short taxi journey. Lots of places to eat round and about in Lower Sunbury, Shepperton, Walton and Weybridge. Staff are very friendly and hotel is slowly being updated new bar and reception done and a few rooms started too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for spending time on writing a review of our hotel.

I’m pleased to read that as a returning customer you continue to enjoy your stays with us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. I will pass your kind words on to our team members.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed at this hotel for 2nights, is listed as a 4star! The room was small considering it's star rating, plugs were fitted by workstation upside down, no information regarding local area or about hotel. Very poor selection of hot drinks, no biscuits, wi-fi charged at £5 per hour or £15 or 24hrs. Not easy to find if you don't know local area, poorly signposted, off from a main road and poorly lit down a pot hole filled lane.
Toilet very noisy when flushed, quilt very thin. Position of kettle unsuitable had to be placed next to T.V to be plugged in at the back of T.V, not very safe!
Ordered 2 hot chocolates which are described on the menu as being served in large cups, actually came in 2 carboard cups and charged £3.25 for each!
would not stay here again, not a warm welcome, when raised issues with reception manager didn't really seem interested and gave an insincere apology, was quite dismissive.

Room Tip: all the rooms we were informed were all the same standard as this is a chain hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not to the standard we strive to deliver. I would really appreciate the chance to restore your faith in the Holiday Inn Shepperton. Please email your name, room number and date of stay to ops.hishepperton@qmh-hotels.com.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here many times before as a base for visiting Thorpe Park, Chessington & Legoland. Rooms are good & breakfast excellent but this time, the reception staff let the hotel down. No warm greeting-more of an inconvenience for interrupting her and so no explanation of facilities, room location etc. Good job we'd been before! Pool is lovely but not especially child friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m sorry to read that your time with us was not enjoyable and I am very sorry that our team members let our hotel down. Your comments have been noted for further consideration. I will be sharing your comments with our team and will put in place measures to ensure that the same mistakes will not be made in future.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Quick to check in. Rooms were adequate. TV really needs updating and more channels added. Pool was adequate but elderly leisure club members obviously don't like children in the pool.
Bar seemed okay and breakfast was fine.
All the staff were friendly and polite to us.
Nothing is in walking distance so you will need a car or a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with our hotel.

I’m pleased to read that your time with us was satisfactory and our team members were friendly and professional.

Children are allowed into our pool until 7pm and the club shuts at 9pm weekends and at 10pm during the week. I am pleased to announce that our televisions will all be upgraded this week to flat screen TVs and they will come with an abundance of channels as well as allowing wireless connectivity with laptops and smartphones.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Where do I begin.
The first problem was on arrival, the room cold and smelt damp. I turned the heating on and was confronted with the sound of a hair dryer on full speed an antiquated A/C system. We decided to get changed and go to our venue and left the heating switched on . On return the heating was off and the room again was very cold but the damp smell had gone. I switched the heating back on and we had to endure many hours of it switching on and off automatically with the associated noise problem, very little sleep that night. The following morning I asked for the heating not to be switched off by the staff cleaning the room so we would not have to put it on during the night.

The next night the same again the room was very cold and the heating as on but the room stat turned down. I had to turn it up again to warm the place up and again the sound of a hair dryer on full began. The guest in the next room began talking loudly on his cell phone at 1.30 am and I requested the desk staff to have a word with him as I could clearly hear his conversation through the adjoining door. They didn't. This continued for at least another half an hour until the heating started up again and drowned him out. Ten minutes later it stopped and we then could hear him snoring. No sleep for us again !
The shower thermostat didn't work and was too hot to stand under, the extractor in the bathroom didn't work and the room filled with steam and the mirror was useless, tiles coming away from the wall and mould in the tile grouting.
I pointed all of these problems out again when checking out and was told " they were very sorry I had not been happy with the room and can you enter your pin number in the machine please" We will not be going back.
The only upside was it the breakfast was good and that's about all.

Room Tip: Pick a newer hotel with better A/C and thicker walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your time spent with Holiday Inn Shepperton.

I am extremely sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to deliver the best service possible to our guests and I’m disappointed that during your stay we have not achieved this.

The heating system in our rooms is one of the major aspects of our refurbishment that will be happening within the next few years. Until then, it is regularly monitored by our maintenance team who work hard to ensure it is satisfactory.

I would appreciate the chance to restore your faith in Holiday Inn Shepperton. Please email your name, room number and date of stay to ops.hishepperton@qmh-hotels.com. Once again, please accept my apologies for the quality of your stay.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London-Shepperton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Shepperton

Address: Felix Lane, Shepperton TW17 8NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Shepperton 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London Shepperton is ideally suited for both business and leisure. An AA approved 4 star hotel close to Heathrow Airport and set in 11 acres of grounds with ample free parking. Local attractions include Twickenham Rugby, Hampton Court Palace and Windsor with special family theme park Legoland, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park packages for children. With the M3 and M25 motorways only minutes away, Holiday Inn London Shepperton is easily accessible for London, Richmond and Kingston. Family rooms are available and kids eat free when sharing.For a place to chill over a glass of wine or bite to eat, the Regatta Restaurant & Bar offers an impressive choice of dishes, themed midweek dinners and traditional Sunday roast.The Conference & Meeting Centre features 10 meeting rooms accommodating up to 100 delegates, with natural daylight, high-speed WiFi internet access, blackout, 8 hour comfort chairs and air-conditioning. This conference hotel also provides the informal Conference Cafe for unlimited drinks for delegates. For a place to unwind and recuperate, the leisure club at Holiday Inn Shepperton offers a range of facilities including an indoor pool, spa, sauna and fully equipped gym to ensure you feel relaxed and at your best. In compliance with UK Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Shepperton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton Hotel Shepperton
Holiday Inn Shepperton
Shepperton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London-Shepperton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.