We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best around for miles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivory Tusk

Ivory Tusk
78 High Street, Shepperton TW17 9AU, England
+44 1932 246899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Shepperton
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best around for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the best Indian restaurant around, staff are fantastic too!
Eat in or take away- perfect every time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not blown away...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went here early evening to meet my curry buddy mate which is one of his locals. Our standards are pretty high when it comes to our favorite grub and this visit was not up expectations. Being the first ones there you would think you might get your drinks fairly quickly....took them 10 minutes to get a gin and tonic to the table.

Food was again, average. My dansak had no depth of flavour to it, lacked any lentils and tasted like a rushed bog standard lamb curry made from batch cooked base (all to familiar these days).

Service was equally lacking. We had to ask twice for our breads and the second request was greeted with an indignant grunt from the waiter. We both like our lager cold, usually much colder than the average you get from restaurant fridges. So we usually ask to have them put in the freezer for a few minutes, usually never a problem for other places we go to. But not at this establishment, after the request was made a bottle was brought to the table and informed that they were "cold enough". Obviously the service mantra at this restaurant reads "the customer is always wrong"

There are much better options in Shepperton so I do not recommend this place. Best in the wider area is Indian Zest in Sunbury.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Great experience, food excellent, service responsive but not over bearing even on a busy weekend evening. Nice and busy, good atmosphere but not chaotic. Looked after very well with a 6 year old. Food all very good, tandoori chicken nice and spicy no red dye here! Prices reasonable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We eat curry once a week and my husband belongs to a curry club. We both said this was the best curry ever! Delicious curry, presentation and service,

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton-on-thames
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“GREAT INDIAN RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I had another fantastic meal here on Friday it really is the best Indian restaurant in the area Shepperton, Walton, Molsey, and Esher. We use the Ivory Tusk for all our takeaways even though we live in Walton-on-Thames it is worth the drive over to collect them as the takeaway is of a very good standard. When we eat in you can't fault anything and we always have a lovely time the owner and all the staff really look after you feeling hungry as I write this review.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivory Tusk also viewed

 

Been to Ivory Tusk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivory Tusk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.