We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Great Britain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
“Comfortable airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Location; for T5 this hotel is perfect, just a short stroll through a tubular gantry and down one level in a lift straight into the terminal where the landside shops includes a M&S Simply Food outlet, if returning remember to use the single dedicated hotel lift as the others go only to the multi storey car parks, there were confused people using the hotel lift who wanted but couldn’t get access to the car park.

Ambiance; hotel is functional rather than grand, as mentioned by other reviewers it lacks soul, playing on its convenience for terminal 5, a rather clinical business hotel with no views from the inside and architecturally challenged on the outside. I agree with other reviewers that the digital light switches are difficult until you get used to them.

Beds; very comfortable, you may need steps to get onto the bed, all fixtures & fittings are to a very high standard, complete silence, spotlessly clean.

Price; whilst rack rates for this hotel are very expensive you can get some good rates at the moment if you shop around at the numerous internet hotel agencies and don’t just walk in. Horrendously expensive restaurants and room service, most people seem to go to the M& S outlet in the terminal.

Extras; everything is extra, for instance to watch TV £15 (you can’t even watch free to air TV channels), broadband £15, car park £15, can you guess how much room service delivery charge is? Walls appear to be built to screen out 3G signal so you are forced to buy the in-room broadband facility if you want to connect your laptop, the lobby can only get low signal GPRS and not 3G.

Breakfast is excellent, just about everything you could ever want and then some all topped off by a delightfully cheerful chef whose laughter makes a great start to the day. Please keep it up.

Hotel car parking; underground at £15 per 24 hours for hotel guests and £40 for non-guests. Being operated by a separate company to the hotel there are no notices to tell you this but you must have your parking ticket endorsed as a guest at reception before you go to the car park and pay there or you will pay the full price or have to return, you can waste time doing this, something which compromises the express checkout facility, and there is no refund.

Unlike the Gatwick Sofitel which I prefer, you can’t get access to the Club lounge unless you are in a suite and these are priced as though you are buying rather than renting a room, being well beyond the reach of mere mortals, and A Club members can’t upgrade or get access to Club level.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,485
    1,170
    275
    92
    60
See reviews for
565
1654
609
1060
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Brand new hotel connected to wonderful Terminal 5. Quiet rooms, friendly service, ultra modern design. Will definitely come back. The rooms lighting is not at all difficult to operate, as some have mentioned in the reviews.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed one night before ctaching an early flight from T5. Hotel is a shortish walk from the T5 and it is very clearly signposted.
As soon as you walk into hotel itself you can feel you walked into 5* hotel. It is very clean, big, very well upkept.
Check in formalities were quick but finding our room was a bit of a mission as there is a maze of corridors and block leading one to another. When checking in we were advised that there is a wedding going on and if the noise is bothersome to give them a ring.
We were assigned room right at the end with internal garden view which was nice.
Room itself was up to 5* standard. Everything you could need was there. Iron, mini bar, tea kettle with good choice of hot drinks, vanity set... As in all Sofitel hotels bed was absolutely amazing and provides the best night sleep ever. Bathroom was well equipped and very clean.
Did not have breakfast as were leaving early in the morning and room service brakfast was around £30 per person.
Chek-out nice and easy and within 3 minutes we were leaving Sofitel well rested and relaxed for our flight.
If you need to stay at LHR, Sofitel at T5 is a great hotel worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My hiband and I need a hotel between flights and chose this one for it's location. It was really quiet, elegant and the rooms are sumptuous, even the twin one we booked. We also enjoyed a lovely peaceful dinner in the Bistro with excelent wine and food. The terminal is easily accessed by way of free shuttele train, just watch the signs after arriving at Terminal 5 for the long hallway to the hotel. In the morning we received a wakeup call from an actual person and where on our way. No breakfast, but we had plenty of time before the flight after check in. The one negative I would mention was the charge for internet which seems to be the way still in Europe. We expect free wireless here in the states and they just don't do that over the pond, except in some lobby's.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The Sofitel is the official hotel of the newly built Terminal 5 at Heathrow. The hotel feels and looks brand new - it is pretty and clean, with nicely appointed rooms and nice modern amenities. However, if you're tired from traveling or in poor physical shape or health (and we're neither), I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Like many on here, we were stopping over on our way back from continental Europe. We had two large bags and two large backpacks apiece, which wouldn't be a problem normally but made travel here fairly difficult. Since "fixed" taxi rates between terminals are 18 pounds per ride, we chose to travel here via Heathrow Express. We came in through Terminal 2 and had to walk about 500 meters (and navigate several of those infernal security "bars" in front of escalators that are ubiquitous in the U.K.) just to get to the train platform. We then waited for about 10 minutes to get the right train (the HX serves Terminals 4 and 5 separately) and found that on the other side (Terminal 5), several escalators and another 300 meter walk awaited us just to get to the hotel. We're in good shape, but it was a long way just to get to the hotel. The hotel stay was quite nice once we got there, but we both agreed that we were not looking forward to the schlep back to Terminal 1 the next morning.

So, a recommended hotel, but know what you're getting into before you book!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Since we were arriving at Heathrow Terminal 5 on our way from Paris to the English countryside, we stayed one night at this hotel. I'd read it was a quiet hotel despite being right next door to the airport. It's so very convenient (just steps away from the "Arrivals" area of Terminal 5). The rooms were clean, exceptionally quiet, and quite luxurious. Access to the train and coach lines are right at hand as well, so we easily hopped on public transportation to take us to Bath the morning after we'd arrived in London. We'd stay at this hotel again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our previous stay in London was at a premium location for a premium price and the place still turned out to be a dump. This time when we found we would have a layover in London, we decided to try something different. As airline staff, we get great discounts at Accor hotels if availability is good and we book enough in advance. We heard about this brand new Sofitel at Heathrow's new Terminal 5 and have always had superb experiences at Sofitels. We got a great rate for our one night layover before a cruise from Harwich port the next day. The 45 minute tube ride to the city center was not terribly convenient but the hotel more than made up for it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful during check-in, concierge and dining. The room was plush as we expect from Sofitel. The bed was soft and fluffy, yet supportive, a welcome respite for our jet-lagged bodies. Every detail was covered in the room from the large flat screen tv, luxurious bathroom, wifi, built-in AV jacks in the wall for easy picture or video viewing to the north-american style plug in the wall for easy camera recharging for Yanks. We sampled the moderately priced restaurant which offered a 2 for 1 deal if you eat dinner before 1900. It was excellent.

The only thing about the hotel that slightly ruffled my feathers was their check-in policy. As many travellers arriving from North America, we arrived in the morning. They had plenty of rooms available but would only check us in early if we were willing to pay almost another night. We opted to store our stuff in a friend's room who got there the night before and check in later. When you are tired from traveling all night, this doesn't come across as very nice.

Overall, we would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend the hotel highly if you don't mind staying in the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Library Bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. we do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.