We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best deal of the day
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy and Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My hiband and I need a hotel between flights and chose this one for it's location. It was really quiet, elegant and the rooms are sumptuous, even the twin one we booked. We also enjoyed a lovely peaceful dinner in the Bistro with excelent wine and food. The terminal is easily accessed by way of free shuttele train, just watch the signs after arriving at Terminal 5 for the long hallway to the hotel. In the morning we received a wakeup call from an actual person and where on our way. No breakfast, but we had plenty of time before the flight after check in. The one negative I would mention was the charge for internet which seems to be the way still in Europe. We expect free wireless here in the states and they just don't do that over the pond, except in some lobby's.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,920
    1,666
    413
    130
    86
See reviews for
899
2,589
809
1,539
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The Sofitel is the official hotel of the newly built Terminal 5 at Heathrow. The hotel feels and looks brand new - it is pretty and clean, with nicely appointed rooms and nice modern amenities. However, if you're tired from traveling or in poor physical shape or health (and we're neither), I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Like many on here, we were stopping over on our way back from continental Europe. We had two large bags and two large backpacks apiece, which wouldn't be a problem normally but made travel here fairly difficult. Since "fixed" taxi rates between terminals are 18 pounds per ride, we chose to travel here via Heathrow Express. We came in through Terminal 2 and had to walk about 500 meters (and navigate several of those infernal security "bars" in front of escalators that are ubiquitous in the U.K.) just to get to the train platform. We then waited for about 10 minutes to get the right train (the HX serves Terminals 4 and 5 separately) and found that on the other side (Terminal 5), several escalators and another 300 meter walk awaited us just to get to the hotel. We're in good shape, but it was a long way just to get to the hotel. The hotel stay was quite nice once we got there, but we both agreed that we were not looking forward to the schlep back to Terminal 1 the next morning.

So, a recommended hotel, but know what you're getting into before you book!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Since we were arriving at Heathrow Terminal 5 on our way from Paris to the English countryside, we stayed one night at this hotel. I'd read it was a quiet hotel despite being right next door to the airport. It's so very convenient (just steps away from the "Arrivals" area of Terminal 5). The rooms were clean, exceptionally quiet, and quite luxurious. Access to the train and coach lines are right at hand as well, so we easily hopped on public transportation to take us to Bath the morning after we'd arrived in London. We'd stay at this hotel again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our previous stay in London was at a premium location for a premium price and the place still turned out to be a dump. This time when we found we would have a layover in London, we decided to try something different. As airline staff, we get great discounts at Accor hotels if availability is good and we book enough in advance. We heard about this brand new Sofitel at Heathrow's new Terminal 5 and have always had superb experiences at Sofitels. We got a great rate for our one night layover before a cruise from Harwich port the next day. The 45 minute tube ride to the city center was not terribly convenient but the hotel more than made up for it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful during check-in, concierge and dining. The room was plush as we expect from Sofitel. The bed was soft and fluffy, yet supportive, a welcome respite for our jet-lagged bodies. Every detail was covered in the room from the large flat screen tv, luxurious bathroom, wifi, built-in AV jacks in the wall for easy picture or video viewing to the north-american style plug in the wall for easy camera recharging for Yanks. We sampled the moderately priced restaurant which offered a 2 for 1 deal if you eat dinner before 1900. It was excellent.

The only thing about the hotel that slightly ruffled my feathers was their check-in policy. As many travellers arriving from North America, we arrived in the morning. They had plenty of rooms available but would only check us in early if we were willing to pay almost another night. We opted to store our stuff in a friend's room who got there the night before and check in later. When you are tired from traveling all night, this doesn't come across as very nice.

Overall, we would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend the hotel highly if you don't mind staying in the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We got a great rate on the hotel's site for 90 pounds and stayed over night on our way back to the states. The hotel is literally right outside terminal 5 and was easy to find. The rooms are new and have many conveniences and the bathroom rivaled luxury hotels. Didn't get a chance to check out the spa but the prices were good. There is an M&S right outside for cheap quick dinner. Will stay again on a layover. We paid the same rate for 7 hours in the Yotel. Will definitely pick the Sofitel every time from now on.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Pro: The room and bathroom are nicely appointed. Convenient for T5.
Con: Unless you pay very high rates for the best rooms in the hotel, all other rooms are inward facing within the hotel building which majority of us would be in. It feels very enclosed and lacking of natural sunlight.
It is a very familiar hotel with the same brand of shampoo & shower gel Gilchrist & Somes and same number of towels (2 big towels, only 1 hand towel & 1 very small basin top towel for double/king room) as you would expect if you were to stay at Arora International Heathrow and Arora Manchester. Same owner with his business partners spread across the group. I would expect a 5 star luxury hotel comes with more pampering towels and nice amenity.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We booked this hotel because of an early morning flight from Terminal 5. Stayed in a twin room which had very comfortable beds and you couldn't hear any noise from the aircraft. We can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there - a bit too pricey for us, but went into T5 the night before and got food from M&S and the next day had time to get breakfast from Wetherspoons. (Air side)
On the downside; I think it a bit much to be expected to pay £10 to watch a film on TV!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Heathrow Airport - Bath Road
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heathrow Hotel Bath Road
Heathrow Hotel Bath Road
#2 of 12 in West Drayton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.