We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best by far at LHR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Best by far at LHR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A first rate hotel right in Terminal 5, so you don’t have to take the appalling Hotel Hopper bus to your hotel. Efficient and friendly front desk and overall attractive lay-out.
La Belle Époque restaurant is superb – probably the best airport meal I have ever eaten. Expensive, but worth every penny. However, closing at 10:00 is absurd for an airport hotel restaurant, or any up-scale restaurant, for that matter. The buffet breakfast in Vivre was also very good, although overpriced for anywhere except London.
I have stayed at many airport hotels and this is one of the best (others are Fairmont Vancouver Airport and Movenpick, Munich.)

Room Tip: Some rooms are miles from the elevator. Ask if you want one closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind praise for being the best hotel at London Heathrow,

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience with us, especially your time in La Belle Époque which I am thrilled you enjoyed, I will share your comments during our daily management meeting as the whole team will be proud to know how highly you have praised them. With regards to the closing time, last orders are taken at 10:00pm with the restaurant closing after the last guest leaves. I do hope you had adequate time to enjoy your dinner and apologies if this inconvenienced you.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling - General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,378
    1,490
    369
    118
    79
See reviews for
750
2,233
747
1,377
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is the first hotel review I have actually committed to writing, I have never got round to actually putting fingers to key board as I've obviously never been truly inpsired. Well I am tonight!

My wife and I booked a room here prior to an early flight. The room is fine, not a room I would want to stay in for a prolonged period of time but for one night before a nice holiday I can or should be able to stomach it. Quickly on the room; the iron is absolutely pointless, no option for steam so a challenging attempt to iron a pair of trousers to start off with. A variety of tea bags but only one plain tea bag (everyday tea) between the two of us, plenty of coffee so why so tight on the tea? Otherwise the room will do for a place to shower and 6 hours kip. Should I feel like that about a 5 star?

So we went for a quick drink then a bite to eat! A beer, no problem, a vodka and tonic, problem! The barman pored what could only have been a quadruple vodka and topped it with a bottle of tonic, which he was unable to fit in the tall glass due the amount if vodka in it! Now when I was in my twenties I would probably have been chuffed with a load of extra vodka but the drama of getting an extra tonic and an extra glass and then pouring/mixing our own drink was a 10 minute ordinal I didn't anticipate.

So onto the VIVRE - L EXPERIENCE DES SAVEURSThematic cuisine! Perhaps dramatic would be a better word! It took two members of staff to ignore my wife and I at reception before we were seated. It then took 10 minutes before a waiter took our drinks order. By this time we were ready to order so we did! The order had to wait whilst the waiter got a piece of paper and a green felt tip pen (should have known we were in for treat then)' we then ordered two stakes and a side of fries! Easy, it would appear not!

Next was a selection of stail bread, dry and a distinct stale taste, yummy! After a good 15 minutes drinks arrived to wash down the stail bread. The entertainment of a neighbouring table's complaints over soup that was too salty kept us going. After a second attempt the neighbouring customers gave up and sent the salty soup back!

Steaks turned up, the waiter was polite in his service so we politely reminded him of our side order, which he acknowledged. 5 minutes later our original waiter noticed we hadn't started our meal, and asked if we were ok. We asked for our fries which took another 10 minutes! The waiter got the manager as requested, who was very apologetic and offered us desserts or a drink on the house. After seeing the panic on the waiter's face we got on with the stakes that were now just warm.

The stakes were ok and the fries surprisingly needed no extra salt! As we finished and before we had any time to contemplate desert a third waitress issued us the bill without our plates being cleared or any mention of desserts or coffee! Good job we had had enough of this place!

If I'm honest I've had more successful meals in MacDonalds.

To finalise my moan, I just went to get a bottle of water and discovered only one bottle of still and one bottle sparkling! Is 330ml of still water enough to hydrate two adults? Seriously!

All in all it's not anger that has prompted my first hotel review but shire amusement! Never again will I consider Sofitel as brand worth even thinking about staying at! Joke, all be it an expensive one on me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies as I was concerned to read your comments following your stay with us.

I was disappointed to learn of your experience in our Vivre restaurant, Sphere bar and the amenities in your room. Although it is inexcusable we do have a few new team members in our Sphere bar and Vivre restaurant and I shall be escalating your comments to both departmental managers to ensure that these staff members receive full training and supervision at all times.

As you are aware Trip Advisor is completely anonymous and I would like to look into your reservation and stay further, additionally I would like to ensure that on any future visits you have a more positive experience and witness the usual standard that is associated with the Sofitel. I would be very grateful if at your earliest convenience you could contact our Food and Beverage Manager by email on globy.ouseph@sofitelheathrow who is been to investigate this matter further and he will personally follow up with you for any future stays.

I appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention as customer feedback is critical to us, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and our service and to welcome you back for a more positive experience in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling - General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very comfortable room and bathroom. Food was surprisingly good in the restaurant we ate in. Service excellent. A pleasant surprise, as some airport hotels disappoint. It was fairly expensive, but that was expected. The location if you are flying on British Airways is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your most recent stay with us,

Our location is indeed perfect, being linked to Terminal 5 it is a matter of a few minutes’ walk to the departure halls. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in our restaurant and found the service excellent.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant onwards journey and we look forward in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling - General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed twice at this hotel - once for four nights when we were "stuck" in London during hurricane Sandy in 2012 and for one night in June 2014 on our way to Asia. Both stays were perfect. First of all, the location can't be beat, especially if you are flying British Airways in/out of Terminal 5. The staff at reception is elegant, friendly and helpful. Early late check-in and late check-out were accommodated without problem or charge. The rooms are modern, well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Great beds. The hotel has two restaurants, Vivre and La Belle Epoque. Vivre is the "regular" restaurant where breakfast is served buffet style and where lunch/dinner is good, but nothing special. Service depends on how busy the place is, but they do try to please; a special mention here to Asreena, a very personable and efficient young lady. La Belle Epoque is the "gourmet" restaurant and is very good. They handled a special diet without problem. Checkout was effortless. The hotel is pricey, but, for an airport hotel, this is probably as good as it gets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Such wonderful comments are a pleasure to read, I was delighted to know how highly you have praised our hotel.

I am glad to hear the service you received from our ambassadors, especially from Asreena who will be delighted to know that she made your stay so special.

It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your experience in La Belle Époque and that the team was able to take care of the dietary requirements that were necessary for you.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward in welcoming you back when you are next in the Heathrow area.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling - General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent UK
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night here before an early morning flight. We parked our car in the underground car park (15 nights) and took the lift to reception. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The standard room was a good size with a nice bathroom - bathtub and shower cubicle. There was tea and coffee available. There was free wifi - it was on the drop down list. It wasn't very fast but suitable for checking emails and web browsing. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and all in all it was great. Thank you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community,

I am pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us and you took advantage of our Park and Stay package.

Thank you for your kind praise for our rooms and amenities which I am glad you enjoyed.

I appreciate your loyalty with the Sofitel and we look forward in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling - General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Mr and I stayed at the Sofitel the last night of our London vacation. You cant beat the convenience of staying at the Sofitel when flying out of T5.

The next morning we had breakfast in Vivre where the service was top notch, the food delicious, and the coffee the best I've ever had!

We enjoyed our stay so much, we are hoping to book the Sofitel when we visit NYC next summer. We were forever spoiled by our fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Book the Jr Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Conveniently located for the terminals the hotel was clean, stylish and the staff were courteous, polite and visible. Bar food was excellent. Comfortable bed and most importantly we had a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel following your recent stay with us,

I am delighted to read your comments and that you enjoyed our location being conveniently located for Heathrow Terminals.

It is paramount that our guests have a great night’s sleep and I am pleased that you enjoyed our very own Sofitel My Beds.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for you kind praise for our location and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling - General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.