We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need more light” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Sleep & Fly
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“need more light”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel public spaces are beautiful but your mattresses are too soft and there is not enough light in the bathroom to put on makeup. Also, we could never get turndown services or fresh towels at night without asking for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Adviser,

I was pleased to read that you found our public spaces beautiful, I am sorry that you felt there was insufficient lighting in the bathrooms, I will share your comments with our Executive Head Housekeeper to see if any improvements can be made.

With regard to the mattress, we can provide bed boards should guests require a more firm mattress, this can be requested at time of arrival or during guests stay via housekeeping.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more memorable on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,000
    1,357
    340
    106
    73
See reviews for
687
2,000
677
1,237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Heathrow Sofitel after a recommendation from a friend that this was a must prior to a long haul flight from Heathrow and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was excellent and we couldn't fault it. The ease of access to terminal 5 after checkout was a real bonus. We were also very impressed with the Vivre restaurant and especially Asreena who made us feel very welcome and special. Perfect start to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us,

I was delighted to read that you found us to be an excellent start to your holiday and that you were impressed with the service you received by Asreena in Vivre restaurant.

I hope you are having a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Heathrow. The rooms are great, the service is excellent, breakfast choice is amazing (they even do proper vegetarian options) and the location is superb.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Adviser,

Such wonderful feedback is a pleasure to read, I am pleased that you found our service to be excellent and you enjoyed your breakfast in Vivre.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fantastic hotel,very good restaurants and bars. This hotel is very convenient for terminal 5 and the Piccadilly Line into London. When we checked in you were made to feel very welcome to this hotel. We were upgraded to club which was a great surprise. The rooms were very comfortable. Will stay again when in London. Great value for a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read your comments and that you found us to be a fantastic hotel and to be the best in the Heathrow area.

I am delighted you enjoyed your room upgrade and you found the room to be comfortable.

Thank you for your loyalty with our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stay here regularly, maybe 20-30 nights this year. The hotel staff are great , friendly , helpful and service that matches anywhere else I've stayed. The restaurant food quality is excellent and for a private table the chefs table with a glass screen to the kitchen is an excellent experience. The rooms are very large , bathrooms are excellent and the hotel is very quiet, a great night sleep every time. And remember this is an airport hotel, attached to T5 , excellent for flying out from, but also tube and paddington express straight into London.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you review on Trip Adviser,

I was delighted to read your comments and that you find our service to be friendly and attentive.

Thank you for your kind praise for our restaurants and I am pleased to know you enjoyed the experience of our Chefs table in La Belle Époque.

Thank you for your loyalty with our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We first stayed at the Sofitel a few years ago and enjoyed the visit. This year, we again booked the Sofitel on our last night in London, since we had a 7:30 a.m. flight to the states the next day. This time, the experience was only average. The hotel could do with an update--our room's carpeting was dingy and stained. The room was dark, with inadequate lighting.

Our check-in experience was somewhat unpleasant. We arrived before the stated check-in time, and asked if we could have our reserved (and fully paid-for) room anyway. (The last time we had stayed, they had given us our room early without any fuss.) This time, the person at reception told us that he could let us have our room early if we were willing to pay an additional 20 British pounds. We declined, and asked if we could just stow our luggage until we checked in later. He told us that a room was available, and that we could have it if we just paid the extra money. We declined, and again asked about just stowing our luggage until later. He seemed reluctant to let us do that. I've never stayed in a hotel where they would not permit a guest to leave his or her bags until the room was ready. Finally, he told us we could just have our room, but that we should know that if we ever stayed there in the future, we would need to pay the additional 20 pounds. We stayed in four separate hotels on this trip, and it was the only one that insisted on enforcing the check-in time. Since the room was obviously available, I just don't see the point of alienating a guest for the sake of an arbitrary rule.

The room was nothing special, and did not even include a hair dryer or alarm clock--a very serious exclusion for a hotel catering to guests who might be leaving on an early flight.

We also had some issues with information provided by the concierges. We asked about transportation from the hotel to Terminal 1 (the hotel is at Terminal 5). The first concierge we spoke with only had a train schedule showing Sunday trains (we were leaving on a Saturday). He told us that he thought we could get a train as early as 5:07 a.m. on Saturdays. He didn't seem terribly confident, so we asked another concierge later. She said the trains didn't run at all that early, and that a cab was the only answer. (As it turns out, the 5:07 a.m. information provided by the first guy was accurate.)

This hotel caters to an international crowd of travelers who, conceivably, have other choices in hotels. They should step up their game: update their rooms (and include alarm clocks for those of us who need both a wake-up call and a clock); be more accommodating at check-in (regardless of the hour!); and be very well informed about how guests can get to other parts of Heathrow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us.

First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies as I was concerned to read your experience with us and that you felt your stay with us was average.

I was disappointed to read of your check in experience and the information given to you from our concierge, we do try our best to accommodate guests should they arrive prior to check in time however this is dependent on the availability from the previous night and rooms which have been booked for day use.

Vikramkit Singh our Front of House Manager will be sharing your experience to our front desk team and our Concierge to ensure that there is no future mis communication with regard to transportation to other terminals within Heathrow.

There are hair dryers in all of our rooms which are in the desk draw; we do not have an alarm clock in the rooms however a wakeup call can be arranged via our switchboard or reception.

I appreciate you highlighting the downfalls you experienced and I hope to welcome you back for a more memorable stay with us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent hotel, nice restaurants and bars, very convenient for Heathrow layovers, easy transport to London on the Heathrow express, or the Piccadilly Line. We have stayed there twice and will do it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your comments and that you enjoyed the food and beverage options available at the hotel.

We are indeed very convenient being linked to Terminal 5; guests can walk over to the London Underground in a matter of minutes which the Piccadilly starts from into Central London.

Thank you for your loyalty with our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager

Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.