We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap, but you definitely get your money's worth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but you definitely get your money's worth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had business meetings in the West End, and flight schedules and financial issues dictated that I had to do a quick in-and-out; fly in one evening, do my meetings the next morning, and then double back to Heathrow and fly out that evening. They were very important meetings, and I needed a certain level of comfort to rest and prepare – I simply wasn’t going to spend that night in the usual grunge of cruddy London accommodation. I spent a few hours on the internet looking at reviews and was in a suitable state of despair when a friend (who doesn’t know London) suggested I just stay at the airport hotel. I scoffed at the idea at first, but the more I thought about it the more I realised it made sense, so I took the plunge.

I had a fantastic room, with all the comfort you would expect from an international standard hotel. And the Heathrow Express was utterly smooth – a lot of people don’t appreciate just how this has changed accessing the airport from London. Getting to Heathrow used to take half a day - now it is 15 minutes from Paddington. Thanks to all of this, my meetings went well. Obviously it would be ridiculous to stay at the Sofitel if you were a tourist, simply because getting to and from town is very expensive, but the Heathrow Express makes using this hotel in my kind of situation perfectly doable.

The Sofitel is obviously not cheap, but it is excellent quality. I paid a stiff 180 quid, not including a (very overpriced) breakfast – but you could easily pay nearly that much for something in central London and end up moaning about how bad the hotel is. At least with the Sofitel, I got my money’s worth. One tip to save money is to take a pass on the restaurant, and get your meals at the M&S food store at the entrance to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and your kind recommendation for other Trip Advisor users.

I am pleased that your recent stay at the hotel was such a pleasant first experience and the location of the hotel was so well suited to your needs also that you were able to attend your meetings well rested and prepared and thank you for your kind comments implying that we helped this to come about.

We look forward to your next stay with us hopefully in the not too distant future.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,554
    1,197
    284
    93
    63
See reviews for
585
1708
614
1077
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have now stayed here several times when flying out of Heathrow, not just Terminal 5 where all you have to do is to walk across the covered walkway straight into the terminal but sometimes making use of the limo or cab transfer to other terminals for which there is a charge, rather than take the Underground.

The best thing about this hotel is not only the convenience of being able to park your car in safety in the car park right underneath the hotel while you are away for which there is an additional charge, being able to go down in the lift to your car parked exactly where it was when you left, but also the fact that this is a top class hotel.

When we stayed here recently we had the most delicious dinner in Vivre which is the cheaper of the two restuarants and then a fantastic buffet breakfast also in Vivre. In our case we went for the room option which included breakfast and two weeks parking. We paid for an up-grade to a deluxe room and asked for this to be one with outside windows as many of the rooms overlook the atrium and we prefer the outer ones. The standard of service in Vivre and elsewhere in the hotel is outstanding.

We also use the Sofitel at Gatwick but this one has the edge by quite a long way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and your kind recommendation for other Trip Advisor users.

I am delighted to read that you found the room comfortable and to your liking and you had a pleasant stay with us, also that the location of the hotel was convenient for you and meant you did not have the anxiety of early morning inconvenience of cab transfers and traffic.
I will be sure to pass on your compliments regarding breakfast and your delicious dinner in Vivre to our Food & Beverage Manager who will be thrilled to share them with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow again soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

very good great location for flights in aand out, terminal 5 is a short walk directly from the hotel lovely modern hotel, great service, i have stayed at this hotel three times now and recived grat service every time consistant service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

It was wonderful to receive such positive comments. We do endeavour to provide a service to all our guests with a friendly, personal touch with an attention to detail. I am pleased that you experienced this during your stay with us and also that you found your room comfortable, clean and quiet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow again soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubail, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having missed my flight due to airline problem I was put up I this hotel by British Airlines. This is a beautiful hotel, the staff is very well appointed. Restaurants are lovely, beds and rooms very comfortable, and you would never know you were in T5 Heathrow, sound proof!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

It was wonderful to receive such positive comments. We do endeavour to provide a service to all our guests with a friendly, personal touch with an attention to detail. I am pleased that you experienced this during your stay with us and also that you found your room comfortable, clean and quiet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow again soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great way to unwind and relax before a long return flight home. The environment was sedate and calm. A real respite from the clamor of touring for 3 weeks in Paris and London.
Our room was spacious and clean. The bed-just a little on the soft side...only complaint. Really appreciated the quiet due to the heavy, dual-glazed windows. We could see jets taking off, but never a sound. Great design!
Room service was terrific, too. The staff, very well trained.
Buffet breakfast next morning, included with our rate, was a super surprise. Go ahead, have them custom make an omelette for you! Again, the wait staff were sincere and attentive. What a joy!
We will definitely stay here again and can recommend without hesitation.
Our United flight left from terminal 1 and the Sofitel is located at term. 5--- easy to hop on the free Heathrow Express train to deliver you to the appropriate terminal. Allow about a half hour total if this is your goal as well.
Thanks For the hospitality Sofitel!

Room Tip: We were wing 6 of 2 nd floor ...views included green belt and flags...Quiet guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I am delighted to read that your recent stay with us was relaxing, comfortable and you found your room to be spacious and calming.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the room service and also your custom made omelette and our staff were attentive and sincere in delivering the service you received.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow again soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Auckland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A short 12 hours but enjoyed a large room and comfy bed after a long flight in. The walk to T5 is ten mins which was fantastic.

Check in process a little slow but friendly. Overall solid as far as airport hotels go.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I am pleased you found the location convenient after a late flight and also that your room was comfortable. I am glad to hear that our staff were helpful and able to assist you with your request for a late check out.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow again soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is really convenient if coming in on a late flight arriving at T5. Had a late flight from Munich and stayed here rather than trudge into the city after 11:00 pm. Asked for a late checkout so I could sleep in. No problem. Staff very helpful. Room comfortable. Would definitely stay again for an early morning flight or late night arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, Front Office Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I am pleased you found the location convenient after a late flight and also that your room was comfortable. I am glad to hear that our staff were helpful and able to assist you with your request for a late check out.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow again soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Library Bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. we do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.