We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping let the team down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Housekeeping let the team down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a room with a dirty robe on the floor. Our room was never made up despite us not being in the room from 11:30am and being absolutely sure Do Not disturb was off. Pitty else it would have been ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Trueblue2x07,

Thank you for taking the time to post you review on TripAdvisor.

I was most concerned to hear about your disappointing experience in with our housekeeping team regard to your room. I would like to offer my most sincere apologies to you, that the time you spent with us did not live up to your expectations or our usual very high standards. Please be assured that since your comments I have been working to address these areas to ensure no future guests receive such poor service. I have particularly raised this with our Head housekeeper and l can assure you that this will not happen again.

I hope this will not deter you for choosing to stay with us again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,616
    1,222
    291
    97
    65
See reviews for
609
1745
623
1094
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Did not have high hopes, but, while there is an element of could-be-anywhere'ness about the place, we were really pleasantly surprised by the staff who, from check in desk to restaurant, were all very very welcoming indeed.

The room itself was somewhat standard fare, but all in all, it was a very pleasant stay and if I had an early flight from Terminal Five again, I would definitely book here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Worldtraveller57,

Thank you for the fabulous review!! I am delighted that your expectations were exceeded by our welcoming staff and the service that you received I was also happy to hear that you found our hotel so convenient for Terminal 5 as this is one of the strongest selling point of the Hotel but it is also very easy to connect to other terminals in the airport via a complimentary service form Heathrow Express.

Please do come and stay with us in the near future, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel London Heathrow.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Early flight? Want to walk to the airport? Want to be assured of a clean bed? Then you can do no wrong staying here. However, if you think this is like a Sofitel hotel you would find in the heart of a modern city or in a luxury resort think again. Small functional clean rooms, located in rows and rows of corridors. If you’ve stayed in airport hotels before then this is no different but it has a spa (£25 per room access) and gym which is well equipped. There are a few places to eat and drink which are expensive but not unreasonable. The Vivre restaurant seems the most popular, the food was just about OK, we sent a desert back with no quibble from the management. Drank in the champagne bar and received very good service. Must say we heard absolutely no noise from the airport at all during the whole stay. Woke up at 5am checked out with the express card they leave in the room and walked to departures via a lift in 5 minutes. Very convenient yes but would we go back? Probably not.

Room Tip: Get the cheapest room and just accept it is a business hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear WozThere,

It is always wonderful for us to hear that our guests had a great stay. Thank you very much for your positive feed back. I am sorry about the dessert that you had to send back to the kitchen. Please do not let this deter you from visiting us again. I am glad that you received great service overall.


Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here one night before flying early out of London and found it to be very posh and comfortable. Lots of nice subtle touches, and it's connected to Heathrow Terminal 5 for convenience. I definitely wouldn't stay here for sightseeing in London since it's almost an hour commute to the city from Heathrow.

Comfy beds! Great showers! We were able to get connecting rooms for our family, plus got a free room upgrade.

The only thing we didn't like: there was no natural daylight, as the windows in our rooms looked out onto an interior atrium.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear CZProvidence,

Thank you for giving us such wonderful positive feedback following your stay here at Sofitel London Heathrow. We were so delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your room upgrade. I am sorry that the room you were allocated this time did not have natural light coming through we do have rooms that have the outside facing windows – do feel free to contact us directly prior to your next stay via our Guest Relations Team on their dedicated e-mail address of H6214-AM@sofitel.com and we will do our utmost to ensure you have a room that looks out on the exterior for you to be able to have some natural light coming through.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We are flying out to Canada today - me, wife and two teenage sons - so we flew down from our home in Glasgow last night to Heathrow as we usually have to do when traveling long distance. This is our fifth stay here, so deceived we needed to do a review. This is a very high standard business airport hotel situated a short walk from T5 at Heathrow. Rooms are sufficiently spacious and of a very high internal standard. Service levels are first rate - but note, no turn-down service. Reasonably priced at the weekend as well, though prices do step up steeply during the week. We ate in Vivre tray rant last night which is open kitchen style with a reasonably eclectic menu. All food is cooked fresh and all four of us ate well, with the boys trying some unusual pizzas e.g. hoisin duck(!), and my wife and I trying a delicious and wee presented chucked jalfrezi. Only disappointment on the ear was the till shock at the bill, as I didn't think we'd consumed £170 of value. Nice bar areas to chill out in, but no need for Sky Sports surely. No doubt we'll be back when heading over to Italy for our summer sojourn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Gary H,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us and are delighted to know that we gave you and your family the best start of your holiday because of the level of service you received during your stay with us. I would like to personally thank you for your repeated custom it is always a pleasure to have you stay here at Sofitel no matter what the occasion is. We are also so glad that you enjoyed the food and our open style kitchen.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Italy.
Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sofitel terminal 5 Heathrow provides quality and comfort, backed up by professional and courteous staff. Access to terminal 5 is quick and easy via a walkway leaving this part of the journey stress free. I have travelled to the hotel by car and by underground from London, both methods are easy, just keep your eyes peeled when accessing the underground car park otherwise you may drive past the entrance if you have not been there before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to Sofitel London Heathrow and that you were particularly pleased with our courteous staff and the service provided. I am glad that you had no problems finding the hotel. Your review is always appreciated by us.

We look forward to your next visit here at Sofitel London Heathrow.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great hotel for the weary traveller, terriffic staff! Great welcome at reception, effortless check in and out. Room standard is excellent, room temperature correct for a good night's sleep and it is very well sound proofed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear McCombie,

What a great review - thank you for taking your time to give us a feed back following your recent stay here at Sofitel Heathrow.
We appreciate all your positive comments and I am also pleased to know that the team were very attentive and we surpassed expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Sofitel London Heathrow

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Library Bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. we do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.