We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, far too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, far too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The location right at Terminal 5 in Heathrow airport is perfect. You safe the hazzle and fees for getting a taxi.
The hotel is new, clean and stylish.
Unfortunately many rooms have their windows to lobbys INSIDE the hotel. Obviously you can' t open the windows, so aircon only...
The price in my opinion is too high for the value on gets!
Really the only plus is the hotels location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Joika,
Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay here at Sofitel London Heathrow. I am happy that you found the Hotel convenient and clean.
With regard to the room allocated to you with an inside view- we do have a few rooms that have outside views- I am sorry that you were not able to experience such a room on your previous stay, in future if that is your requirement, please contact us in advance via our Guest Relations Department on H6214-AM@sofitel.com and if we have an outside view room available we will do our utmost to ensure that you are allocated one.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back here at Softel London Heathrow.

Yours Sincerely

Anna Dowling - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,554
    1,197
    284
    93
    63
See reviews for
585
1708
614
1077
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location and brilliant parking when flying British Airways, and it has its own walkway straight into Terminal 5, when you can get to it. When leaving the M25 you can see the hotel, but the signs are no small you have gone the wrong way and have to go round once again.
Once outside the front door, the porter service is brilliant, the reception staff are very pleasant and helpful (this was our 2nd visit here) and the luggage came within minutes.

The rooms are pleasant enough, the bathroom was one of the best at heathrow and had great toiletries, beats the Hilton at Terminal 4 bathroom by miles.

We headed down to the bar for a well deserved glass or two of Australian Chardonnay after a 2 hour drive down the motorway. The service at the bar is extremely slow, and no Australian Chardonnay, i think we had in desparation Charndonnay from Chile - not quite the same.

We have changed we headed for dinner anticipating an upmarket french restaurant - oh we were wrong. On our last visit in 2009 we had a great dinner in a very french intimate dining room with great service and the food was amazing. This time all had changed not for the better, the restaurant was twice the size, totally impersonal. There were some large tables in the restaurant , there was a conference at the hotel, which later filled up with delegates.

The meal which we were so looking forward to at the start of our 5 day break was very ordinary, i had to send my main course which was fish back, not a great impression of french cooking.
The overnight stay did not get any better, the bed was as hard as rock, so were the pillows and the room was far too hot. Unfortunately you then wake totally exhausted, not a brilliant start to your holiday

Room Tip: no tips, they are all very much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Rafiella 11,
I would like to thank you for taking time to write your recent review regarding your stay here at Sofitel.
I was sorry to learn that what has always been a pleasant visit form the past did not turn out to be this time around. Whilst you had a great welcome form our team at the Front Desk it seems the night you visited the bar, the service was not matching up to your standards because of slow service and not getting the Australian Chardonnay which you ordered. I will follow this up with the Bar manager to rectify why you could not get the wine of your choice. I understand the meal was not what you expected. I am truly sorry about this and l would like to assure you that this will be followed up with the Executive Chef to review the current menus.
With regard to your bed, I am sorry that you found the bed too hard and pillows too hard for you – this is definitely something that can be resolved with our Housekeeping team- may l suggest that in future if you would like to request a softer bed please do ask at the Reservations when making you booking and we will our utmost to ensure that you have the bed that is more suited for you comfort. We also have a selection of pillows with different textures to suit different needs; please feel free to ask for this as well on you next visit. Our Maintenance team will be looking at our heating system and air conditioning to ensure rooms do not get too hot again in future.
We would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

excellent value with one week valet parking included.
Will definately return if staying at heathrow. Concierge staff very helpful in returning car and helping with
luggage. Very convenient as connected to terminal 5

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear DJSeattle,


Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. It gives us great pleasure to read such reviews, we look forward to you next visit and hope to exceed your expectations even more next time.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dolwing - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent hotel for travel connections through terminal 5. Clean, comfortable rooms, no fuss check in and check out.Good room service, and restaurants. Very courteous and helpful staff. Will stay again, and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Yellow Rose 789,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay here at Sofitel London Heathrow. We are pleased that you had a great stay. Thank you again for recommending us to some of the other reviewers and for considering and considering staying with us the next time you have a reason to travel via Heathrow Terminal 5.
We look forward to your next stay here at Sofitel London Heathrow.

Yours Sincerely

Anna Dowling – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you have to spend 1 night at Heathrow airport this is the hotel to stay! It has its own entrance from terminal 5 so you don't need to get a taxi to any other hotel. The staff is really helpful. Sofitel selects a "guest if the day" every day and we won it that day! We were upgraded and we even were able to used their executive room (nibbles and drinks free!).
About the noise: silence! You don't hear anything from the outside?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Justo R,

What a great review – thank you for taking time to give us such a positive feed back following your recent stay here at Sofitel Heathrow. I am pleased you enjoyed your room upgrade and the facilities provided. Congratulations for winning the guest of the day!
I would like to thank you again for your great review, myself and the team here at Sofitel London Heathrow are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The service in the bar/tea area was absolutely terrible. I have no idea where the waitress went to get the drinks but it took forever. Then she failed to clear our tea cups before serving the drinks. her product knowledge was poor. she thought brandy was whiskey. When you're paying over the top for drinks you expect excellent customer service. Would not go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Anne H,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I was very concerned to hear about you disappointing experience in our bar. I would like offer my most sincere apologies to you and that the time you spent with us did not live up to your expectations or our usual very high standards. Please be assured that this will be passed on to the Bar Manager to personally address these areas to ensure that the team receive sufficient training before they can interact with guests to avoid such poor service in the future.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here at Sofitel London Heathrow.

Yours Sincerely

Anna Dowling- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I found the hotel, both staff and amenities to be excellent.

It is clean, modern, classy and is in an excellent location for all terminals but especially Terminal 5.

I was disappointed that the site shows Spa facilities (Which is always one of my main reasons for booking a hotel) only to find that unless I was spending above £x on treatments, I would have to pay £25 to use the spa. Whilst if I was using the facilities for perhaps half a day, this would be reasonable, for a quick one hour visit available when staying for the purpose of catching an early morning flight, I found it excessive.

Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: This being my first stay I cannot compare, but would guess that as there are unlikely to be any view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Audicreamery9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your visit here at Sofitel London Heathrow. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us.
I am sorry that you thought the Spa facilities were too expensive, we are a 600 bedroom hotel and the demands for the spa facilities can be very high and the indoor pool access is quite a small facility hence why we do have to limit it to guests who do book a treatment with one of our therapists.

Yours Sincerely
Anna Dowling - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Library Bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. we do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.