We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Sleep & Fly
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
edinburgh
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very comfortable airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. It is quite a walk from T5 but the only walkable hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and I wasn't too aware of noise from the corridor. If you book in advance you can often get a reasonable deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,991
    1,349
    335
    105
    72
See reviews for
683
1,991
673
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here on 12 December before an early morning checkin for Dubai. The welcome at reception made me feel like a long lost friend and all the staff I communicated with we're friendly and knowledgable. The room was sumptuous luxury and I had a wonderful sleep. I will stay here in the future and treat it as a destination hotel rather than the convenience of being located at Terminal 5. I stay about 35 nights a year in 5 star hotels around the world and this has to be one of the best!. Thankyou.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have reviewed this hotel before, and since my last review have had the opportunity to stay here a few more times. The hotel is very convenient'. Everything is efficient and the staff are polite, courteous and above all , appear happy.

The food in the le vivre restaurant(?) is always good. Cooked to order and fresh. Great choice at breakfast.

This is my natural choice when flying from any of the Heathrow terminals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed overnight before flying to Australia, have used Sofitel before but not this one, staff excellent, room service and food of a high standard, as a mature lady travelling alone I found everyone very helpful and kind. Very clean and comfortable rooms and not highly priced, also hotel was very quiet, would highly recommend. Thank you Sofitel for a stress free stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We don't like our flight connections to be too tight and so we decided to enjoy the luxury of an early afternoon flight from Edinburgh before connecting the next day onwards to Miami. Given the number of cases we also decided to try the new Sofitel at Terminal 5 even though it cost about double that of one of the budget hotels near the airport. It was worth it. If, like us, you arrive and depart from Heathrow then it is really easy and you are never outside - very consoling if the weather is foul. Access is via lifts and wide corridors. It takes around 10 minutes and you can take the airport luggage trollies right to reception where the hotel porters take over and the bags appear in your room. On leaving they collect he bags and put them on airport trollies again for you to take back to the terminal building and your departure.

We were upgraded to a luxury room which is always a good start and the room was excellent. A good size with all the usual features including flat screen tv, bathrobes and slippers, complimentary bottled water and an otherwise empty fridge. The bed was very comfortable, a really good feeling, and the bedside lamps and reading spots made sitting up in bed a very pleasant experience. There was ample space for our cases and easy-to-set controls for air con and room lights. The bathroom was similarly very good with bath and separate drench shower cubicle. For those who shave in the old-fashioned way the illuminated shaving mirror was a boon. The only small gripe would be that when reclining in the bath the it is difficult to watches the tv em bedded in the mirror as it is placed at around head height - this did not spoil our stay! There is no noise intrusion from the airport, it is fabulously quiet.

We ate in Vivre and found the food good, cooked in the open-to-view kitchen. A major plus was the willingness of staff to adjust the dishes offered to cater for special requirements, in this case my wife's vegetarianism. While perhaps a bit on the expensive side for what it is (the hotel's La Belle Époque offers more refined dining) in decor/ambience the menu appealed more than the Carluccio's which is close by in the terminal itself. There is a good wine list with some very decent wines at the cheaper (£25) end, like the Carignan.

Staff, as so often, made the stay. From Kerry at check-in to Filip with our bags, and in the restaurant, they were unfailingly polite, efficient and helpful.

Highly recommended and we believe it has an award as best airport hotel in Europe.

Room Tip: Shop around online for deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here before a morning flight from terminal 4. Discounted rate with our AVIOS points and breakfast was included in the price. I would not pay the full rate to stay in an airport Hotel. Rooms were very comfortable. Corridors and walk ways a bit bland and confusing. To get to terminal 4 you have to walk along the covered walk way to terminal 5 and then wait for a bus, or take the train as this hotel is not served by the Hoppa bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here 2 nights ago on our way to Istanbul. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out I was impressed. The rooms are very modern, clean, and beyond quiet. I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel this quiet. The staff were very attentive, and everything was what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I rarely stay in an airport hotel, however on the few occasions that I have done so have regretted it. My sister stayed here last year and told me to give it a try and I am thrilled that I did. We flew in to LHR from SFO (terminal 1), getting to terminal 5 was incredibly easy. The next morning we flew out of terminal 3 and it was a quick train ride. Will definitely stay here again. Kudos to management and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.