We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well positioned airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well positioned airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The underground car park is easy and accessible. The hotel seems well-run with comfortable restaurants and bars. We had a pleasant dinner in La Belle Epoque which came to over £200 with wine and liquors - not cheap but half the price if you were to drink water only. The "Luxury Room, King-size bed, Club Millésime Lounge access" was fine, but the "FREE unlimited Internet access" was not apparent when connected via the Ethernet cable and there were no instructions as to how to access it. A call down to reception instructed me to open the web browser and use the “Free” button; the resulting speeds were worse than useless and it was only on complaining at checkout that I found that I should have connected via a pay option, scrolled down past the credit card details section and charged it to my room for a refund. Thus I wasted a couple of hours trying to access web pages to no effect. Note that the “free” wifi and internet access is only good for light emailing and the paid access is absurdly priced. This is unworthy of such a hotel in my opinion.
The Spa seemed pleasant. The Club Millésime Lounge provided cereals and pastries for breakfast. La Belle Epoque provides more but we thought we would at least try the Lounge. It is all very beige and apart from the halogen lights looks like something from the American dramatic television series "Mad Men" (which is set in 1960’s New York City). We had a good meal in Vivre, where you can get burgers, pizzas etc. We had a two course set menu for around £25 each. We had a couple of mediocre cappuccinos in the bar for £9 including service (12.5% is added on).
In summary, this is a good, comfortable hotel with reasonable facilities in an excellent location at London Heathrow Terminal 5. It is pricey to eat, drink and access the internet at broadband speeds however.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,076 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,481
    1,169
    274
    92
    60
See reviews for
564
1650
609
1059
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I was stranded by fog at Heathrow and was put up by BA at the Sofitel. My misfortune turned out to be a lovely stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds wonderfully comfortable with good quality linen. The reception staff were excellent and altogether it is a wonderful airport hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed for one night before taking an early flight out of Terminal 4. The hotel has everything that is needed, luxurious rooms and bathrooms, first class sound proofing and a great breakfast buffet.

Being inside Terminal 5 it's really easy to access the other terminals for your flight.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Typically I'd stay at an airport hotel the night before flying out, but recently I spent a week at the Sofitel at Heathrow (it was for work). The hotel is quiet and comfortable and can be a less expensive alternative to staying in central London - especially when the LHR express is GBP18 each way - so you can save some cash and be at Paddington station in about 20 minutes. There isn't much of a view from the room (it's an airport so quite industrial), but the rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained. The VIVRE restaurant service was a bit slow, but the service at LA BELLE ÉPOQUE was great. The food at both eateries is fresh and tasty. Afternoon tea in TEA 5 makes for a nice relaxing treat (and a good quiet spot for meetings).

Room Tip: Suites are well sized and worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here before an early flight, had a standard room which was large and lovely, spa was great, restaurant and staff also great.

Room Tip: We had a standard room with queen bed, and was very roomy and more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's an airport hotel, so it won't set the world alight but its smart, clean with comfortable rooms, good food and a great gym and spa treatments. I've stayed a couple of times and its very convenient to T5, and an easy connection to T1,T2, T3 and T4 by Heathrow Express. I used to always stay at the Hilton T4, but more recently switched to this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arrived by car, our bags were taken to our room and the car was parked and the guy didn't even want a tip. On our return we didn't know which level the car was on so it was delivered to the front of the hotel for us. Superb service.

The rooms are perfect in every way, with the wonderful Sofitel beds. There is nothing to criticise at all in this hotel; my wife even found a little floor level light which helped her find the bathroom in the middle of the night – what an exquisite touch. It's the perfect way to start a holiday. A fabulous nights sleep, and then a short stroll to Terminal 5. Absolutely perfect. All of the staff are so incredibly helpful, but it seems a worldwide Sofitel trait. Can't wait to fly with BA again and get the chance to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Library Bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. we do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.