We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Handy situated Hotel;” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Lagos.Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a Handy situated Hotel;”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here one night before trans atlantic flight to Washington,Great room,friendly front desk staff.Also the 1st class helpful porters etc who were exceptional in making sure of getting us to airline checkin next morning.
The only not so good was the long,wait for our food after placing the order with the waiter in the restaurant.Quite pricey for middle of the road cooking and service.

I would recommend this Hotel for it's fabulous location..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,096 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,492
    1,174
    276
    92
    62
See reviews for
567
1661
610
1061
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HADDENHAM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Booked a 1 night stay Romantic package includes breakfast and Champagne in a suite as we were seeing Lee Evans at Wembley in the evening.
From the moment we arrived to departure everything was faultless.
Room Breakfast Drink Car Parking and Spa Treatment was great.

Room Tip: Look under special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Fabulous hotel, up there with the best airport hotel I have stayed in. Brilliant location for terminal 5 and access to other terminals.
If you are working on a budget give it a miss because the drinks and other extra are expensive, overall however it is a must return hotel for me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is arguably the best airport hotel I've known in recent years. Easily accessible from Terminal 5 it has spacious immaculate rooms with all the amenities (too bad internet is not free!) and timely room service. Breakfast buffet which is not included even has an adequate sampling of the traditional English breakfast with grilled mushroom and tomato A haven for connecting passengers at Heathrow

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Brilliant Sofitel standard as usual. Have a curry in the restaurant......really good!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I usually transit in London for a break between Hong Kong and New York and I always stay at the Sofitel. Their day room rate is fantastic and perfect for getting in a shower and a solid sleep before the next flight. They are on the hotel bus circuit, don't bother with a taxi to get here the hotel bus is a little hidden but ask around and save yourself the money. Every time I stayed here the staff s excellent. The breakfast is standard but served with a smile and in a great atmosphere - so don't be expecting any interesting or gourmet breakfast offerings.

Just a quick ride from Heathrow this is the place to stay. call the hotel directly for day rates and reservations. The day rate has always been under $100 bucks and with my flights I usually get a good 8 hours of use!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We travel very extensively so its fair to say that if things go wrong at the start of a stay it is very difficult to turn it around - and that is probably what happened here, bearing in mind the other very positive reviews. But it is also true to say that a great hotel can turn it around. So - as yet this isn't a great hotel.

The bad start was a poor receptionist who booked us in, and despite a 2 night stay, when one of us was going to spend the whole day in the hotel, we were told that we would have a room with a low bed - and we didn't understand despite asking for clarification. When we arrived in the room it was a room fitted out for those using a wheel chair which wasn't what we wanted and didn't allow us to hang up our clothes. Initially when we complained another receptionist simply said that she understood that we weren't happy but that the hotel was full but eventually after specifically asking - the supervisor sorted this very efficiently and we changed rooms. Plus point to supervisor - no points to reception staff.

So the positive feedback . The Vivre restaurant food and staff was very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is indeed the only place to stay for Terminal 5 - but that is its location. I am sure we just had a bad experience but

The negative feedback is that this Sofitel feels like a place for expense account business travellers - quite unlike the Sofitel in Gatwick. It is pretty outrageous to charge for WiFi. I sit here writing this in a far more luxurious 5-6 star hotel that doesn't charge. Doesn't even have a password access. And to charge £8 per person for the delivery of room service breakfast also feels like a rip off. The Club Millesime upgrade is not worth it - nothing available in a gloomy space until 5 30pm and £25 to use the jacuzzi in the Spa - also not worth it unless you charge it to a company

Would I stay here again - possibly but only because of its convenience. It has the makings of a very good hotel indeed but despite its awards it isn't there yet

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review following your stay.

You are indeed correct, it is hard to turn round a poor start and although the supervisor did reallocate you room efficiently the receptionist should have done this without the supervisor’s intervention. I do apologise. Also I hope to answer some of your other comments on your stay.

In relation to the charges that you mention, we are presently reconfiguring the WiFi to have free access to all guests, this will be completed in October.

The Hydro suite is free of charge when having a Spa treatment. It is a place of relaxation rather than recreation, therefore opening it to non Spa users would change this for the negative.

The Club lounge offers, Breakfast, snacks all day and Afternoon Tea before cocktails and canapés from 17:30, I am sorry of this was not communicated to you during your visit.

I would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back. Can I ask that when you next book that you contact me at vincent.madden@sofitel.com so I will have your room allocated in advance and ensure you enjoy your stay.


Yours sincerely


Vincent Madden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Library Bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. we do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.