We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Heathrow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Heathrow to your Saves list
Sofitel London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Sleep & Fly
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Top airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Brilliant Sofitel standard as usual. Have a curry in the restaurant......really good!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,005
    1,358
    340
    106
    73
See reviews for
689
2,003
678
1,237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I usually transit in London for a break between Hong Kong and New York and I always stay at the Sofitel. Their day room rate is fantastic and perfect for getting in a shower and a solid sleep before the next flight. They are on the hotel bus circuit, don't bother with a taxi to get here the hotel bus is a little hidden but ask around and save yourself the money. Every time I stayed here the staff s excellent. The breakfast is standard but served with a smile and in a great atmosphere - so don't be expecting any interesting or gourmet breakfast offerings.

Just a quick ride from Heathrow this is the place to stay. call the hotel directly for day rates and reservations. The day rate has always been under $100 bucks and with my flights I usually get a good 8 hours of use!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We travel very extensively so its fair to say that if things go wrong at the start of a stay it is very difficult to turn it around - and that is probably what happened here, bearing in mind the other very positive reviews. But it is also true to say that a great hotel can turn it around. So - as yet this isn't a great hotel.

The bad start was a poor receptionist who booked us in, and despite a 2 night stay, when one of us was going to spend the whole day in the hotel, we were told that we would have a room with a low bed - and we didn't understand despite asking for clarification. When we arrived in the room it was a room fitted out for those using a wheel chair which wasn't what we wanted and didn't allow us to hang up our clothes. Initially when we complained another receptionist simply said that she understood that we weren't happy but that the hotel was full but eventually after specifically asking - the supervisor sorted this very efficiently and we changed rooms. Plus point to supervisor - no points to reception staff.

So the positive feedback . The Vivre restaurant food and staff was very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is indeed the only place to stay for Terminal 5 - but that is its location. I am sure we just had a bad experience but

The negative feedback is that this Sofitel feels like a place for expense account business travellers - quite unlike the Sofitel in Gatwick. It is pretty outrageous to charge for WiFi. I sit here writing this in a far more luxurious 5-6 star hotel that doesn't charge. Doesn't even have a password access. And to charge £8 per person for the delivery of room service breakfast also feels like a rip off. The Club Millesime upgrade is not worth it - nothing available in a gloomy space until 5 30pm and £25 to use the jacuzzi in the Spa - also not worth it unless you charge it to a company

Would I stay here again - possibly but only because of its convenience. It has the makings of a very good hotel indeed but despite its awards it isn't there yet

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review following your stay.

You are indeed correct, it is hard to turn round a poor start and although the supervisor did reallocate you room efficiently the receptionist should have done this without the supervisor’s intervention. I do apologise. Also I hope to answer some of your other comments on your stay.

In relation to the charges that you mention, we are presently reconfiguring the WiFi to have free access to all guests, this will be completed in October.

The Hydro suite is free of charge when having a Spa treatment. It is a place of relaxation rather than recreation, therefore opening it to non Spa users would change this for the negative.

The Club lounge offers, Breakfast, snacks all day and Afternoon Tea before cocktails and canapés from 17:30, I am sorry of this was not communicated to you during your visit.

I would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back. Can I ask that when you next book that you contact me at vincent.madden@sofitel.com so I will have your room allocated in advance and ensure you enjoy your stay.


Yours sincerely


Vincent Madden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is what you are looking for if you want to stay overnight before an early morning flight from Heathrow. It is clean, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms well appointed. There is a good selection of restaurants. I had room service which was not too extortionate and prompt and polite in delivery.
Only 2 quibbles - no bathrobes and no mini bar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

It is supposedly 5 star; lacked stationary, pen, cotton buds, a full mini bar, a STEAM iron. All items I actually needed funnily enough! Besides that, amazing location with walkway from Terminal 5 @ Heathrow. Great for an overnighter, if you are leaving early in the morning or just want to splurge a little before your holiday.

The hotel was scented throughout which felt really serene and calm. Bit of a walk to the hotel wings, specially when only one section of elevators was in operation.

The food at Vivre was really good! Had a buffalo mozzarella salad as appetizer and a chicken Jalfrezi as a main course, with fragrant rice, papadums and mango chutney, tasted really good. Service was fast, efficient and friendly. Breakfast was a bit so so, specially the hot items. The fruit selection, yoghurt's and breads were really good. Checkout was effortless and getting a taxi was very easy.

Room Tip: The hotels was packed, so not really able to pick and choose. Try ask for a hotel with outside windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

I have just stayed here for two nights, I had stayed here before and pleased that it was just as great as before. Check in was quick and efficient- we arrived at the same time as a coach load of people and thought we would have to wait, but we were taken to one side and checked in immediately which was great. The rooms were a good size and the bathroom had a separate shower and bath which was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My family stayed here for one night while using frequent flyer miles. We were initially frustrated that we couldn't continue on to our final destination without a layover (no award availability), but it turned into a blessing. We arrived at Heathrow at 10:30 am and immediately went to the hotel. After a long flight from the USA, it was a relief to simply walk right to the hotel. To our surprise, the room was ready and they quickly checked us in and gave us our keys. We booked a junior suite since we were a party of three (two adults, one teenager). The room was located at the end of a hallway with exterior views. It was extremely quiet -- never heard cars or planes. The junior suite has a king bed and sofa bed. My husband and I loved our very comfy bed and my son said his bed was "great." The bathroom was large with a separate tub and shower. We freshened up, then took a taxi over to Windsor where we had lunch before touring the castle. After returning to the hotel, we checked out the grocery store in the airport terminal to see if anything struck our fancy. Nothing wowed us, so we decided to dine at Vivre in the hotel. I can't believe I'm saying this, but it was one of the best meals of our trip. It far exceeded our expectations. Not only was the food wonderful, but the service was top notch. Our stay at the Sofitel London Heathrow was truly fabulous. What started out as an unwelcome layover turned into one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express/ Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathroom include separate walk in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel Food and Beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne bar and the Tea 5 salon. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour Gym as well as a hydro suite with Vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.