We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Twickenham, not good for anything else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Continental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Continental Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 - 31 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location for Twickenham, not good for anything else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This may have been a lovely hotel ten years ago, but now everything is falling off the wall or generally broken. Heating was broken, bedside lamp was broken, towel radiator and tv were both hanging precariously off the wall. Lift was shabby too, the third floor button didn't work.

We rang to reception about the heating issue twice and finally got a little halogen heater which looked like it had been kicked around a bit. We were not asked how our stay was in the morning, so didn't bother to comment.

The only good thing I can say is that it is very close to the tube station and within walking or short taxi ride to the rugby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishan K, Front Office Manager at The Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We are really sorry to hear we were not able to meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience.

We have noted your valuable comments and will make sure that this will be looked into for your future bookings. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so please be kind enough to contact the hotel Front of House Manager.

We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Kind Regards,
Ishan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    119
    73
    39
    88
See reviews for
46
134
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time this week,and as a regular visitor to Heathrow,found the hotel very good value for money.
It's a ten minute drive to the airport,and the staff,rooms and breakfast,were all very good.
Have just booked a 2nd stay,for the end of the week.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishan K, Front Office Manager at The Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read your feedback after your recent stay at The Continental Hotel Hounslow.
Thank you. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback regarding our service & cleanliness's. We all are looking forward to welcome you back and it will be a Pleasure to say Hello on Arrival, there for please ask for me on arrival. (Ishan)


Kind Regards,
Ishan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in the hotel , good room , and very surprised of the restaurant since very good food
Prepared. The reception staff where great and help me with everything.
Reccomend this hotel who wants to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishan K, Front Office Manager at The Continental Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

so great to hear that you found our hotel great to stay because of its central location, cleanliness friendly staff and our attention to detail. Always try to go that extra mile and looks like it has been all worth it.

Looking forward to welcoming you back when perhaps you can take advantage of our great Advance booking Package especially tailored to our hotel. The sooner you book, the better deal you will get. You can contact me direct on gsm@thecontinental-hotel.com

Thank you once again for your time in writing a review, looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely

Ishan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for 4 years when returning home from holidays in the UK.

Its a great location for Heathrow (3 stops by Tube) and back into Central London for the evening or day trip.

I am always welcomed by from the Manager to the reception staff or are professional and attentive to any needs or questions you may have.

I would highly recommend this hotel for stop overs or longer breaks annd look forward to my continued trips there during the year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishan K, Front Office Manager at The Continental Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
I couldn't be more proud of the team at The Continental Hotel. A huge THANK YOU for giving us recognition
Delighted that you are a returning guest, and hope to see you soon

Sincerely

Ishan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed there Feb 9th for Rugby - WHAT A DISASTER!!! The Hotel has the most appalling signs going - unless you want to go to the Gym - plenty of signs for that!! No signs saying car park - & when you stop to phone them to ask where they are - watch out for CCTV cameras - stay still for 5 mins and you get a £55 fine 3 days later!! GM WAYNE DAVIES - well the response to email was bascially saying cant read a map - GREAT CUSTOMER SKILLS - NOT! Nightmare trying to order room service - says 24/7 - ends at 11 - and breakfast - what a joke - came up after an hour, stone cold - had to go down to eat - and they charge you extra for the privilege. Got offer to upgrade!!! NO WAY!!! Why would you go through that twice!!! And they say no one ever complains!!! Perhaps they dont have access to a PC!! If they did would need internet - which doesnt work as advertised in room.... Got to one of other hotels close by - you can see them clearly!!!

Room Tip: All are in need of a clean - grouting was rough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys - UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night as we had early flight, only paid £50 last minute for the night.
Room - ok value for that price, room was cleanish, the bathroom was clean but no bath only a shower but all more than acceptable for the price, my wife also used the swimming pool.
Breakfast - was also included but as our flight was so early we did not have any.
Staff - were polite and helpful.
Parking - not many spaces so be prepared for a long wait for one and charges £15 for a night!
Not a hotel I would want to stay long in but overall it served its purpose after a long drive we got a good sleep before an early flight and no real complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi i stayed there in february on rugby game. Great conetction to airport and rugby stadium. Staff very helpful specially restaurant (Navi) and night reception (Bart) thank you. Room clean nice standard. Could be just a little bit warmer. Great Gym and spa. Food outstanding. See you soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 29 - 31 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Continental Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.