We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Continental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Continental Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 - 31 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Hounslow
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here our first night in London because of it's close proximity to the airport and short walk from a tube station. We were very happy with our nice, clean, and relatively spacious room. If you're looking for a quick, cheap night near the airport, this isn't a bad choice. However, we did notice an unpleasent (musky) odur in the hallway and stairwell, I'm assuming a result of fitness centre and pool immediately adjacent. All in all, a decent stay for a reasonable price, but we looked at (and chose) another option in the same area for our last night of the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    113
    70
    36
    80
See reviews for
45
125
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I agree with the lady below, I cannot understand why this hotel has been given poor reviews, I stayed for two nights this week. I found my stay very pleasant indeed, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. I stayed on the second floor in a double room, all amenities were how you would expect from a 4 star hotel and the decor was very pleasing on the eye. As i travel on business a lot I always look for four points, Bed, bathroom, WiFi and TV. All were excellent in particular the WiFi and it was free of charge !!.

I look forward to returning the Continental again soon. Many thanks for the service and attention I recieved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay on Wye
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I likewise cannot understand the bad reviews this hotel is getting. We booked in on Friday night for the weekend. Friendly staff, clean room, wifi was brilliant - and free - in rooms and public area. Shower was brilliant...good blast, rather than a trickle. Bathroom was decent size. Breakfast was ok. Soundproofing in the hotel was excellent - it is not too far from Heathrow Airport and on a busy main road, but could not hear any aircraft or car noise. Will certainly stay here again when I visit London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criccieth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Do not understand why this hotel is getting bad reviews. Very 4*, our room was superb, we had only booked superior but were upgraded to executive room. Room very clean and staff extremely helpful, wifi worked at once.
Breakfast and dinner very high standard. Also beautician was very good and inexpensive. Swimming pool in working condition.
Having stayed at many 5* hotels and this one is certainly 4*.

Room Tip: We had 208 which was a great room and no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk Park, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Where to start <reception staff good (i felt sorry for them),room -disaster ,no wifi ,no cups or bottle of water ,gym ok ,restaurant staff amazing (Ana,Natalia,) it was really good service and the food fabulous .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Where to start.....
1. Beware of the £15 overnight parking charge........
2. Although paid for in advance, hotel insisted on taking £50 security depost
3. Room was dirty......sweet papaers on the floor
4. There is NO WIFI in the rooms....only reception

Felt dreadfully misled. I will be avoiding in future.
No wonder they didn't ask if I had a good stay when checking out !!

Room Tip: Select a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Okay, first. The staff was extremely friendly and polite and professional. They had to be to apologize for all the problems in that hotel. Now, that was the best thing to be said. The rooms were clean. My room looked directly into an office building, so I had to keep the curtains drawn the entire time in the room. The hotel carpet was filthy...throughout the hotel. The fixtures in my bathroom basin were rusted. Moreover, there was a light over the shelf above the toilet where the hand towels and extra toilet paper were stored...not over the basin, where I need to see to shave...made absolutely no sense.

There was no wifi in the room...but in the lobby which doubles as the lounge (not a great working environment).I had to change rooms because the ether net connection in the first room did not work. The connection in the second room worked, but the safe did not work. The breakfast was truly one of the worst meals I have ever eaten! No flavor at all. Salt and pepper could not even help. Floors and funiture cracked. All the reasons I wanted a four star hotel. None of them in this hotel. The Travelodge on Bath rd in Hounslow is a two star.. and much, much better hotel. This was worth about 37 pounds a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 29 - 31 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Continental Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.