We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* hotel ...??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Hotel to your Saves list
The Continental Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 - 31 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Suffolk Park, Australia
2 reviews
“4* hotel ...??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Where to start <reception staff good (i felt sorry for them),room -disaster ,no wifi ,no cups or bottle of water ,gym ok ,restaurant staff amazing (Ana,Natalia,) it was really good service and the food fabulous .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Where to start.....
1. Beware of the £15 overnight parking charge........
2. Although paid for in advance, hotel insisted on taking £50 security depost
3. Room was dirty......sweet papaers on the floor
4. There is NO WIFI in the rooms....only reception

Felt dreadfully misled. I will be avoiding in future.
No wonder they didn't ask if I had a good stay when checking out !!

Room Tip: Select a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Okay, first. The staff was extremely friendly and polite and professional. They had to be to apologize for all the problems in that hotel. Now, that was the best thing to be said. The rooms were clean. My room looked directly into an office building, so I had to keep the curtains drawn the entire time in the room. The hotel carpet was filthy...throughout the hotel. The fixtures in my bathroom basin were rusted. Moreover, there was a light over the shelf above the toilet where the hand towels and extra toilet paper were stored...not over the basin, where I need to see to shave...made absolutely no sense.

There was no wifi in the room...but in the lobby which doubles as the lounge (not a great working environment).I had to change rooms because the ether net connection in the first room did not work. The connection in the second room worked, but the safe did not work. The breakfast was truly one of the worst meals I have ever eaten! No flavor at all. Salt and pepper could not even help. Floors and funiture cracked. All the reasons I wanted a four star hotel. None of them in this hotel. The Travelodge on Bath rd in Hounslow is a two star.. and much, much better hotel. This was worth about 37 pounds a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is diificult to know where to start on this one but my general experience was awful from start to finish. First thing, if you are driving forget it - you may be paying £90 a night but the car park is clearly the sole domain of the onsite gym members (who park anywhere they like and block people in) - there is a 'secure' overflow car park but that is also occupied by gym members until late in the evening. I stayed 3 nights and for 2 of those nights having arrived back from work at around 7pm I had to sit waiting (while occasionally flitting between carparks) for over 1 hr before I got a spot - you can't just dump it on a road as this is the middle of Hounslow and it all seemed to be Double Yellow Lines.
The room smelt of the Gym, the bathroom had grout coming up between the tiles and the 'flat screen TV' was the size of a postage stamp and stuck on the wall where you needed opera glasses to see it while lying in bed. The staff were unhelpful and far more concerned about making sure they pre-authorised a ridiculous amount of money on your credit card up front.
This is not a hotel, this is a Gym with rooms - and they charge an outragous amount for using the car park!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_Dean_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rooms - reasonable for £79.00 although several areas smell of rotten eggs. All second floor rooms above the busy gymnasium and thus plagued by loud pumping music until past 9.00pm.
Service - Beligerant staff and management try to impose ridiculous charges and "up front" payments. we had three rooms for three nights and they wanted to charge us a "holding fee" of £600.00 !! contingency on top of the room costs even though we'd paid for all rooms in full on arrival. Upon complaining about this the owner told me that the staff are "trained not to trust the guests" and " if any guest doesn't pay, the staff will have it taken from their wages" !! hardly a cornerstone to promote good customer relations.
Was also asked to complete a form with all credit card details, start date, end date and security code on the back for their records !!!! full access to my card details !! I don't think so.
Food - very good
Bar - Reasonable atmosphere and decor, over priced drinks.
Breakfast - continental and reasonable, breakfast staff were very good.
If the cost of business hotels in the centre of london were more reasonable I wouldn't even consider this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely do not accept a room on the second floor above te gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I got to the hotel at about 11am, after arriving from my flight which originated in Sydney. I was told that check-in time was 2pm, and although my room was available, there would be a GBP30 charge to access it before 2pm. I declined. First time ever anyone has tried to pull that one. When I did get to my room, the bathroom was being repaired and I had to get another room. When I complained to a person who said he was the Reservations Manager about the early check-in charge, he tried to spring some excuse that this was a new policy and the person responsible was about to get the sack. What a crock. The room was also tiny even for one person, and I had to have my open suitcase on the floor because there was no room. The toilet seat was also cracked. Hounslow is a good area, and I would stay there again but at another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel some years ago and thought it good. Sic Transit Gloria Mundi as the hotel has gone downhill. The public areas are dirty. The bathroom had a broken toilet seat which meant you couldn't sit on it as it was broken in half. Lights didn't work. No aircon and no way of opening windows.

The only good point was that the food in the restauant was of very good standard, though on departure, even though there were only two if us, they tried to tried to charge us for another person's meal. I pointed out that the person's signature looked nothing like mine but they wouldn't accept this and said they would charge for the other person's meal and would get back in touch with us. Eventually they gave up on this when the waitress who served us explained that we had only had the two meals and not the other person's meal and drinks.

I am sorry this hotel has declined. It was not cheap at £120.00 each and I will not be staying again.

I don't like writing bad reviews but this is not a 4 star hotel and is not being appropriately priced in my opinion.

Room Tip: choose another hotel and pay less for better quality but if you must stay don't let them put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hounslow - Heathrow East
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Grand London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#679 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Heathrow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 29 - 31 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing