We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay - did the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shalimar Hotel to your Saves list
Shalimar Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shalimar Hotel
215-221 Staines Rd, Hounslow TW3 3JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Bournemouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One night stay - did the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for one night during a trip to see a concert at Twickenham. It was convenient due to the location and the price was good value for a twin room and breakfast included. When we arrived there was a wedding happening at the hotel and parking was a nightmare! There were cars everywhere on the forecourt of the hotel. I went into reception whilst my friend stayed in the car and asked where we could park. In fairness to the staff they did act quickly as there were several people also arriving at this time and they managed to clear a space for us within about 20 minutes. The room was basic but clean and fine for our needs. The breakfast was really good for our hangovers! Would stay again but only for a night for the convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    5
    17
See reviews for
6
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The experience of this place was terrible. Our booking was a mess from the start then I was put in this room which looked like it was used as a smoking venue as there where cigarette burns on furniture and even a plastic bag over the smoke detector???? The decor was none existent and sorry guys but the graffiti on the walls was not a nice touch. TV had picture with no sound and to top it off noise noise noise until the party finally finished at 12 pm and the loud thumping music had stopped, then I managed to get some sleep. The next morning did not get any better as I had to wake up to a cold shower at least i had a towel( I always travel with my own).

Room Tip: Room far away from the function suite or even better in another hotel, my room key said room 9 but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stay at the Shalimar quite often for work and don't see why there is so many bad reviews! We pay £40 a night for ensuite rooms, many of which are newly refurbished. Rooms are equipped with tea, coffee facilities, a tv and are cleaned daily with fresh towels. Breakfast is served from 06.30 and cereals, juice, toast etc is readily available. The hotel is a budget priced hotel so expect what you pay for, it ain't the Ritz! Staff are always handy for any problems which are usually resolved speedily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on business on a regular basis over 3 years. I concur with all comments on helpful, friendly staff......and they are to be congratulated on the continuing efforts to improve the facilities which have resulted in a large extended secure car park (always space available) and refurbished rooms, including en suite facilities. Breakfast service is IMMEDIATE and served before you have time to finish a cereal (nothing worse than waiting when there's work to be done). I've stayed at other hotels in the area but for value for money it cannot be beaten. Only problem is its directly under the Heathrow flightpath so take earplugs if you're a light sleeper. I'm back there again !

Room Tip: All rooms are affected by low flights into Heathrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very basic accomodation. Clean comfortable bed but the rest of the room was very mediocre and there was a lot of noise. The staff were very pleasant and helpful though especially as the postcode of the hotel takes you to the wrong part of Hounslow. The breakfast was of poor quality though plentiful. It was, however, very reasonably priced for London.

Room Tip: Make sure you get directions to the hotel as the postcode takes you to the wrong part of Hounslow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked this hotel through Laterooms for a 2 night stay as we were going to pick someone up from Heathrow, unfortunately there was a problem with the flight so we had to cancel the booking and although the cancellation policy was to charge for the first night only the hotel took the money for both nights! I complained to Laterooms but it took over 6 weeks to get the hotel to refund the second nights charge, disgusting

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my other half came for the rugby final as a last minute trip. The location is shocking, very run down area on a main road. When we arrived the receptionist remained on his phone throughout check in. The hotel itself smelt badly, was in a poor state of repair and ran out of toilet roll! This hotel is very much aimed towards the aisian cominity. While we were here there was a wedding celebration taking place. The music was audible from all rooms, no consideration for other residents and they even warned us of our cars being blocked in!! Do not come to this hotel. Total diss regard for you, not interested in you and shouldn't be advertised as a hotel. Standards are extremely low.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Address: 215-221 Staines Rd, Hounslow TW3 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Hounslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.