We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crompton Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crompton Guest House to your Saves list
Crompton Guest House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birkdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rugby stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Myself and my fiance stayed here for one night to go and watch the rugby at Twickenham. The main reason we booked was that we could park our car at no extra charge and the ground was within walking distance (approx 20-30 min walk). Most of the bigger hotels charge you to park so this was the deal clincher for us! The car park is at the back of the guest house and is gated with an access code to get in so it felt safe to park there.
The guest house itself is lovely and clean and nicely decorated (and good price by London standards!) Dining room a bit cramped but its a guest house not a hotel so you cant really complain.
The staff are all extremely welcoming and friendly and cant do enough for you. They provide a taxi service to Twickenham for a fee if you dont want to walk but it is an easy route so we chose to walk it.
The area itself as you walk down into Hounslow isnt the best and I dont think I would feel safe walking around at night but outside the guest house is fine and its practically next door to a Tube station if you want to go into London.
The only complaint I have is that there was so much noise from the room above, it sounded like they were dragging furniture round all night! I dont know whether we were just unlucky or the ceilings are very thin but it did disturb our sleep slightly.
Overall though a nice little guesthouse and perfect if you are going to Twickenham for a match!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    53
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
38
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wanted reasonably-priced hotel, including English breakfast, near a tube station - preferably Piccadilly Line - and proximity to Kew, Hampton Court and Windsor, in particular. We also needed to leave the car in a secure, free, car park; (I got sick and tired of hotels listed as having parking when it happened to be in a neighbouring public car park costing upwards of £12 per day!). Crompton fitted the bill perfectly and we were not disappointed when we arrived. The staff were so friendly, helpful and very responsive. The large freshly-cooked breakfasts were a real treat and great fodder before going off for a day sightseeing. Rooms were comfortable and well decorated, with some quite expensive fittings. General facilities in the rooms were commensurate with the price.

Room Tip: All rooms here are comfortable; no need to discriminate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I showed interest in this establishment as a long term option to staying in a hotel while I work in London over the next 12 to 18 months. I paid a visit to the hotel and was met by Mr Hamel Shah. Mr Shah showed me a double room since they were no single ones available which is what I wished. Following discussion about the rates etc I was offered a deal of £480 per week. Within 10 minutes of leaving the Crompton I had an email from Mr Shah confirming the rates but stating that they were nonrefundable should I change my mind. This was despite the fact the the terms and conditions of the hotel clearly state that if the room was canceled 72 hours before the agreed date then there would be no charge. My room was booked for the end of June. Please beware of this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was the first time we haven't used one of the chain-motels "near" Heathrow, and we certainly shall not be using any of them again. The staff here were so friendly and helpful, and we began our transatlantic trip happy and refreshed. The pickup/return to the airport was excellent (only slightly more expensive than the hoppas), and we got taken to the terminal and helped with luggage, rather than a remote bus stop. The room was well-equipped and really inviting. The bed was very comfortable (we have bad backs). We have no hesitation in this recommendation.

Room Tip: We asked for a "quiet room" and it certainly was - one in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We needed a place to stay overnight before we went to see the tennis at Queen's Club and then to be able to pick up the car after a day at the tennis. That isn't easy with the big hotels who only offer parking if there is space, often charge extra for it and want you out at checkout time.

The Compton met all our needs. Really helpful people, comfortable room, classy bathroom and a good night's sleep. What else? There's a tube station and a pub almost next-door (the pub is better than it looks from outside) and if you like a bit of a shop there is a big TK Maxx and a shopping centre nearby. Lots of ethnic places to eat as well.

If you worry about that sort of thing, it is a very safe area, multicultural and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at the Crompton for the 2nd time on a official visit. Right from Airport pickup to moving to new place, they were very helpful. I stayed at the service apartment this time and the service was pretty good. I do not regret staying with Crompton guest for the 2nd time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent family run business with staff who can not do enough to help. Made to feel welcome from the start and the introduction was both informative and useful. Rooms were ideal for family with the essential equipment included. Location was ideal with a short 1 min walk to nearest tube station. Would definitely book again perfect for large family short breaks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crompton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crompton Guest House

Address: 49 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#5 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#6 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crompton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crompton Guest House is a four storey Victorian Building, now a fully modernised guest house in one of the prominent roads of Hounslow. Having undergone refurbishment The Crompton Guest House has been awarded a 4 Star Award by The AA. Just 50 metres from Hounslow Central London Underground Station & 200 metres from the town centre. This family-run 4-star guest house offers free Wi-Fi & up to 15 days free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crompton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crompton Guest House Hotel Hounslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crompton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.