We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crompton Guest House

Save Saved
You added Crompton Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crompton Guest House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked this place last minute and was quoted £100 for the night with breakfast
I was sceptical, I've stayed in loads of places in London with work for more than £100 and been massively let down
Well, when we arrived around 10pm I was even more sceptical, not the greatest of areas and right next to a typical London boozer!
However......once inside my mood lightened, our room was compact but more importantly it was fresh, clean and really very nice :-)
It was a tad noisy in the night due to late night revellers coming in but on the whole it didn't last long and was fine
Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was completely fine
We enjoyed talking to an American couple about the Wimbledon final and there was also a family from Beirut
Would definitely recommend and if you booked earlier you might even get a better rate
One thing to watch out for, there is a 5% surcharge if paying by card

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    50
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
32
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were a family with teenage children. Having more than 4 people in our family made it very expensive to stay in the city because all those hotels wanted us to book 2 rooms per night. The room that we had could sleep 6 people very comfortably. The room was big and bright with the big window on one side. The bathroom had a full size bathtub that was a plus. Most of the family owned inns only have very small showers. There was a small fridge in the room so we were able to shop for some food at the market across the street from the hotel. There was an in room coffee maker and an air conditioner that were both surprises. It was great to have the air conditioner as it was unusually hot and sunny while were there. The staff was so friendly and even made us breakfast when we slept through the breakfast hours. They also gave us very good advice about how to structure our days of sight seeing. This place was very close to the Underground station and it made getting to an from the city and the airport very convient. I would definitly stay there again!

Room Tip: They do have rooms for families of 5 and 6 people. Not many places do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My 2 boys (ages 15 and 20) and I had been traveling around Europe for 2 weeks when we arrived in London and stayed here. Wonderful change of pace from the sterile hotel environments. Rooms are small but very adequate. Very clean. Staff is fantastic. We had a late arrival and they were completely accommodating to that, including clear directions on how to get there via the Underground, and using an Oyster card etc. The night manager also was very helpful in allowing me to make reservations for a tour to Windsor Castle, Bath, Stonehenge on their computer. Breakfast is wonderful. Very kitschy, cozy place with a definite homey feel to it. 50 meters from the tube station made it incredibly convenient without being stuck in an overly touristy area.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this guest house, and there are steps up to get to the front door. Also, st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed with the boys 11, 12 & 15 for a few day as our original booking in another booking did not work out. The room was recently refurbished and was clean. We also were served a decent breakfast in the morning. Staff were courteous. The room was however very small for 5 people and the cost was too high even when considering that it was peak season in London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when we went to the chime for change concert in Twickenham. It is a lovely little guest house and the staff are very nice. The rooms are small but they are nicely decorated with everything we needed and a very comfy bed. Breakfast was also nice and good location near stadium and also the tube. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend. Don't use the taxi service we got a quote and it was a lot cheaper using the taxi rank across the road.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night to go to concert at twickenham, couldn't fault this guest house, location, the staff, the room, catered for our needs perfectly and a relaxed breakfast in the morning topped it all off. Would recommend if going to twickenham stadium, they even provide walking instructions to the stadium when you check in!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a crappy room in a House, how can anyone call it a Guest House.
It is not clean and very old.
Breakfast awful.

Beware the false reviews.
Stay away from it and add a few pounds to get a real hotel where you can sleep and have a bath.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crompton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crompton Guest House

Address: 49 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#4 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#4 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crompton Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crompton Guest House is a four storey Victorian Building, now a fully modernised guest house in one of the prominent roads of Hounslow. Having undergone refurbishment The Crompton Guest House has been awarded a 4 Star Award by The AA. Just 50 metres from Hounslow Central London Underground Station & 200 metres from the town centre. This family-run 4-star guest house offers free Wi-Fi & up to 15 days free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crompton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crompton Guest House Hotel Hounslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crompton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.