We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Magpies

Three Magpies
Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AU, England
0208 759 1071
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 104 restaurants in Hounslow
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Luarca, Asturias, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I booked into a hotel along Bath Road for an overnight stay before flying to Kuala Lumper.We had passed by here several times on the bus. The hotel prices for food were expensive so decided to try The Three Magpies and were very impressed,a very warm welcome from the staff, we had a couple of glasses of wine and a meal each reasonably priced.I would recommend here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Three Magpies, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Paul N,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and have passed your kind words onto the management team at the Three Magpies

Many Thanks
John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    49
    68
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good pub - real ales and friend;y staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely to find a pub near Heathrow that does real ales rather than the usual Eurofizz muck. And staff very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beats the hotel for food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have traveled many times in and out of London and spent the night at hotels on Bath Road next to the airport. Prices are very high for food and drink at the hotels.. We found Three Magpies some yeas ago and make it a stop for pub food and drink. Granted its not five star like some snobs would write in their reviews and they wanted it to be. As a surprise I ordred their large ice cream sunday for my wife. I could not believe the size of it. Give it a try. Its just a short walk from some of the hotels. After eating so much we welcomed to walk back to the hotel. In a few weeks we will be going to London then on our way to Russia the next day. We will make sure to stop at the resturant the night before and enjoy the LOCAL flavor of a pub vs the sterile hotel feel.

Jim Sanderson
Elk Grove California

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry,southwales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited the Three Magpies on the 14th of september after a long haul flight.
This pub was recommended to us a couple of years ago by a taxi driver and we said we would give it a go given the chance.
We were given a warm welcome by the staff and we ordered a bar meal, fish and chips, scampi and chips plus extras and dessert and a bottle of wine for about £30.
The food was brought to our table pretty quick, the food was hot & tasty and was served on hot plates.
Also mid way through our meal we were asked if everything was to our liking.
All in all as titled good value for money.
We will return one day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just don't!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Without question the worst pub in the world. Disinterested staff with an attitude that doesn't make complaining a sensible option, flat beer from lines last cleaned in 1957 (assuming any of the Dvertised beers are actually available) and a meal I wouldn't give to the dog. If you like microwaved dried out food this is the place for you.

If not then don't go here. Just don't.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Three Magpies, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Payer,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of your recent experience and have sent your comments to our management team to investigate.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Magpies also viewed

Hounslow, Middlesex
 
Hounslow, Middlesex
Hounslow, Middlesex
 

Been to Three Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Magpies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.