We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for early flight from Heathrow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lampton Guest House

Save Saved
You added Lampton Guest House to your Saves list
Lampton Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lampton Guest House
47 Lampton Rd | Hounslow, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hounslow B&B and Inns
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for early flight from Heathrow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed just the one night before early morning flight from Heathrow . Very close to Hounslow Central underground station so was at the airport 10 minutes after leaving the hotel. Booked a single room last minute , but was given a family room so no complaint whatsoever about size of from . Tea and coffee making facilities in room and despite being on the flight path could see but not hear the planes . The full English breakfast was a tad on the small side , but this could be supplemented with cereal and yoghurt s .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
8
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very basic guest house. Our room was very cramped but we were only there to sleep. The sheets were clean and the room was tidy. The staff were friendly and if you needed anything were more than willing to assist. I was more than happy with breakfast although the room we ate in could have done with a bit of a spruce up. The only real complaint I have is that the bathroom was very very small. If you wanted to swing a cat, you couldn't it was so cramped! The Bullstrode pub next door was blimmin' brilliant though!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great place to stay the night before a flight from Heathrow. Reasonably priced. Just a few steps from Hounslow Central Underground Station. Then a quick ride on the tube in morning to Heathrow after a great breakfast. (One note: the locks on the doors are not the best, but we did not feel unsafe). Stayed here in early April 2013. Employees very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location at 50m of the tube station, the guest house is a great fall back plan when the new budget hotels of central Hounslow are fully booked.
Yet with a top value cleanliness ( not a speck of dust in the room), the best WIFI I had in a hotel room for along time (home type broadband), the 6sqm single bedroom I had with no chair to work was not the best choice for 40£/night BB. Not up to date bed quality, yet all the basics are to be found.
Individual tastes are not to be discussed, as an hospitality professional, modern pure colours and materials will better suit that nice building than flower curtain and 80's wallpaper...(there are more modern B&B in the UK) Yet I know how hard it is to run such business smoothly and satisfy all customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay at the Lampton every year in April/May for 2 nights when we visit an event at Twickenham and I have always found the accommodation to be perfectly good for somewhere used as a base to sleep and shower. It is cheap and cheerful but probably not to everyone’s taste, if you are looking for 4/5* accommodation don’t stay here!

The B&B is barely 5 minutes walk from Hounslow Central Tube so excellent for connections into London and to Heathrow, the bus to Twickenham stops just outside the pub (H20) and there is a friendly taxi company just across the road which will take you to Twickers for around £15 and you can book them to collect you later.

I have stayed in single, twin and double rooms over the years we have been staying and although the rooms are small and basic they have always been clean & tidy, the bed is comfy enough for my liking, there is a wardrobe and drawers in all the rooms along with tea/coffee making facilities, a small fridge, flat screen TV and free wi-fi and the bathroom, although tiny, has a shower, small sink with complimentary toiletries and a toilet ... what more do you need really? The rooms could do with a bit of redecoration but from what I’ve seen they are doing this bit by bit.

Breakfast is not huge and the sausage is not great but it fills a whole and is included in the very cheap room rate. It’s a little too early for my liking at a weekend but if you miss it you can get a nice full English across the road at Cafe Venecia for around £3.00.

The staff are friendly, helpful and very easy-going. They have happily provided me with a blanket and extra pillow when asked in the past and turned the heating on one particularly cold year! No there isn’t a lift but someone has always offered to help me with my luggage on the stairs.

Please note that there are 5/6(?) large steps up to the front door and only a couple of rooms on that entry floor so if you’re not great with stairs or in a wheelchair be aware.

The Bulstrode pub is about 100 yards down the road (right) and it can be noisy on Friday/Saturday evenings but they do a decent pint and nice pub grub or curry and we are rarely to bed before it shuts (1.30/2am) so this didn't bother us. If you go left out of the B&B there’s a decent Chinese buffet and a Yates about 10 minutes up the road.

We will go back again next year … and probably the one after that :o)

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are near to the kitchen so can be noisy early in the morning and room 9 is right next to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had a single room and, trust me, it was a small single room, but it was very clean, (if a bit warm) the bed was comfy and, although I couldn't have the fan on but not the light, I had a decent sleep on the Friday. Saturday was a bit different, as there's a pub 3 buildings down and the music was loud. Breakfast, in a very small dining room, was good, basic and the staff were friendly and there is a small carpark at the rear of the building, accessed by a passworded gate. For £78 for 2 nights, I thought this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Saw three rooms and all three were spotless. Great location a stones throw from hounslow central underground. All staff were really friendly and facilities great. I was surprised how nice it was given the low price I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lampton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampton Guest House

Address: 47 Lampton Rd | Hounslow, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lampton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lampton Guest House Hotel Hounslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lampton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.