We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Stars for Economy, Location and Friendly Service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lampton Guest House

Save Saved
You added Lampton Guest House to your Saves list
Lampton Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lampton Guest House
47 Lampton Rd | Hounslow, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hounslow B&B and Inns
U.S.A. / ENGLAND.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Three Stars for Economy, Location and Friendly Service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I wonder when reading some reviews, what do they expect for the money! It's not the Ritz but friendly helpful staff, a location a few yards away fom a tube station that opens up the whole of London to you plus 20 minutes by car or rail to Heathrow all for 35 pounds per person per night for Bed and English breakfast cooked to order - so it only has one sausage - so what.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
8
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked this guest house for one night (thankfully just the one) whilst on a Twickenham trip. We stayed in room 9 on the ground floor entered via store cupboard!! Room had two double beds which were surprisingly comfy & clean crisp sheets.Couldn`t see out of the window as double glazed seal was damaged, so all misted up. The en-suite was VERY tiny, grubby & dark. The room was in desperate need of decoration. I went to a local shop & purchased a small bottle of alcohol gel to wipe all door knobs as they were sticky & dirty as were all the light switches & plugs.The full english breakfast was a joke, served between 7am - 8.30am (on a Sunday - come on!!?) consisting of 1 x egg, 1 x rasher of bacon & 1 x sm spoonful of baked beans with 2 slice of toast on top. They say "you get what you pay for" but we paid £79.00 for the night, which I feel wasn`t cheap. Hounslow isn`t the best, but there is the underground 2min walk (Piccadilly line) & a pub to drown your sorrows!! In a nut shell, we wouldn`t stay here again, would rather do journey to Twickenham & back home again all in the same day than stay at Lampton Guest House again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel is not situated in the most cosmopolitain place in London to stay, however it is perfect for a short overnight trip into London as it represents good value for money. It is a 3 minute walk from the nearest tube Hounslow Central and can have you into the centre of London in about 45 minutes.
The room was appropraitely furnished, and we paid £69.00 for it including breakfast for 3 of us. The room contained 4 single beds so you could have had 4 people in there. The decor was a little dated but it was very clean. We had a fridge, tea and coffee facilities (which they gave us extra of twice without any problem) good towels, hairdryer and showergel/soap.
The room was warm but had a fan to keep it cool, it was quiet and the beds were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a basic full English with cereals and juice etc which was of a good strandard for the room price.
All in all, it is a good choice for a quick stop over near London or Heathrow, especially if you have a group of you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in a twin room (two singles) at the end of October for 2 nights, paid £48 per night (single occupancy)

Easy to find, very close to tube. On busy road, and was disturbed by people outside keebab/chicken place across the road. Hotel receptionist was friendly, no lift and carried own bag (not an issue for me and I didn't ask for help)

The room looked like it had been decorated in the last few years but unfortunately the wallpaper was ripped and the surfaces of the furniture were sticky. There were no duvets on the beds, only blankets and I was cold on the first night. The sheets were all clean but the pillows themselves were very stained. There were hangers in the wardrobe. There were tea&coffee facilities in the room, and a tv with some freeview/ sky channels.

The bathroom was in need of a proper clean- mouldy tiles/ shower door seal & yellow drip marks on walls, but there wasn't anything like hair or signs of the previous guest! There were some toiletries provided, although I didn't use them. The towels provided were clean, they were not changed during my (short) stay.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again if the nearby etap hotel had rooms, as it was more expensive and less modern.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Well, let's face it 40 pounds a night (around $64.00)that's for a single person...what can you expect?

The positive:

Obviously the cost.
Secondly the proximity to the underground station. Hounslow Central is about a one minute walk.
Free WiFi - although very slow.
Clean bedsheets.
Clean bathroom.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The negative:

Very small room...can't open the bathroom door all the way.
Fridge in room doesn't work - room #4.
Very dingy.
The place is dirty...no getting away from that.
Even though this room is in the basement it is quite warm...I would imagine it would be very hot in the summer.
English breakfast - edible, but that's the most you could say.
To say the ironing board that I got from the front desk had seen better days would be an understatement...about 1/3 of the fabric cover was rotted away...but in all fairness, the iron worked well.

All in all as the title says...you get what you pay for. I also liked that you can check in anytime after 11:00 a.m. which worked great for me as my flight arrived from Canada at 10:00 a.m.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Had to give 5 rating, as it's great value compared to the many other B & B's, hotels etc in the area, and does exactly "as it says on the tin"
We had a 4 bedded room ,as it was 4 men going to Twickenham for the rugby.
it is a 30 min walk to the stadium from here.
Room,bathroom,beddding and towels all spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, and the room also has a fridge, a TV, and tea/coffee with kettle, so all you need.
We stayed 2 nights, on check in, gent on reception polite & helpful, even giving us a map to show route to walk to Twickenham Stadium the next day for the match. as stated room fine, if you're expecting "The Ritz", then go somewhere else and pay far, far, more. But if you need a bed & room to get your head down, in clean surrondings, with off road parking, and even breakfast too, ( though we didn't get doen in the mornings for that) then stay here for sure.
This is our second stay here, we stayed here in Feb 2011 as well for rugby at Twicenham too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have to give this place 5* for its location, price and cleanliness. This B&B is very close to LHR with great prices you really can't go wrong for just one night. As others have mentioned its right by the tube station, for others like us with a rental car they also have a small parking area in the rear for free. The rooms are small, or rather tiny in most cases. Great place to stay and has some character. The guys that run it are very accommodating. As others have mentioned breakfast isn't that great but they do try. They definitely get an A for effort. You won't get real coffee here, just hot water and nescafe, whether in your room or in the breakfast room. There are shops just across the street for drinks and snacks, again great location. I would not hesitate to stay here again when flying thru LHR in the future.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lampton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampton Guest House

Address: 47 Lampton Rd | Hounslow, Hounslow TW3 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lampton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lampton Guest House Hotel Hounslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lampton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.