We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Civic Guest House

Civic Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Civic Guest House to your Saves list
Civic Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-93 Lampton Rd, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Fremont, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“There are better options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The saying, "You get what you pay for" is certainly no exception to this place. First, the good points. This hotel is at good location, just a short walk (~3 minutes) from the Hounslow Central Underground station, and a bus stop is literally in front of the hotel. It's also very close to Heathrow airport, as well. WiFi is included, though it was a bit spotty for me at times. It may not be reliable enough to stream a movie from Netflix (can any hotel internet really do that well anyways?), but it can handle everything else well. A simple daily breakfast is also included, with limited options, so check beforehand if their options fit within your diet.

Now the so-so points. This is a very small place, and the hotel layout seems like those older, traditional style hotels from the past, with narrow hallways and stairwells. This seems to be more typical of denser European cities, but may not be for some Americans. I like the concept of a retro-style hotel that has older accommodations and floorplans, but have yet to find a place that executes it well. The rooms we reserved were family styled rooms, meaning that each room had its own bathroom; other rooms utilize shared bathroom fixtures. The rooms were had showed some clear signs of age, but were still roomy enough for the people we had. Room service is done every day, with a fresh towel and trial sized soap on your made bed each time. The TVs were tiny wall mounted units, and the rooms had a mini-fridge to store your own items.

Now the bad points. The bathrooms were, quite frankly, not up to par. The shower head clearly showed hard water scum, and the shower door had what may have been black mildew in the crevasses. The water pressure was also inconsistent, and seemed to depend on the time of day.

The bedrooms in general feel like the staff are just doing the best they can with the limited resources they have, and while there are some decent good qualities, there are probably other options that are worth an bit of a price increase. I can't really recommend this place unless there is some major renovations performed to better utilize the limited floorplan space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    5
    24
See reviews for
14
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here with seven friends for football,clean beds warm water,tv,fridge.ensuite,choice of breakfast.nice staff.needs updating but is excellent value for the cost,if you want 5star then stay somewhere else if you want somewhere with clean beds to lay your head then this will do nicely.i would stay again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Don't deserve 2 star ! Should be 0 star! Looks like a Bedsit mould in shower room! "Full English breakfast" should be called "full foreign breakfast" no bacon on menu don't cater for all bloody turkey rashers and beef sausage ! Yuck. Noisy location and they turn there blue light on sign on at 10pm and off at gone midnight. Rooms need blackout curtains. Staff are quite rude and just ignore you. Worst guest house I have ever stayed at!

DO NOT STAY HERE !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Being a seasoned traveller, I try not to expect too much and nothing really jumped out at me visually at the Civic, except for friendly, helpful staff and I really enjoyed the tasty cooked breakfast and their was a choice of fruit juices and cereals besides. I booked a double room but on arrival was given a room for 4 people (at no extra cost) as no double rooms were available. We were overlooking the main road and I was concerned about traffic noise, but was assured by the friendly receptionist that things were quieter at night and he was true to his word, so we slept well. Décor and furniture are very tired looking and really need to be brought into the 21st century though. Surely some money should be invested in updating rooms, but overall it was clean and we paid a fair price. I booked directly with the Civic and got it at a cheaper price than booking through a 'middle man'. Ideal location for the tube into London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room was so cramped and the breakfast was absolutely disgusting even if it was £60 for a night. Also, one of the staff was very rude and did not let us know any information and me and my friend were so lost as we did not know the area. I did not expect anything special of this place but I was certainly hoping for something much better.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here when watching the rugby. Paid £130 through booking.com and felt tipped off when place had sign saying rooms from £30.

Place tired. Distressed and not really worth the experience unless you literally just want somewhere to crash.

Not a luxurious experience

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went to the rugby...Needed a bed and toilet... Got allot more.. En-suite.. Windows.. furniture. Soap Towels, Tea/coffee stuff and A FRIDGE!!!! Cold beers Happy days!! Breakfast was fine.. Staff very nice. Maybe not a place for family's but great for the price and location for Rugby...Will be back for 7's next year.. Andy

Room Tip: 5 fine En- Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Civic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Guest House

Address: 87-93 Lampton Rd, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Civic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Guest House Hotel Hounslow
Civic Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civic Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.