We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect low standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Civic Guest House

Civic Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Civic Guest House to your Saves list
Civic Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-93 Lampton Rd, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expect low standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here when watching the rugby. Paid £130 through booking.com and felt tipped off when place had sign saying rooms from £30.

Place tired. Distressed and not really worth the experience unless you literally just want somewhere to crash.

Not a luxurious experience

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    5
    24
See reviews for
14
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went to the rugby...Needed a bed and toilet... Got allot more.. En-suite.. Windows.. furniture. Soap Towels, Tea/coffee stuff and A FRIDGE!!!! Cold beers Happy days!! Breakfast was fine.. Staff very nice. Maybe not a place for family's but great for the price and location for Rugby...Will be back for 7's next year.. Andy

Room Tip: 5 fine En- Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry west midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Four of us (The Bringloes) booked into the Civic Guest house for two nights 10th and 11th of May, specifically for the England sevens rugby at Twickenham. I will be honest and wondered what to expect having read reviews, that were not very glowing.
But speak as I find we all were very happy with our two nights. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean, and the Civic not far from the rugby ground.
We wanted somewhere to sleep and have breakfast and this served the purpose. You get what you pay for, and it did the job for us.
We will be going to the sevens next year, and will be staying at the Civic. Make your own minds up do not beleive on all you read.
Thanks staff for a good weekend. Phil, Jamie, Andy, and Gavin.

Room Tip: This is based on the room we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My garden shed is more inviting than the room at this guest house. No hot water and shower did not work. Decor was 1950's at best and room felt cold and damp , in spite visiting in April. Curtains fail to draw and keep no light out, bit like the windows that do nothing to restrict the traffic and aircraft noise.

Breakfast was an insult to the English, not just because it was turkey rashers but because it was cold, over cooked greasy and small.

If I had to stay here again I would prefer to commute from home, 2 hours away.

Compared to the chains, travel lodge, days inn,ibis etc the prices are extortionate esp for the quality of room and decor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here one night, before a meeting across the road in the conference centre. I arrived late at night and found the staff to be very helpful and caring. The rooms wasn't luxury, but it was clean and had plenty of room, and I was told I could put the heating on if I was cold. There was tea and coffee available in the room (with a clean kettle and fridge), towels and soap provided, and a TV. I had a good night's sleep with no disturbance from noise, and had breakfast in the morning which came within 5 minutes. The place had a homely feel to it.
The only thing I was disappointed with was that I'd previously booked online and confirmed I'd pay £45 for a twin room (which was the same price as a single), however, when I arrived, there was a large banner outside advertising that were rooms for £30 a night.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building have neon lights that will shine into the window until around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wanted somewhere close to Twickenham Stadium for the England v New Zealand game, that is the only good thing about this hotel, 20 minutes walk to the ground, filthy room, smelly, cold, wardrobe falling to pieces, shower cubicle dirty and smelt of stagnant dirty water, wouldn't want anyone to shower there, couldn't sleep because of noisy pipes and noise of guests above, could hear their footsteps, 'English' breakfast was cold, turkey bacon, beef sausage, inedible. Will never go here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I went chose this hotel based on location and parking availability. The place is 20 mins from Heathrow and right on the Piccadilly line to get into the City of London, and very close to the M4 for when I needed to escape...

I saw the mixed reviews and they mostly seemed to be concerned with people expecting more than they got. This is a cheap guest house, not a 3 star or higher hotel. You get what you pay for. In my case I needed a room for the night in a good location with parking, and that is what I got. Fixtures and fittings are very basic, but they were clean, functional and the staff were helpful.

On the downside, the place is starting to look tired and dated, the beds were a bit small and soft for me (184cm and 110kg) and the Owens could have been a bit bigger and newer. But these are minor gripes and you don't expect perfection from budget accommodation. Having said that, next time I might be tempted to try one of the budget chain hotels instead.

Room Tip: Apparently not all rooms are ensuite. If this is important, make sure you request this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Civic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Guest House

Address: 87-93 Lampton Rd, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Civic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Guest House Hotel Hounslow
Civic Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civic Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.