We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civic Guest House” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Civic Guest House

Save Saved
You added Civic Guest House to your Saves list
Civic Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Civic Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-93 Lampton Rd, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Civic Guest House”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very tatty place - felt it was not quite clean. I paid £70 for single room B&B. The bed looked "grubby" and I dont think the sheet had been changed. Luckily I only stayed one night! It had all the usual things (kettle, tea, coffee, tv etc. The room was En Suite but I couldnt bring myself to use the shower due to the awful smell from the drain in the shower cubicle. The breakfast was basic and there was no bacon (only turkey rashers). The waiting staff were very busy and made mistakes with peoples orders. The place was a "rabbit warren" and the room numbering was "interesting" to say the least!

Room Tip: Try another Hotel/Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    4
    20
See reviews for
9
2
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a family wedding. Was shocked at the state of the place. Had to pay before seeing rooms. Beds old and very uncomfortable, smelly drains, mouldy shower didn't even want to use it! One very small towel for a family room not that nice either. Broken sink, curtains falling down window wouldn't shut (room on ground floor) graffiti in wardrobe. Breakfast: got orders wrong, cold baked beans and tinned tomatoes, dry overcooked scrambled and fried eggs, turkey rashers and very strange sausages! The whole place needed renovations! it was only busy due to Olympics and us. Not good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just got home from a wonderful stay in London. But more wonderful was our stay at the Civic Guest House at Hounslow.
But only a 40' relaxed tube to the city.

We enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast and the more than friendly welcome at your place.

Of course when we come back to London we'll book our rooms at the Civic Guest House and recommend this to many friends. And without changing our habbit we usually come to London once a year, meaning next year we'll be back in the Civic Guest House Hounslow.

Many greetings and hope to meet again soon,

Charley Pasteleurs

Actor

Room Tip: this is the place to book your best stay for a London visit : http://www.civicguesthouse.co.uk/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

I brought my family to their first rugby international. This was well located, well priced, simple and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was simple but very clean. All we needed for this stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The reception/billing staff seem disinterested in the clients. While, the service/waiters are prompt, I think the mgmt seems to have a callous attitude towards clients (or seem to have slipped into a state, where they get a steady stream of customers despite the bad service).
The rooms seem clean, but have a bad odour. It seems to be low on maintenance. There was a lot of noise and smoke-stench at nights.
Please stay here if you dont have other options. Or, if you desperately need a parking, or proximity to heathrow.
It seems the so-called 'new mgmt' has done nothing about the pathetic review.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I turned up at this hotel and they did not have my booking! The receptionist spent 20 mins trying to find out what had happened and appeared they'd screwed up! This was at 11pm at night.

I was then offered to stay elsewhere and having no choice went along, it seemed to be the owners house. Further out of London, it was horrible and a building site. I cancelled the booking with ---- and the hotel immediately after only to find the hotel had taken the full amount for the 8 nights from my account!

Never stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels / Turku
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Civic Guest House was selected for one night before a flight from Heathrow particularly because of its low price. The Guest House is very well located close to the tube station Hounslow Central, from where you get either to the city center or to Heathrow.
The building is old and badly in need of repair but our room was clean. Staff was helpful, e.g. printing boarding passes from PDF files. Easy parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Civic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Guest House

Address: 87-93 Lampton Rd, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Guest House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Civic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Guest House Hotel Hounslow
Civic Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civic Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.