We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Rouge
Heathrow airport | Terminal four Landside, Hounslow, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 113 Restaurants in Hounslow
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

As we were staying at T4 at heathrow and not wanting to bust the bank by eating at the Hilton we strolled across to T4 to see what was open. It had gone 9pm and the place all but deserted. The Cafe Rouge was practically empty which in normal resturants you would think 'give it a miss' however we looked at the board and to our surprise the menu looked very good. The prices very accpetable so we went in. The meal was delicious. The wine was remarkably cheap £16 for a bottle of red in London! and it went down very well. Only downside was we were the last ones in when they closed but the staff were incredibly polite whilst they put the shutters up around us and we obviously didnt get to try the desserts! We did go back for breakfast at 5am and i had the most wonderful eggy bread (frenchy toast if your post) with fresh blueberries, strawberries and bannana for a fiver.....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, Kent
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Reliable and of a good standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the only restaurant still open in Terminal 4 at 9.30 in the evening but we would probably have used it anyway as Cafe Rouge offers good service and quality at a reasonable price and this branch was no exception. Although we were so late, the staff made no effort to rush us through and we were able to enjoy a decent meal and a bottle of wine before going to stay at the Yotel in the terminal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“average & expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

bacon sandwich expensive with very little filling coffee overpriced but convenient to the check in desks

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Service too slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We popped into have coffee before we waved our son off to the gate for his departure. Wehen we visited on Wed 26 Sept at lunchtime the service was very slow and there was not many wait staff. We waited a while before they took our order and they only did this because I made eye contact. Then we had to sit and wait for our order for a while. (Perhaps they were short staffed that day?). I then asked a member of staff if we could have our order quickly because we had very little time left before going to the gate. The coffee was very hot but was not out of the ordinary. The only food we ordered was chips which were tasty. I think I will try the other coffee place next time which is situated opposite this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“decent - nothing more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

has an aura of get the customers in and get them out in a hurry. food decent, nothing remarkable. overpriced, but then so is everything else at heathrow.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.