We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket before travel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Green Man Lane | Hatton, Hounslow TW14 0PZ, England
020 8890 2681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 109 Restaurants in Hounslow
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just the ticket before travel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This pub is situated about a 5 minutes walk from the Jurys Inn Hotel near to Hatton Cross Underground Station. We stayed at the hotel and went to the pub for a meal and a few beers before retiring for the night for our early morning flight.
The beers include Real Ales and many popular other draught beers. The menu was extremely varied and there would be something for just about every palate. I had a really nice Steak. Pleasant atmosphere and fast friendly service.
Recommend it and we will certainly go again when flying from Heathrow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Country House Haven Near Heathrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A superb country style pub right on the corner of Heathrow Airport.

Surronded by trees giving a rural setting this pub sets itself apart from the urban area.

The pub serves a excellent selection of Real Ales and has a menu that should suit most people.

There is a mix of customers and all in a very friendly atmosphere.

I would thoroughly recommend if you are staying overnight at Heathrow prior to a flight out the next day.

The pub is located near to the Hatton Cross Tube Station

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Respite from Heathrow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a good pub near the Jury's Inn on the south side of Heathrow. If the brutal airport environment is getting to you, the Green Man is a breath of fresh air. It's a short 10 minute walk from the Jury's Inn (the only hotel in the vicinity I believe).

Good standard pub fare. I had a steak and it was very good. A large outside dining area (but deserted in November LOL!) The planes fly right over the pub, but you tune them out after awhile. Mainly filled with locals which gives you some decent flavor. A much more enjoyable experience than eating in the grossly overpriced and sanitized airport hotel.

The building dates to 1640 and there are legends of the famous highwayman Dick Turpin visiting the pub back in the day. Whether or not the legends are true, it only adds to the character of the place.

This was a real find and I'm sure I'll be returning as I stay at Heathrow from time to time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a great place but some staff should be out of there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I normaly go to this pub on my day off, they have a great management there, they r very friendly, u feel very comfy when u r served from one of them, but there is a lady aged between 40 to 45, grizzly hair, with a very bad costumer service, always making mistakes, charging u more than u should pay, never ever smile, everytime i see her serving i just turn over and go somewhere else! She just a member of staff didn't show any label as a duty manager!
But apart from this woman the other 3 are great! 2 dutty manager and a lovely guy! I would recomend this place to my friends but i extremely advise to change that member of staff :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Bit Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have been here several times for lunch with colleagues and have found that the service is rather slow, on the last visit we made sure we ordered our food before we actually went so it would be served to us by the time we arrived as on a previous visit it had taken an hour to have our food prepared and brought over and there were no other customers in the pub at that time. Several of the items on the menu were out of stock so several of our group had to change their order.

Saying all that, the food quality is decent and the staff are friendly and polite. They just really need to be more efficient at lunchtimes as there are lots of neighbouring businesses who might choose to go there for lunch if the speed of service was improved.

There's a pleasant beer garden in front if the weather's nice enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Hounslow, Middlesex
Hounslow, Middlesex
 
Hounslow, Middlesex
Hounslow, Middlesex
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.