We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Heathrow Heston M4 Westbound

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Heathrow Heston M4 Westbound to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Heathrow Heston M4 Westbound
Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway | Phoenix Way, Heston, Hounslow TW5 9NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Blandford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One night stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Double room, only one bath towel, one hand towel and one pillow each. When the staff were asked for more, we were told that none were available since the hotel was fully booked. The room standard was awful, the only redeeming factor was that the bedding was clean.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    74
    61
    84
See reviews for
67
83
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were visiting a 91 year old relative in Twickenham so decided to stay at this hotel on the Saturday night so that we could spend some time in Kingston. Using our satellite navigation system we headed for the hotel. Finding it was extremely difficult and the last section passing through the industrial estate next to the M4 was scary and poorly marked (see Google Maps photos). The area looked dark and uninviting (about 20.15 HRS). Heavy goods vehicles were parked on both sides of the road leading to the hotel.
Fearing that we had taken the wrong route we asked in a local shop where the man told us it was correct, that many people get lost, and that the “hotel looks a bit of a dump and is in need of repair”. This was proven right as when we arrived we saw damaged paint, a broken bedroom window and there was some torn carpet in the reception area.
The staff on duty was very helpful and checked us in. We had difficulty finding our room (225) due to poor signage and then had difficulty opening the door, but a member of staff kindly assisted us. Upon entering our room we saw the damaged, peeling paint on the ceiling and an electric bulb sticking through an old, dirty lamp shade which we thought could be dangerous. The carpet was stained and had burn like marks. We only had 1 thin pillow each and 2 towels for the 3 of us so I went to reception and they found one more pillow and a towel, no more pillows were available. The decoration in the room was dull and obviously in need to repainting.
Upon entering the bathroom we noticed the loo roll holder was half hanging off the wall and the coat hook at the back of the door was missing. The heated towel rail had been removed a screw holes filled. We were unable to get hot water from the sink taps which seemed strange as the shower worked OK. The sink plug was missing so made shaving difficult (combined with no hot water in the sink).
This hotel has potential to be a good resource for the Travelodge group but needs refurbishment, improved road marking, and to be better managed. The actual design of the hotel, with many rooms looking over a central grassed and tree lined area is quite clever, especially considering we were only hundreds of yards away from the M4 and Heathrow airport. The domestic staff had done an excellent job cleaning the room and making the beds. The room was nicely heated and the TV worked as normal.
Reading reviews on Tripadviser we see that many other guests have had similar experiences, giving the hotel a 2 ½ star rating (better than your M4 Eastbound hotel that has only 2 stars).
Travelodge have offered us a full apology and refund, plus compensation. They have acknowledge standards fell below what Travelodge customers should expect and action is being taken. Whilst we appreciate this we feel standards should not have fallen this low. Area and regional management should accept responsibilty for not keeping an eye on what was going on in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

With all these previously horrible reviews, I wonder if this is the same hotel I stayed at lol? Just kidding, as I've stayed in both the Westbound and Eastbound Travelodge on the M4. To be fair, it's a bit dated and inferior to newer Tralvelodges I've stayed, and I think a new refurbishment would definitely help. However, be realistic folks, for over 20 quid per night at Heathrow, this is the best you can get!

I stayed here for a week and find nothing to complain about really. The bed's soft, towels were changed and the room was made everyday. The bathroom does look old with small bathtube, but the hot water worked all the time. The room was very warm when I stayed whilst it was snowing outside, and you can change room temperature/heating as well. Parking was easy. The GPS took me there using the non-motorway (Phoenix way?) first time, but I got there no problem at all, so not sure what people were complaining about.

The staff were friendly to me, and when I asked for some info at night, the receptionist was quite helpful as well, so I'll come back if I need to stay in this area again!

I would rate this 3 star only, but because I think others have been quite harsh, so I give it one more star as I'm feeling generous today lol!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We had the misfortune of stsying there. We were supposef to stay there for 2 nights, but decided to go and stay at friends house. Tje room was ok. The bed was uncomfortable. Tea + coffee lousy. Only one set of towels. Overal nasty!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed two nights Friday and Saturday and was expecting a tale of horror. However it was OK considering it only cost £21/night. Warm and comfortable. Good noise insulation and only faintly heard the rumble of reverse thrust from planes landing at Heathrow. Shower was hot and wet and bed OK too. Room could do with redecoration and the worktop area where the kettle was had began to disintegrate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Has to be one of the worst hotels I've ever had the misfortune of staying in. All airport hotels tend to be pretty exploitative, knowing that you have little choice if you need to catch an early morning flight and don't live locally. This place, however, takes that contempt for customers to a different level with it's dirty rooms, complete lack of service and cynical exploitation. It even charges extra for parking in the hotel car park... something that is obviously unavoidable for 99% of customers and so should clearly be included in the (not cheap) standard price.
We arrived around 11pm, looking forward to a relaxing drink after a 7 hour drive, but the bar had already closed, and we were pointed in the direction of a vending machine that supplied hugely overpriced cans of warm lager!
A thoroughly nasty place that should be avoided at all cost!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of places but this to be one of the worst. The noise from people coming in at all hours was terrible. The bed is the softest ever and the most uncomfortable as you just fall into the middle. With the M4
Closed the place was a nightmare to get too as well. I know it's what you get when you pay cheap but this was just rubbish, never again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Heathrow Heston M4 Westbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Heathrow Heston M4 Westbound

Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway | Phoenix Way, Heston, Hounslow TW5 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Heathrow Heston M4 Westbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Heston Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Travelodge Hotel Heston Heathrow
Travelodge Hotel Hounslow
Travelodge Hounslow
Travel Lodge Hounslow
Hounslow Travelodge
Hounslow Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Heathrow Heston M4 Westbound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.