We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergoing refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Undergoing refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An old hotel being refurbished, yet the rooms were acceptable for overnight stay before catching a morning flight. Both reception staff and concierge staff were very helpful and interested in good customer service. Much to be desired for an upscale hotel, but acceptable accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, Front Office Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Greetings from the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback for your recent stay with us at the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel.

First of all please allow me to thank you for the kind words about our staffs service and such positive comments will help them to maintain the levels expected from them.

With regards to the current appearance of certain areas within the hotel, including our bedrooms, we do recognise that these do not meet the standards that can be expected when residing in a Marriott branded hotel.

As you are aware, our hotel currently is undergoing a complete refurbishment, including installation of new air-conditioning and WIFI services. All bedrooms are to receive new bathrooms and will be newly designed with 39” LCD screens. Our bar and restaurant areas have also be re-designed and we are excited to be repositioning the hotel to be fully worthy of the Renaissance brand.

Furthermore, I am please to inform you that our first batch of new rooms were opened these week, and our all new Club Lounge will follow next week. This is really showing the exciting future ahead for us!

We hope that one day you will be able to share the new exciting changes with us.
If you ever wish any assistance or plan to visit London again in the future, don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    539
    466
    276
    149
See reviews for
196
528
185
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Dated, dreary and depressing. Seemed to be full of airline crews from 3rd world airlines and delayed passengers; in other words very few guests had actually chosen to stay here. Service at the overpriced restaurant was lackadaisical and the food mediocre. The utterly indifferent staff were just watching the clock and ignoring the guests. Beds were awful with the mattress covered in heavy duty plastic suggesting a hotel that expects it's guest to soil themselves and not caring how badly they sleep. If you want wifi expect to pay £15. No I'm not joking.
The hotel is close to and very convenient for Heathrow. This is its only redeeming feature and the only thing, I suspect, that stops it going bankrupt.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, Front Office Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Greetings from the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback for your recent stay with us at the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel.

I am disappointed to read your comments about our staff service; this is an area which we never compromise. Especially with the fact we have newly reopened our brand new bar and restaurant, our focus or exceeding our guests’ expectations is of the utmost importance.
Your comments have been duly noted by our Food and Beverage management team.

Thank you for your feedback about our WIFI pricing, we listen to all of our guest feedback and bring the points forward to future strategy meetings.

With regards to the property, we are currently undergoing some exciting changes, and we know that if you were to give us another chance in the future that you would have a more memorable stay.

Our first batches of new rooms were opened this week, and our all new Club Lounge will follow next week. This is really showing the exciting future ahead for us!

We hope that one day you will be able to share the new exciting changes with us.
If you ever wish any assistance or plan to visit London again in the future, don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Externally the Renaissance is different and hides its age very well due to its terraced floors. On my visit the lobby was under going a makeover which wasn't too much of an inconvenience other than it cutting down the space to navigate past the check in desk. Staff were welcoming and friendly and the internal decoration was very clean, professional and bright.

My room was similar to the external impression of the hotel in that it showed some age in style and colour but not in a way which you could take major fault with. It had a bath & shower, big bed and flat screen TV and was very clean. I had breakfast and it was very good with a wide choice including Haggis. Again staff were excellent.

One of the major selling points of the hotel is its close proximity to the airport. In fact very few are or could be closer. The hotel has its own car park but I did not use it. It is also served by the free red London bus service in to Heathrow (105, 111, 140 & 285 are 4 you can use to get too & from Heathrow bus station to the hotel and back for free) with bus stops very close to the hotel and by the hotel hoppa service which costs but takes you to the door.

I would recommend the hotel, its quiet with no major aircraft noise is well appointed and offers very good service. I would say however that given the competition from the multitude of other hotels on Bath Road and at Heathrow in general be careful you don't pay over the odds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Room was quite small & dated however was clean and pleasant, if not spectacular. I was especially impressed by the concierge Hassan who were helpful, friendly and more than willing to go the extra mile. He arrange for me free shuttle for the indian Resturant it was very nice. Also my taxi & wake up call for the morning.
I had the buffet breakfast at the hotel which was very nice & plentiful.I would recomend to anyone wanting a stay with clean and contempoary rooms, new bar and restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Having read all the recent negative reviews on Tripadvisor due to the renovations in full swing at this great location, my hopes were simply for a clean room and rest before trans atlantic flight. I got what I hoped for and so much more.
Room 1190 was quiet despite feeling like I could reach out the window and touch the runway. The bath/ shower worked very well . Yes the interior is very dated ( hence the renovations underway that did not interfere or inconvenience us in any way). In fact the staff went the extra mile with service and some complimentary drinks to make our stay one that I would be happy to repeat.

Room Tip: 1190 worked perfectly well for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Tired old exterior inside undergoing a makeover. A bit shambolic re signage for reception and one booking for our group was not registered for that day but we had printed proof. Despite these issues the rooms were comfortable, clean,quiet a/c, and only low noise emanating from the airport. For getting to 1,2or 3 terminal superb . Very quick both ways rates are very good and can include leaving the car there. Finally the restaurant was a surprise excellent buffet meal 3 courses great price.

Room Tip: Make sure you print off your booking current temporary changes appear to be having a detrimental imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Had read that they were renovating and, goodness knows, it was well overdue. We had been staying at the Radisson Blu lately but wanted to see the renovations but also, this hotel is the only one with runway views and my husband is an aviation fan!

There's a lot of work going on but not to the bedrooms apparently which was disappointing as they are definitely 'tired'. Check in though was quick in a little room off the main lobby and room was ok and overlooking the airport which is what we like. We'd paid extra for a club room to take advantage of the club lounge intending to have a bit more space and also to nibble on the snacks later on.

First glitch, we'd been given the wifi code but when we came to log in found it was only for one device, had to ring reception for different code. Second glitch, went to see what time the nibbles were available in the club lounge to find it closed and being renovated! Not a mention of this before we arrived and certainly not mentioned when we checked in despite the receptionist telling us we had a 'club room'. Apparently we should have been given some vouchers to spend in the bar (we were informed by another guest). So back to reception again and after a bit of a moan and a slight stand-off were given 4 drinks vouchers and a voucher for 2 meals in the restaurant which was actually a very good result. We ate there and found that had been refurbed since our last visit and was much more sleek than it used to be. And I have to say, had the nicest roast beef and Yorkshire pudding I have had in a long time; have to give credit it where it's due! Also the house Chardonnay is ok too.

Bedtime, double room but only one dressing gown and the bed must be the hardest and the lumpiest ever. It's a close call if we decide to stay again as the Radisson is everything the Renaissance except for the runway views ...........and the roast beef!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, Front Office Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Greetings from the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback for your recent stay with us at the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel.

First of all please let me apologise for any inconvenience you may have had, this is not the impression we wish to have with any of our guests.

I am disappointed to read your comments about our staff service; this is an area which we never compromise. Especially with regards to the arrival experience, which we consider to be key to any memorable guest stay.

As you are aware, our hotel currently is undergoing a complete refurbishment, I am sorry to hear if you were not up to date with the project. We always do our utmost to keep our guests informed about our exciting changes and it is with regret that you were let down with the current refurbishment of the Lounge.

I really hope that we have the chance to serve you soon. The changes that you have read about, they are almost hear! The Club Lounge will be re-launched next week, and we have just opened our first batch of new rooms!

If you ever wish to come to London in the future please let us know and we will make sure your next stay is a more memorable one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel London Heathrow
Renaissance Hotel Hounslow
Renaissance Hounslow
Hounslow Renaissance
Renaissance Heathrow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.