We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired, but did the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Hounslow
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A bit tired, but did the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The main asset of the Renaissance is the friendly & helpful staff, which they were, without exception! The hotel room was a bit tired looking, it has to be said, especially the bathroom & the TV was old & in a cabinet which could only be watched from the bed; but it was clean & the beds were comfortable.
The bar food was a little pricey but good.
There are car parking facilities at a reasonable price & the hopper bus stops outside regularly.

Room Tip: Make sure there is a fridge in the room if you are diabetic, as there wasn't one in ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the staff; it is wonderful to have them recognised in this way. You have probably read in my previous responses that a major renovation of the bedrooms is imminent. I hope you will return to the hotel in the future to experience the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    450
    366
    210
    103
See reviews for
153
419
156
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

when i travel to the UK or Europe, India, Africa or Mid East destinations i take the morning day flight into Heathrow and overnight at the airport as it allows me to sleep in a bed, save money by flying coach and it breaks the trip up into two manageable chunks. the Renaissance is a great place to stay. served from all of the terminals by bus (4pounds) and just 15 minutes you have a bed, great shower, good breakfast and you are right at the airport for your next flight.

easy in, easy out, no hassels and if you can get a deal you can stay for under $125 for the night. easily worth the cost vs business class seats

Room Tip: double glass makes all the rooms a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review; how pleasing it is to know that you enjoy staying with us and that our location meets your requirements. It might be of interest to you to know that there are also free buses running to/from Heathrow; you will find them listed on our website. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well, unless you like furnishings from the Disco era and a bathtub/shower set-up last seen in an episode of the Monkees . Egad, whatever happened to Marriott standards? There have got to be better places to stay near the airport than this train wreck. Space heaters lining the hall on the second floor told us all we needed to know about the heating system. Let me be clear - stay away. Stay very far away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Your review is much appreciated and I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. It is with much pleasure that I can advise the bedrooms renovation is imminent. The renovation plans include changing the heating and cooling system to a more efficient one. Please return in the future to experience these improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham, uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before an early flight and I booked it because the Renaissance has a good reputation and it advertised runway views which I thought was novel. Sadly the hotel is very tired and in dire need of a refurb. We did have a view of the runway if we crained our necks to see it ( our view was a brick wall). The room was comfortable and clean but as I mentioned previously it is tired, old and out dated. The check in staff were great and all staff members we encounted were friendly and pleasant. I would not stay here again until it is refurbished as it was £70 more per night than the premier inn which to be honest would be in better condition. It's overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel staff; it is always a pleasure to see them recognised in this way. The hotel’s new owner recognises that there is a need for a major renovation of the bedrooms and, I am delighted to advise, one is imminent. With this in mind, I hope you will return to experience the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

BA put me up in this hotel as my flight had been delayed and I missed my onward connection. The guy at the reception desk was pretty unhelpful and didn’t bother to point out where the lifts to the rooms were. The bedroom was pretty small and the décor tired. The TV (old style) was in a cabinet whose doors did not open fully, which restricted the passage at the bottom of the bed to the loo. There were some toiletries but no shower cap or facecloth – which would have been nice to have given the fact I only had my hand luggage. I did sleep well, although I was pretty exhausted by the time I got to bed. Breakfast was fine with a fair amount of choice. Strange selection of breakfast cereals though – I could not see my usual Weetabix or Bran Flakes, but there were plenty of Frosties and Coco Pops if you like a sugar rush in the morning!
Overall the hotel was pretty disappointing and if I need a hotel at Heathrow in the future I would not choose this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am delighted to advise that a major renovation is imminent; this will include the bedrooms, corridors and Lobby. Your comments with regard to the choice available of breakfast cereals will be shared with our Food & Beverage Manager. We hope you will change your mind and return to the hotel to experience the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed room only due to an early flight to the States, bed was superb and room was very clean staff were helpful and checkout is so fast as was check in. Although we had a runway facing room by choice we could not hear the planes.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
When travelling a good night’s rest is important therefore it is good to know that you found comfort in the Renaissance bedding and the soundproofing to be fully effective. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is tired beyond belief, from the dilapidated exterior with a pot holes car park to 1980's rooms - with large bulky CRT Tv's (seriously!!). The hotel is clean and the staff friendly, but the wait times to check in and check out were awful. It is sad to see the constant same excuses rolled out by managers ...'we will be shortly starting on renovations' - perhaps it would be better if you actually did something! As a Gold Elite member stopping 50+ nights per year across Marriotts in Europe and the USA - this is perhaps the worst Marriott chain hotel. The hotel is reasonable value for money, but please don't expect luxury! Marriott and new owners - hang your head is shame!

Room Tip: Stop in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
As a valued Marriott Gold Elite Member all your comments are important to us; thank you for taking the time to use Trip Advisor. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. Major renovations such as ours take time to plan and come to fruition, as I am sure, you are aware. We will be restoring the hotel to the Renaissance brand; I hope that you will not be deterred by your recent stay with us and allow us the opportunity in the future to serve you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel London Heathrow
Renaissance Hotel Hounslow
Renaissance Hounslow
Hounslow Renaissance
Renaissance Heathrow
Address: Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.