We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, hard working, past its prime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
St Louis, MO
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Functional, hard working, past its prime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Room: standard and all was working right. Bed is very comfortable and all clean. Carpet and furniture old; TV is old CRT and overall it is needing immediate renovation to stay a top quality hotel. I was told that a new owner will make 40 mil pound investment.
Bath is still using old fixtures that and the shower curtain bar is the straight type that keeps a tight width in bathtub/ shower. Many have the curved type or shower rod for more width. Toiletries were good and not making skin feel dry.
Breakfast in dining room: very good quality and selection. Bfast in Club Lounge: very simple offering but a quick option to avoid walking half mile. BTW, elevators often under repair, and always slow or very full.
I got the upgrade with breakfast, internet and club. Snacks were average, good cheese/ crackers and soft drinks. The wine is weak and a bit nasty, but free flowing. I took it since I got a good room rate but overall, an average rate makes me think twice about staying here. GBP125-150 is about avg I think and if there is no other good choice, then I will stay here.

Service at breakfast and reception was attentive and quick. Arrived to a juice or champagne. All staff was working hard and happy to greet me in halls. For this level of service, and a very good bed, I gave 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted that you found the staff welcoming and happy. It is a pleasure to confirm that the new owner is committed to a major renovation of the guest bedrooms, corridors and Lobby. The bedrooms will have flat-screen TVs and new furniture; giving a more spacious and modern feel to the rooms. I hope you will return to experience the ‘new’ hotel for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    473
    398
    236
    123
See reviews for
162
460
165
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I received notification that my United Mileage Plus award miles were due to expire due to lack of activity .Having close to 40,000 and with no flights planned for a few months I decided to take their advice and book a room with one of their partner hotels in order to earn a few points and keep my membership intact.

As I like to watch planes landing and taking off I decided to book what was advertised as a 'Plane Spotter' package at the Renaissance, Heathrow Airport which promised an interrupted view over the airport.
When I checked in at the reception desk I was allocated Room 1218 on the 1st floor. I queried this as when I stayed before on one of these packages the Plane Spotter rooms have always been on the top floor which obviously have the best views. I was informed by a very unhelpful receptionist that the hotel was full and that this was the only room available and that it did look out over the airport. I pointed out to her that I could have booked a room at the normal rate and requested an airport view and would most likely have received it to which she replied that I had parking included in my rate which I told her I didn't need.
Also when I asked her to ensure that my Reward points were credited to my United Mileage Plus account she did not seem to understand and said she did not have the details of this despite my having this as my preferred partner on the Marriott Rewards scheme.

I was on the verge of cancelling the booking and going back home when she asked it I wanted to speak to the manager which I told her I would.
The manager was fairly helpful when I explained the situation to him. He told me that the 3rd floor rooms were 'Club Rooms' and were more expensive. I explained that when I booked online through the Marriott website there was no mention of this, just the option of booking the Plane Spotter package (which I assumed meant one of these rooms). He apologized and agreed to charge me the standard room rate rather than the Plane Spotter rate. He asked he receptionist to try to find me a room on the 2nd floor but there were none available so I had to keep the original room.

This is quite a large hotel so it was quite a way from reception to the room and when I got there with my bag the key card would not work so I had to walk all the way back to get it sorted out. I bumped into the manager on my return who again was apologetic and arranged for a porter to accompany me back to the room to ensure that I could get in.

The room itself was very dated. The furniture is old and dark with an old style TV in a big cabinet. In order to watch the TV you have to open the cabinet doors which only open out at right angles to the screen. This means that not only does this mean that the only place you can watch TV is from the bed but if you want to walk past it you have to close the doors first.

The view was also very disappointing. I had earlier informed the receptionist that I believed that trees would block the view of planes and this proved correct .Yes it overlooks the airport but the only planes to be seen were taxiing or parked at stands. I did not see one plane land on the runway next to the hotel from my room due to the position of the room and the trees and the take off runway was about a mile away on the other side of the airport. I may as well have requested a view of a car park.

There are not many places to eat near this hotel so I decided to eat in the restaurant and was charged almost £20 for fish & chips and a coke. This was tasty but worth £20? No...

I checked out of the hotel before 7am and couldn't wait to get home.
Let's just hope that they manage to make sure that my reward points are credited to my United Plus mileage membership as requested so it wasn't a complete waste of time and money.

All in all a pretty disappointing stay. Don't think I will be going back there. I have stayed at the Jury's Inn on the other side of the airport a couple of times and it was much nicer and much cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't bother to pay extra for the Plane Spotter package. Just book a standard room and request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review; I was sorry to learn that you were not able to achieve what you set out to accomplish. It is unfortunate that we were busy on this particular evening and unable to give you a room with a better view. The planes land and take-off on different runways; this changes throughout the day and can depend on which way the wind is blowing therefore, on occasions, the runway nearest to the hotel can appear to be quiet. I am delighted to advise that the hotel’s new owner is committed to a major renovation of the bedrooms, corridors and Lobby. This will include installing flat-screen TVs. The doors on the cabinets that house our current TVs do slide back inside thereby creating more space, also the TV slides out from the cabinet and can be swivelled so that it can be viewed from the chair. I am sorry that you did not get the view you were expecting; I hope it will not deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip.
The reception staff are friendly and helpful.
The rooms are spacious and the bed very comfortable.
There was a fridge, kettle, mugs and tea and coffee.
The TV was old fashioned and could do with upgrade.
Despite being close to a main road, the room was quiet.
In the bathroom was all amenities and a hair dryer.
In the hotel was a useful gift shop that also sold cold drinks and a cafe for coffee and snacks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is good of you to comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of the Reception staff; they will be pleased. The TV’s are dated and are going to be replaced with flat-screen ones when the bedrooms are renovated. The Starbucks in our Lobby is very popular with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I spent a night here to catch an international flight the next day. It is close to Heathrow International Airport. On approach to the building you might at first assume that it is one of those old, ugly office buildings that has been standing vacant for a decade as a result of the global economic downturn. You'll experience some relief as you enter the lobby because it looks a bit better. The receptionists are well-spoken and attentive. That's pretty much where the good news ends. For the rest, it is a tired and rundown place. The corridors, while clean, are old, uneven and not very attractive looking. It has the feel almost of an old mental hospital (at least, in movies/films). The colors are a little depressing, the doors ill-fitting, paintwork is sloppy and everything you'd expect from a policy of bare minimum maintenance. You are not meant to enjoy your stay here. It is practical and that's it. I noticed that many airlines housed their flight crews here overnight before flying out again the following day.
The in-hotel restaurant had a buffet and a menu. The buffet was probaly the poorest I've seen in a long time. I didn't try the menu.
Pros: Close to airport, wifi is free
Cons: Dismal place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Your review of your stay with us is much appreciated; your comments will be passed on to our Head Chef, Restaurant Manager and Reception Team. I am delighted to advise that the hotel’s new owner is committed to a major renovation of the guest bedrooms, corridors and Lobby; once complete this will enhance the guests’ experience. Thank you for your praise of our Reception Team. I hope you will return to the hotel in the future to experience the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We got in late and left early, but this was a great hotel. Large bed, in a large room, and a full bath tub. We got in as the restaurant was closing, but the bar has a good menu and great service. There is a paid shuttle that runs past the front door, or you can walk half a block down and catch the free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It is very pleasing to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us; thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My flight from Bergen arrived after 9:30 so decided to stay at the airport and go into London the next day. The Renaissance is a bit tired as were the hotel staff. I had booked 2 rooms in advance for myself and 2 adult sons. The rooms were on different floors down long long hallways. The rooms were typical, nothing special, I think there are better choices, but fine for 1 night. The bar was extremely busy and expensive for what it was. My drink (gin & tonic) was over $20.00.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the other airport hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Your review is much appreciated. I am pleased to be able to advise that the hotel’s new owner is committed to a major renovation of the bedrooms, corridors and Lobby. It is possible that we were busy the night you stayed with us which could explain why you were not given rooms close to one another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our flight was cancelled and we were placed here by BA, at least they provided a hotel. I was looking forward to a romantic weekend away and at our destination a rather nice hotel was waiting. This hotel was comfortable but in need of updating. There were cobwebs in the room, not sure if that is because that room had not been used for a while or if they are just not good at cleaning. Food was also provided by BA, but this was terrible. It is not somewhere I would choose to stay. We had parked close to the airport as I hate going on the transfer buses, but ended up on them anyway to get to the hotel. There was quite a wait for the bus and there were better looking and closer hotels if you are looking for somewhere to stay before your journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It is pleasing to see that you had a comfortable stay with us during the inconvenience of your flight being cancelled. I am delighted to advise the hotel is going to be up-dated; the new owner is committed to a major renovation of the Lobby, bedrooms and corridors – when completed it will greatly enhance our guest experience. I hope you will return to experience the ‘new’ hotel for yourself. Thank you for your review;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel London Heathrow
Renaissance Hotel Hounslow
Renaissance Hounslow
Hounslow Renaissance
Renaissance Heathrow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.