We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A useful Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A useful Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night en route to Spain. We reached the hotel without difficulty having telephoned ahead for directions. The check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room was good. Dinner was over-priced and nothing special but the service was good.

The main foyer is smart and well-appointed but generally the hotel is a little faded. We gathered that the franchise has been taken over by Arora and that there will be a £20 million upgrade, making it five star.

For the time being it is certainly four star. Its strength is its staff who have obviously been carefully recruited and well trained: although it is a large hotel, they made us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback on our hotel. Please be assured we take all our guests’ comments extremely seriously and that we are continually striving to improve our overall guest experience.
The Arora Group took Ownership of the hotel on 8th October and we have already started planning Phase 1 of an exciting and innovative £25m investment in our product. Included in our Plans is a complete refurbishment of all our bedrooms, including soundproofing. We will also be enhancing our Lobby, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Internet service, menus, whilst continuing to focus on providing excellent service.
All the Team at the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel look forward to welcoming you back again as our most valued guest, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    582
    495
    285
    153
See reviews for
202
558
198
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Twenty years ago I attended a conference held at the Renaissance Heathrow. The hotel and conference area were impressive for the period. But I swear the hotel has not been updated since. I had to stay there for a weekend between a period of work in London and a week in Germany. It was disappointing to say the least. A few instances:
* The wallpaper is peeling away at the seams
* The hallway carpet is held down with electrician's tape
* The rooms are tiny, even by UK standards
* The TV in the room is ancient--old-fashioned CRT rather than flat screen
* There is virtually no work space
* The windows were leaky and let in the outside noise

The positive: if you are a Marriott rewards member, there is a roomy lounge for breakfast in the morning. However, the afternoon food options were poor and in some cases inedible.

The rooms are cheaper than the Marriott across the road, but believe me you will be better off staying at the Marriott and paying the extra pounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Your feedback is most appreciated and vital in helping us to identify our strengths and weaknesses. We are continually striving to improve our standards and service.
The Arora Group took over Ownership of the hotel on 8th October and to illustrate our commitment to improving our guest experience, we have already started planning Phase 1 of an exciting and innovative £25m investment in our product.
The challenges you identified and comments you made are extremely relevant and although we cannot change the actual size of our rooms, all the other points you have raised, will be actioned, along with planned menu innovations. We will also be enhancing our Lobby, Bar, and Meeting Rooms, whilst continuing to focusing on providing excellent service.
In the meantime, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I trust you will give us another opportunity to live up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'm a Marriott Platinum rewards member... which means I spend a lot of time in hotels. This hotel is one of the worst I've ever stayed at.
The room walls are so thin you can't do anything without everyone hearing... phone calls... tv etc. Every room has door to the next room so sound is a big issue.
The room wasn't clean... stinky carpet, mould in the shower... need I go on?
The internet didn't work... I spent over an hour on the help line, and tech support isn't at the hotel... in fact the guy could barely speak English and was in India. But the hotel still wanted to charge $30 for internet access.
I will never, ever, stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. Our guests’ comments provide an invaluable insight and greatly assist us, as we continually strive to improve our product and service.
The Arora Group took over Ownership of the hotel on 8th October and to illustrate our commitment to improving our guests’ experience we are already moving forward with planning Phase 1 of an exciting and innovative £25m investment in our product.
Also included in our plans, is a complete refurbishment of our bedrooms, including soundproofing. We will also be enhancing our Lobby, Bar and Meeting Rooms whilst continuing to focus on providing excellent service.
I regret the problems you encountered with the internet and we will also be taking steps to ensure our guests have improved access and enhanced system support. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience. I truly understand how frustrating this must have been.
I sincerely hope you will give our Team another chance to welcome you back as our most valued guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in October, and it's an old and tired hotel, nothing a 3rd runway wouldn't cure!
Old rooms, can remember when I last had a CRT TV not a flat screen, no fridge, poor double glazing (from experience I can tell you the last flight from Heathrow is about 11:45 and they start around 5:30am!
The real positive is the bar and restaurant are very good, and all off the staff are really wiling to try and help.
There is a Starbucks in the hotel, and a free courtesy bus to the Terminals.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Your comments on our hotel are appreciated. Please be assured that I take your feedback extremely seriously.
The Arora Group took over Ownership of the hotel on 8th October and to illustrate our commitment to improving our guests’ experience we are already moving forward with planning Phase 1 of an exciting and innovative £25m investment in our product. Also included in our plans, is a complete refurbishment of our bedrooms, including soundproofing. We will also be enhancing our Lobby, Bar and Meeting Rooms whilst continuing to focus on providing excellent service.
I trust that we may have the opportunity to welcome you and your Dad back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I don't love this hotel. My Dad always wants to stay here because he knows the way from Heathrow airport so we've stayed here more than once. The room rate is fairly expensive for what it is and everything costs extra, parking, the shuttle to the airport (the charge for this in particular annoys me), wifi (15 BPS I think? Ridiculous!), breakfast, etc. etc. You end up paying more than you bargained for. The lobby is ok but the halls and rooms are pretty dirty - everything looks as if it could do with a good scrub. I'd look around and see if you can find something better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Your comments on our hotel are appreciated. Please be assured that I take your feedback extremely seriously.
The Arora Group took over Ownership of the hotel on 8th October and to illustrate our commitment to improving our guests’ experience we are already moving forward with planning Phase 1 of an exciting and innovative £25m investment in our product. Also included in our plans, is a complete refurbishment of our bedrooms, including soundproofing. We will also be enhancing our Lobby, Bar and Meeting Rooms whilst continuing to focus on providing excellent service.
I trust that we may have the opportunity to welcome you and your Dad back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here only for one night, I was heading to the countryside for a wedding, but arrived the night before at LHR and this was the most affordable choice. I just learnt on my arrival that instaed of the hoppa bus the local red bus takes me to teh hotel for free. The check in was quick and I was lucky to get a room with a view on the runway. I loved it. Being a gold card holder I had an access to the lounge, well the selection was a bit limited, but it is fine for me as it comes as a perk and why should I complain when I can have as much red wine as I want :-) The room was a bit small, but fine for one night, the gym and the sauna was also just fine.

Room Tip: if you don't mind the noise (though the windows are pretty good) ask for a runway view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanWillem L, General Manager at Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Arora Group took over Ownership of the hotel on 8th October and to illustrate our commitment to improving our guests’ experience we are already moving forward with planning Phase 1 of an exciting and innovative £25m investment in our product. Although we are unable to change the actual size of our bedrooms, included in our plans, is a complete refurbishment of our bedrooms, including additional soundproofing. We will also be enhancing our Lobby, Bar and Meeting Rooms whilst continuing to focus on providing excellent service.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to highlight our hotel. Your feedback is most appreciated. All the Team at the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel look forward to welcoming you back again as our most valued guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I flew into Heathrow Terminal 5 and wanted a hotel in the area before transferring to Gatwick the following morning. Booked a suite at the Renaissance to humour my inner plane geek, as the rooms overlook the (Terminal 5?) runway. I spent hours just staring at the 747's take-off, but anyway ..... I took the route 105 bus from the Heathrow Central Bus Station (stand 19) and it's free to get to the hotel. Front desk staff were quick to check me in, acknowledged my Marriott status, asked me how many (24 hour) internet codes I needed, and sent me off to my room on the 3rd floor (room 3208). It was a suite - separate lounge and bedroom areas. It did overlook the runway. There was a desk. The bed was extremely comfortable. The decor throughout was extremely dated and dark. Room looked a little tatty. Air conditioning was set to a warm setting and couldn't be adjusted. Bathroom was clean(ish) but again very dated. As I booked an exec room I had access to the executive lounge - but there wasn't anything very executive about it. Same dark colours. Minimal food/drink options. PC's they provided for use sounded like they would explode at any second. Good views of the runway again though! I had breakfast (included in the price) before I left the hotel. It was ok, but the range of items wasn't as extensive as I've had in many other hotels. There's a small Starbucks in the lobby, but it doesn't accept Starbucks cards. I got the H2 Hoppa bus back to Heathrow Central Bus Station (at a cost of £4.) Room cost me about £150 for the night, and there are plenty of other hotels in the area available for that price. I would consider staying again but only after the hotels rooms and lounge are given some TLC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel London Heathrow
Renaissance Hotel Hounslow
Renaissance Hounslow
Hounslow Renaissance
Renaissance Heathrow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.