We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel at Heathrow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel at Heathrow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Rooms are clean, staff are friendly.
Very close to the airport, accessible with Hoppa bus service
Only downside is that the hotel is vast!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    587
    496
    286
    154
See reviews for
204
558
200
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Concluding our driving tour of England and Wales two days early - the designated driver was getting awfully snarky - we thought we'd check out one of the hotels right at Heathrow. With the car rental return depot nearby, we went no further than the Renaissance. As a precaution, we asked to see a room and, after a few exchanged looks between reception staff, were led to a room near the lift on the second floor. We were a bit disappointed that the view was of a large roof area enclosed by other rooms with the identical view of our room and the huge square of the building's roof. What the heck! We hadn't really expected a beach scene, or Basil Fawlty's 'herd of wildebeeste on the veldt'. And for soundproofing, you sacrifice fresh air. So, we booked in and returned our hire car.
Setting off for our room, we left the lift and proceeded towards our target, astonished at the length of the (half) wing we initially traversed. Then, again following the very clear signs, we completed another lap of a very long corridor. Following the next sign, we trudged, by now footsore and arm-weary trailing our heavy luggage, a great deal further before finding our room. It was OK, reasonably spacious and the king size bed was good, the bathroom a little better than just adequate. A small bar fridge would have been good - instead, we drank our wine at room temperature rather than attempt the marathon journey to a chilled glass of something pleasant and the inevitable exhaustion and dehydration on our return trek.
The food was pretty standard airport fare, at exorbitant cost, and as Starbucks failed to excite we set out on foot in search of a quaint little teashop for breakfast in the neighbouring village. About half an hour later, we aborted our quest and returned to the Indian takeaway near the hotel, settling on a chilled sandwich from the refrigerator and a cardboard cup of reasonable coffee.
We spent lunchtime, and a good deal of the following day waiting for our evening flight, at the pub on Bath Road just nearby the Renaissance. Somehow its aged and shiny chairs with a patina only to be guessed at with horror, provided an infinitely preferable alternative.
OK, airport hotels will always be soul-less and purpose-located. But surely it is possible to offer a lot more for little cost: perhaps a rooftop garden is out of the question, but couldn't some trompe-l'oeil diversion be offered instead of the bleak infinity of something as appealing as a quadrangle of asphalt?

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view. Whatever it costs, it has to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Had a two night stay while on business. Rooms are comfortable, with great bedding. TV a bit dated (old tube). Staff very helpful and accommodating.

Active bar and nice breakfast included in the rate. Spacious lobby with plenty of room to meet.

Shuttle to the airport runs regularly, the hotel is on the opposite side of the airport entrance. It is a GBP4 charge each way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth,Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed here and I paid extra for the "Club" room All airport hotels are a challenge and this one is quite large. Despite being near the runway it is quite quiet. The club room for breakfast and light snacks in the evening is worth it. There is only one pub nearby
The staff are well trained and mainly from Eastern Europe and beyond. I think there was only one English manager.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed in November for one night prior to flying to USA. Booked a park & stay deal through Holiday Extras. Renaissance was very easy to find and parking was good, you keep the keys and they give you a ticket to take to Reception when you return. The Hoppa bus no:2 was great and we got the reduced price return tickets from the machine inside the hotel (£7 instead of £8 when paying on the hoppa).

Hotel is massive but very nicely decorated and public areas were fine. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, very quick check-in and out. There is a Starbucks just inside note that this shuts around 8.00 p.m. so no late night coffee, however, it is open very early in the morning..

Our room was a good size and furnishings not too worn. Bed was comfy. Bathroom could have done with regrouting, not black but very discoloured in places around the shower area. We didn't eat at the hotel but went out to the Three Magpies Pub, we have been before, and they didn';t let us down. Great atmosphere, good food and they don't rip you off for a bottle of wine.

Very good start to the holiday, would definitely book this hotel and the parking package again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Hotel is massive - be prepared for a loooooong walk from the lift - you may end up with a room near the lift, but if you don't it is quite a hike.

The king bed was great - very comfortable and a selection of pillows ( softer, medium, harder). Breakfast is overpriced, but there is a starbucks in the foyer and McDonalds across the road. There are bus stops out the front which go to several areas nearby.

The only negative I had was that there wasn't enough milk for the tea and coffee provided and you can hear the aircraft noise - its not a lot but if you are wanting to sleep during the day, be prepared for the noise.

We would stay here again - especially if we can get the low rate of GBP80 again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

After trying several Heathrow hotels, we tried the Renaissance last year, mostly because of Marriott points. We were pleasantly surprised then and continue to return, most recently last month. Admittedly it is a "sleep factory", lots of rooms filled with mostly business groups or Heathrow travelers, but it has never seemed to be swarming with people. Although it's obviously an older property, we found the rooms decently renovated with light colors and woods and bathrooms in very good condition. The front desk staff is friendly and does a good job keeping the wait to a minimum; there is always staff available in the lobby for luggage, taxis, etc. and we've found them all to be very attentive. We have only stayed here the night before a morning flight and we think the hotel delivers a good product at reasonable prices.

There's nothing much in the area, but aside from the pub (a short walk from the hotel), a McDonalds and a Texaco station for snacks, there is a Chinese restaurant (a long walk in the direction of the pub, but sidewalk all the way) and we also noticed a new Indian restaurant close to the Chinese one. We also saw that since our last visit, a Starbucks has opened in the hotel lobby. Last but not least, we love that we can walk out of the hotel, walk to the nearest public bus stop, and take any of the busses into Heathrow for free.

It definitely meets our expectations for an overnight and we think it's better than some of the others in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, Hounslow TW6 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel London Heathrow
Renaissance Hotel Hounslow
Renaissance Hounslow
Hounslow Renaissance
Renaissance Heathrow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.