We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect the hospitality from a true Accor property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget London Hounslow

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget London Hounslow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
20-28 Staines Road, Hounslow TW3 3JS, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Don't expect the hospitality from a true Accor property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This brand of hotel is the bottom of the barrel when it comes to accomodations offered by the portfolio of Accor brands. They do not recognize the frequent guest elite status of the parent company (A-Club) and they unbundle everything for a no-frills cheap-o stay. They do not have phones in the room, hence, no wake up call services. They charge £10 for early check-in (between 8am and noon) even though our room was ready. They lobby canteen is overpriced (Tesco supermarket is next door).

With that being said, here's the rundown of my overnight stay. We had a 6am flight from Heathrow-4. Previous stay was at the ibis Heathrow near Terminal 1/2/3 and there wasn't any food options within a reasonable walking distance. This time, I thought the village of Hounslow would give a better choice for an early dinner and early bedtime.

Upon entering main entrance of the double set of sliding doors, you see the elevators (lifts). This is bad feng shui (風水) and bad security because it is not in harmony with the building and allows crooks a quick getaway. Only saving grace is the elevators must be swiped with the room keycard in order for them to be accessed. The rooms are pretty standard cookie-cutter design. Since this was a triple accomodation, the 3rd bed was raised perpendicular to the room's main bed. There weren't enough towels and there was only 1 tiny measly bar of soap for the sink. You have to request for them (sadly, by goiing to the lobby in person because there isn't a phone in the room).

Unlike most British washrooms and other ibis hotels, their amenities are very continental European where toilet and shower facilities are separate. And by the way, don't be shy about waking up the lobby staff at 3:30am to find out where your pre-booked taxi would be waiting for you.

Room Tip: It's cookie cutter decor. Best to stay away from elevator noise. Also bring your own toilettri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudgethounslow, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Hounslow, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear valued guest
Thank you for the feedback. This is not the true representation of our brand. Your comment and feedback is really appreciated. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused you during your stay. We do not accept the La club card and yes we do charge competitive price for early check-in and late check-out. We did offer you free early check-in on the day. About the security and elevator position; it is not a dangerous area and as you mentioned you need to use the swipe card to access elevators. Regarding the staff behavior let me ensure you that I am looking into this and investigating the matter. If you would like to speak to me or contact me to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me on h6465-gm@ accor.com. Once again please accept my sincere apology for inconvenience it may cause you during your stay.
Warm Regards
Chander Kaushik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    304
    158
    35
    52
See reviews for
164
183
118
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my first experience of an Ibis Budget Hotel. I booked on the Ibis site itself - and got a very good (for London/Airport) rate for a double room - although once made, the booking could not be changed. I suppose I agree with many of the other reviewers - this is a basic double bed for one night. The room was clean and very small, the view was of a bus stop, the shower was hot and tiny, the soap even tinier. We didn't try the breakfast. But the reception was friendly - and the bus, literally around the corner from the hotel, goes directly to Terminal 5. Other logistics: it's a 10 minute walk from Hounslow Central Picadilly line station - which has a huge stairway down to the street - or up to the platform. There's a mini-cab office opposite the station in case it's too wet or cold to walk.

Room Tip: Don't just turn up and expect a good value room. You need to book in advance either on Ibis'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudgethounslow, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Hounslow, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Chander Kaushik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

When it says budget, it means budget. You get a rather uncomfortable bed, a shower cubical in your room (privacy would be nice!). No tea making facilities in the room. Breakfast isn't anything to write home about, you'd be better off saving your money and going to McDonalds instead!

Room Tip: Pay more for a better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudgethounslow, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Hounslow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Chander Kaushik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget London Hounslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget London Hounslow

Address: 20-28 Staines Road, Hounslow TW3 3JS, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Budget London Hounslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget London Hounslow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.