We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, not just for an airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Oriental Restaurant

Zen Oriental Restaurant
Southern Perimeter Rd., Hounslow, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Hounslow
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, not just for an airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Travelling alone normally means an average table, but I was given one with a good view of the restaurant for people watching! Food and service is excellent and even though it is an airport hotel, I didn't feel they took advantage.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Outstanding Asian Food in an Airport Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Hilton Terminal 4 and on the second last night decided to splurge and give the Zen a try. We noted that the restaurant seemed quite busy each evening, the selection looked good and the prices (excluding the wine) weren't too outrageous, especially for an airport hotel, which has a captive audience.

On our chosen evening, I did a quick scan of Tripadvisor to see what others' had to say and noticed that the restaurant would to takeaway. So we went downstairs, verified that this was possible, placed our order and quickly went to the Marks & Spencer in T3 to get a bottle of wine. When we showed up to collect our order, it was just coming out of the kitchen.

The two dishes that we ordered (can't remember the exact name but one was a chilli beef and the other a spicy chicken) were delicious. The meat was tender and flavourful and one order of rice was more than enough for two people. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and if you do the cheaper option (i.e. takeaway) the prices are very reasonable.

I couldn't tell, but I am guessing that this is likely a favourite of those living locally and business isn't only relying on hotel guests.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I avoided eating here on prior stays at the Hilton figuring the cost could not be justified. I was wrong. Despite a captive clientele, the service and food was outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Really enjoyed my meal here while stayihng at the Hilton. An excellent menu - dim sum was wonderful! A little expensive but you get what you pay for here! Very good service - would definitely return here if I stay over again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing service and lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The service is 1st class, they keep topping up your green tea and cannot do enough for you.

We had the set menu for two, which was plenty of food, it was all lovely and nice to try some different dishes that I may not have chosen.

It isn't the cheapest meal, drinks aren't cheap, my boyfriend had beer. If I went again would just have green tea, as I love it and they just keep refilling the Little teapot for you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Hounslow, Middlesex
Hounslow, Middlesex
 
Hounslow, Middlesex
Hounslow, Middlesex
 

Been to Zen Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.