We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Ramsay Plane Food

Gordon Ramsay Plane Food
Wellington Road | Terminal 5, Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GA , England
020 8897 4545
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gordon Ramsay Plane Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 115 Restaurants in Hounslow
Price range: $18 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The signature menu of Gordon Ramsay and an exclusive picnic offering ensures that Plane Food offers innovative food concepts to passengers travelling through Heathrow Airport Terminal 5. Located airside, after you pass through security, Gordon Ramsay's Plane Food easily stands out. Architects Bentel & Bentel have crafted the aerodynamic lines of the restaurant's unique decor to conjure up a range of shapes associated with flying. The menu offers a range of pasta and risotto dishes, as well as grain-fed 28 day aged steaks and exclusive Plane Good picnic hampers, perfect for when you're in a hurry and ideal for enjoying on the plane at your leisure. Diners can also have their meal at the elegant bar whilst they enjoy great views of the Plane Food open plan kitchen and their choice of irresistible cocktails.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The best place to eat here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Obviously you will not be expecting the full Gordon Ramsay experience - the play on words says it all. Decent, competent food and good service but no more than your best option in a limited location.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    453
    220
    169
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“breafast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I think that the quality fo food is pretty decent. I only ever go there for breakfast so can't speak to the other meals. the breakfast portions are much too vast. a quart of oatmeal is not really a balanced meal. yet to balance it with some fruit took another £7 mostly uneaten. But it is a nice quite atmosphere for pre-plane chill morning.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I loved this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

A couple weeks ago I had a flight from Heathrow back to the States and I had a lot of time to kill in Terminal 5. I had heard about Gordon Ramsey's new restaurant there and I decided to try it. I didn't want to be swayed by the presence of the man in the media, so I just let the experience unfold. I was delighted! I had breakfast there, and order the Eggs Benedict, which were perfectly prepared. The OJ was fresh-squeezed and the coffee was dark and aromatic. I ordered a side of stewed tomatoes (not on the menu) and they arrived promptly and perfectly made. Even with all this, my favorite part of the experience was the attentive but not smothering service, and the wonderful open but low-key atmosphere of the restaurant, with big windows allowing a birds-eye view of the planes. This is my idea of casual comfortable dining. The prices were reasonable as well. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Unfortunately..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

the name of a TV Chef on the door of a restaurant he's probably never even visited (I asked the staff and none had ever met him), says nothing about the food or service, only that another company is paying for the branding. OK - but small pretentious portions and Ramseybot servers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great deal better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Dropped into Place Food for lunch ahead of a flight to New York: we were warmly greeted and well looked after. The food (we both had main course salads, and my colleague ordered fries, too) came quickly but none the less we enjoyed ourselves so much we lost track of time. Didn't miss the flight (!) but if you don't have access to one of the airline lounges then this is definitely the best place to sit thing out at Terminal 5.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Ramsay Plane Food also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Ramsay Plane Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Ramsay Plane Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.