We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Ramsay Plane Food

Gordon Ramsay Plane Food
Wellington Road | Departure Lounge, Terminal 5, Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GA , England
+44 20 8897 4545
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gordon Ramsay Plane Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 203 Restaurants in Hounslow
Price range: $17 - $73
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The signature menu of Gordon Ramsay and an exclusive picnic offering ensures that Plane Food offers innovative food concepts to passengers travelling through Heathrow Airport Terminal 5. Located airside, after you pass through security, Gordon Ramsay's Plane Food easily stands out. Architects Bentel & Bentel have crafted the aerodynamic lines of the restaurant's unique decor to conjure up a range of shapes associated with flying. The menu offers a range of pasta and risotto dishes, as well as grain-fed 28 day aged steaks and exclusive Plane Good picnic hampers, perfect for when you're in a hurry and ideal for enjoying on the plane at your leisure. Diners can also have their meal at the elegant bar whilst they enjoy great views of the Plane Food open plan kitchen and their choice of irresistible cocktails.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best place to eat here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Obviously you will not be expecting the full Gordon Ramsay experience - the play on words says it all. Decent, competent food and good service but no more than your best option in a limited location.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrankieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breafast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I think that the quality fo food is pretty decent. I only ever go there for breakfast so can't speak to the other meals. the breakfast portions are much too vast. a quart of oatmeal is not really a balanced meal. yet to balance it with some fruit took another £7 mostly uneaten. But it is a nice quite atmosphere for pre-plane chill morning.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I loved this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A couple weeks ago I had a flight from Heathrow back to the States and I had a lot of time to kill in Terminal 5. I had heard about Gordon Ramsey's new restaurant there and I decided to try it. I didn't want to be swayed by the presence of the man in the media, so I just let the experience unfold. I was delighted! I had breakfast there, and order the Eggs Benedict, which were perfectly prepared. The OJ was fresh-squeezed and the coffee was dark and aromatic. I ordered a side of stewed tomatoes (not on the menu) and they arrived promptly and perfectly made. Even with all this, my favorite part of the experience was the attentive but not smothering service, and the wonderful open but low-key atmosphere of the restaurant, with big windows allowing a birds-eye view of the planes. This is my idea of casual comfortable dining. The prices were reasonable as well. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DougDVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unfortunately..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

the name of a TV Chef on the door of a restaurant he's probably never even visited (I asked the staff and none had ever met him), says nothing about the food or service, only that another company is paying for the branding. OK - but small pretentious portions and Ramseybot servers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great deal better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Dropped into Place Food for lunch ahead of a flight to New York: we were warmly greeted and well looked after. The food (we both had main course salads, and my colleague ordered fries, too) came quickly but none the less we enjoyed ourselves so much we lost track of time. Didn't miss the flight (!) but if you don't have access to one of the airline lounges then this is definitely the best place to sit thing out at Terminal 5.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Ramsay Plane Food also viewed

 
Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to Gordon Ramsay Plane Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing